We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value with Stunning Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value with Stunning Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotels in tourist cities like Edinburgh can be very expensive and not deliver where it matters. Pound for pound the Premier Inn at Western Harbour in Edinburgh is the best value for money I have ever found and I stay at a lot of hotels! Situated at the end of the old Newhaven Harbour wall you are next to the Royal Yacht Britannia,15 minutes walk to the Royal Botanical Gardens, 15 minutes from the seat of Scottish Government (and The Kitchin!) and if you ask for and get a sea view then you look out westward up the Firth of Forth toward the two bridges, look out over the old harbour with little dingies and fishing boats and the old lighthouse which at night has a kaleidoscope of colours revolving slowly in the top of the old tower. These are views worth £200 a night alone on top of which you have all the high standards of a Premier Inn which provides clean comfort in a decent size space and a great power shower and an enormous plasma screen T.V with Freeview. Having stayed here on my own the first time when I was visiting family nearby I then managed to persuade my husband to come with me and stay there two weeks later despite telling me he would definitely divorce me if I ever booked him into a Premier Inn, he definitely found he had to eat his words after staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the top floor unless you have children, family rooms are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyleisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    575
    132
    45
    19
See reviews for
506
724
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a good value hotel. Rooms are clean and tidy. Easy to sleep as you are not near the main road. Tea and coffee making facilities and a great power shower.

Breakfast was great. Large buffet choice of cooked breakfast and continental. Waitress at breakfast was very friendly and efficient. Reception was also friendly.

Only a short drive from central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icelollyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

While driving along to the inn myself and my wife both commented on the stunning location which over looked the sea front. We arrived in the inn ro be greated by a very helpfull receptionist which helped us with our questions about busses taxi etc.

Our room was great very clean and a large tv to keep the kids happy.
We had only one problem was that the food next door in the brewers fayre was really bad. We went for the chinese night which looked good but the curry was stone cold. My wife complaned and was told to take another plate but this too was cold so we finished and left.

The restaurant staff manager was not very helpfull but the rest were plesant. overall it was a good stay in a lovely spot of edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DessyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co. Down
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Right on seafront at LEITH with plenty of free parking, we received a very warm welcome from young male receptionist, this set the mood for our experience of the accomodation and stay. Room was much better than expected, spotlessly clean, large tv, teamaking facility, and good sized bathroom. We chose continental breakfast and found it most satisfactory, again very friendly service and welcome on entering dining area, offered porridge, which turned out to be perfect. All in all a great and reasonable place to stay, especially if travelling by car. A little bit out of the City centre, but good transport by bus or taxi. Many excellent restaurants and bars in the Leith area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

On a busy rugby weekend in Edinburgh (and also the French holidays) we could not find a room in a hotel in central Edinburgh. So we decided to settle for the Premier Inn in Leith. There is ample parking but we were arriving by train and soon found our bus stop near St. Andrew's Square. The bus stops right outside the hotel which is right beside a small harbour and of course, the sea.
We were impressed by the quality of the staff, the comfort of our room and especially by the breakfast. The croissants were the best I have ever tasted outside France.
We had a quiet night. There was a very good restaurant steps away from the hotel where we had a relaxed dinner. There was also an Indian restaurant within walking distance.
Somebody has complained about the litter outside the hotel but as the staff explained, it is very windy out there and the rubbish collects in the bushes. Not really their fault.
We had never been to a Premier Inn before and were pleasantly surprised. If we go to Edinburgh again, we will stay in Leith. It is good to get out of the city in the evening, and there are 2 other bus routes quite close.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the seaward side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oddwomanout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was the first time I had stayed in a Premier Inn and I was more than delighted.Not only did we have stunning views overlooking the sea and the Forth bridge,the room itself was spotlessly clean and comfortable,with everything you need(including a good size tv on the wall).The room was a good size with plenty of room to swing a tiger!! The bathroom had a hand wash dispenser and also a hair and bodywash dispenser......ideal if you forget your soap! Again the bathroom was spotlessly clean,but one thing to be aware of if you have limited mobility(like myself) is that the side of the bath was quite high and I found it a little difficult to step into the bath.I did manage it and it's only a very small point with everything else being so wonderful!Our room was on the 2nd(top) floor but there is a lift,so no problem there.Every part of the hotel we saw was spotlessly clean and still had that "new" smell.All the staff we encountered were very helpful and extremely friendly and always with a smile!The Brewer's Fayre next door is typical of these kind of eateries with decent pub meals at normal prices,although the portions are probably a bit bigger than most.The drinks I found to be a little pricey at £5.20 for a double vodka and lemonade but if you just have a drink or two in the pub there is an asda just across the road where you can pick up something cheaper to have in the comfort of your room whilst enjoying the view from your window!(from which...to the left hand side....we overlooked Newhaven Quay and lighthouse,which lights up and changes colour at night).There is a bus stop on the road outside the hotel and for £3.50 for a day ticket,it is cheaper and easier to leave your car at the hotel and use the very frequent buses.A taxi into town/from town is around £9 if you've had enough walking or just want to get there a little quicker! All in all a fantastic break at a fantastic hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.I can't wait to come back again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room,you won't regret it! Also be aware that at the moment (april 2012) they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

One of the best Premier Inns I have stayed in. It is in a lovely location right by the sea. We had a gorgoeus view from our room and it was so quiet. We had a lovely welcome when we checked in and all the staff were so helpful.
The restaurant next door served really good value meals and the breakfast was lovely.
There is an Asda just five minutes away which was so convenient.
Will stay here again when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat_xfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing