We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great hotel. Lovely staff. Would definitely go back. i do have a problem with room temp but i am always cold :) You are free to increase temp as You like no point if not in the room. Kept spotless. Food fantastic especially for a vegetarian. Quorn chilli couldn't believe it when i saw it on the menu was extremely impressed. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast great. Times really good. i find when staying in B & B tied to times 0830 no later. Great to get a lie on. That's why You go on hols!! :) i really was impressed will definitely be back. Thank You to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaD04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    564
    125
    43
    17
See reviews for
487
706
45
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a two night stay at this Premier Inn in Leith near Edinburgh The Staff here were so friendly nothing was to much bother, any question we had they could answer or if not found some one who could. The Hotel was clean and just what you need for a short break. The breakfast was really good. There are a couple of restaurants very near by just along the little quay side. We didnt take a car this time, so relied on the bus service which was very good the bus stop is just out side the hotel and it takes about 15 mins to get into Edinburgh. The Brittania is worth looking around and is within walking distance about again a slow 15 min walk from the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This Premier Inn is in a great location, easy to find, and with good, secure parking. We had a view of the sea, and lighthouse, which was a bonus. It is a 10 minute bus journey into the city centre, and at £1.30 per adult we thought this represented excellent value. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, although the lighting in the bathroom would benefit from being brighter. We've stayed in several Premier Inns, usually en route to holiday destinations in the UK. All have provided good value for money, but this is by far the best we've stayed in from the perspecrtive of location, overall cleanliness and comfort.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Comfortable, views over the harbour, decent pub next door

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Have stayed here many times in the past two years. It is by the sea, and if you're lucky enough to get a sea view room, you could imagine yourself being in Spain!
The rooms are typical Premier Inn - well appointed, and clean. The bathrooms are beginning to show signs of wear and tear though and could do with being renovated. The chipboard panelling on the bath and vanity units is swelling and breaking up and there was evidence that damp had penetrated the floor in the room we had this time round - there was a slight 'bulge' on one area of the bathroom floor.
The breakfast arrangements are mainly good. We like the way you are shown to a specific table, but there was a little inconsistency in provision of decaffinated tea and coffee. Added to that, on a couple of mornings, the hot water to make your tea/coffee with was not very hot. While accepting the limits of the health and safety brigade nowadays, I can't help feeling a mains operated urn would be better.
The staff are delightful though and can't be any more helpful.
Would we go back? Of course. It's worth it for the view alone!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyrshireHolidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Lovely hotel and setting ,on arrival we were greated by an Irish women who seemed like she could no be bothered other than that room was Gd size for travel cot ,beds were very cosy like home from home ,dinner was Gd curry buffet was great all you can eat for £5.99 ,breakfast was quality at its best with very meaty sausages YUM ,

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel for our stop in Edinburgh. We were hesitant booking this, but decided to trust in the other Trip Advisor reviews. To say that we were 'pleasantly surprised' is an understatement....we had a beautiful view of the water and lighthouse, there was PLENTY of room for the travel cot (it wasn't squished into the room like the other hotels we stayed in on this trip), and we could hear very little noise from outside the room (something we were concerned about for our baby). The room was clean and had everything we needed.

While we had our car with us, we decided to take the bus into central Edinburgh so as not to deal with parking. There is a bus stop right across the street from the hotel, which was great! It makes quite a few stops, so it took about 10-15 minutes to get to Princes Street. Not a big deal, but thought that might be important to consider.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel (with indoor and outdoor seating) that serves good food for the price. If you're looking for a romantic dinner, that is not your spot! However, it is perfect for families or those looking for a relaxing bar.

My only suggestions for improvement would be:
*More comfy mattresses and pillows - Both were pretty hard. I can pretty much sleep anywhere/anytime, but had a hard time sleeping that night (as did my husband).
*Adjust the doors so that they don't slam so hard. The only noise we heard from outside our room was other guests entering or leaving their rooms.

All in all, we were SUPER happy with this hotel! From Edinburgh, we stopped over in Perth on our way to Loch Ness and stayed in a Holiday Inn Express. It was dingy, noisy, and dirty-feeling. I wish that we had booked at another Premier Inn instead. 12 hours was about all I could stand of that dump!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank y2kucfgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing