We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Have stayed here many times in the past two years. It is by the sea, and if you're lucky enough to get a sea view room, you could imagine yourself being in Spain!
The rooms are typical Premier Inn - well appointed, and clean. The bathrooms are beginning to show signs of wear and tear though and could do with being renovated. The chipboard panelling on the bath and vanity units is swelling and breaking up and there was evidence that damp had penetrated the floor in the room we had this time round - there was a slight 'bulge' on one area of the bathroom floor.
The breakfast arrangements are mainly good. We like the way you are shown to a specific table, but there was a little inconsistency in provision of decaffinated tea and coffee. Added to that, on a couple of mornings, the hot water to make your tea/coffee with was not very hot. While accepting the limits of the health and safety brigade nowadays, I can't help feeling a mains operated urn would be better.
The staff are delightful though and can't be any more helpful.
Would we go back? Of course. It's worth it for the view alone!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AyrshireHolidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 1,837 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Lovely hotel and setting ,on arrival we were greated by an Irish women who seemed like she could no be bothered other than that room was Gd size for travel cot ,beds were very cosy like home from home ,dinner was Gd curry buffet was great all you can eat for £5.99 ,breakfast was quality at its best with very meaty sausages YUM ,

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel for our stop in Edinburgh. We were hesitant booking this, but decided to trust in the other Trip Advisor reviews. To say that we were 'pleasantly surprised' is an understatement....we had a beautiful view of the water and lighthouse, there was PLENTY of room for the travel cot (it wasn't squished into the room like the other hotels we stayed in on this trip), and we could hear very little noise from outside the room (something we were concerned about for our baby). The room was clean and had everything we needed.

While we had our car with us, we decided to take the bus into central Edinburgh so as not to deal with parking. There is a bus stop right across the street from the hotel, which was great! It makes quite a few stops, so it took about 10-15 minutes to get to Princes Street. Not a big deal, but thought that might be important to consider.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel (with indoor and outdoor seating) that serves good food for the price. If you're looking for a romantic dinner, that is not your spot! However, it is perfect for families or those looking for a relaxing bar.

My only suggestions for improvement would be:
*More comfy mattresses and pillows - Both were pretty hard. I can pretty much sleep anywhere/anytime, but had a hard time sleeping that night (as did my husband).
*Adjust the doors so that they don't slam so hard. The only noise we heard from outside our room was other guests entering or leaving their rooms.

All in all, we were SUPER happy with this hotel! From Edinburgh, we stopped over in Perth on our way to Loch Ness and stayed in a Holiday Inn Express. It was dingy, noisy, and dirty-feeling. I wish that we had booked at another Premier Inn instead. 12 hours was about all I could stand of that dump!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank y2kucfgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Leith Premier Inn has the location of a 4* hotel in a quiet Quays, with beautiful views over the Forth and is next to a good Loch Fyne restaurant. The front office and breakfast staff were very friendly and professional. Leave your car in the free hotel car park and use the number 10 bus which stops right outside the hotel or the number 11 and 16 just 1/4 mile away which take you into the centre of Edinburgh in 15 mins and only cost £3.20 for an all day ticket- excellent bus service. As a real treat book up for Kitchin's restaurant in Leith, which you can walk to from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westgateeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Went during the festival so a bit expensive ( as is everywhere), but suspect better value during other times. Out in Leith so quieter than Edinburgh City Centre - regular buses (service no. 10) from stop outside hotel (Newhaven) to Princes Street - takes 15 minutes/£1.30 ( catch the bus from outside 'Jenners" just off Princes Street when coming back). Rooms at the back have harbour view - we requested one and got one. 24hr Asda within 5 min walk. Altogether, a good place to stay. Staff at Hotel very pleasant. Room was very clean. We shall return when the hyped up Festival prices have disappeared!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you can - they have harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Found this Premier Inn much better than any Travel Lodge site which is normally the case for any Premier Inn.The check- in was fuss free and Breakfast was the best.
There is a lovely wee harbour outside the Hotel and a pathway allows you to walk along the shore.The Car Park is small but was not busy also public transport very close for Edinburgh Princess Street. A 5 minute walk will take you to ASDA and a further 5 mins to local shops. All staff were very switched on and obliging. Will def stay here again in the future. Well done Premier Inn (Leith)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

arrived at hotel just before 2 pm to check in was told check in was 2pm went to brewers fare for lunch stood at bar to be ignored by staff one of which was a manager who seemed to think restocking crisps was more important than serving customers.returned to check in at 2.20 to be told room was not ready yet ? asked for another room and our room became available.i have stayed here on many occasions and found check in to be a chore and the resturant/bar staff hard to get a hold off.possibly they are cutting corners and not employing enough staff , but i expect to treated like a human and not ignored.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank s9aln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £44 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing