We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on our journey north and was not disappointed. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the pub next door which also had fantastic evening meals. Bus stop opposite the hotel took you into the city centre for the shopping and attractions. I would say it was the usual standard for Premier Inn hotels, but for some reason this one seemed that bit better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,597 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

I would like to stay that we have stayed here before and had a great stay, this time however, we seemed to have a dodgy room. Room 51 has a poorly fitted door that means whenever anyone else opens their door, or the corridor door, the whole door vibrates and bangs. We finally managed sleep at about 12:30am but then the other guests getting up from 6 am meant the rattling door was back with a vengeance.
We also had some issues with electrics in the room, my partner turned on the bedside spotlamp and the whole room cut out, we thought the hotel had a power cut until he found the fuse box and sorted the problem!
My final advice would be not to bother purchasing the WiFi, anything above checking or sending email is just too much for it.
We evoked the good night guarantee for this stay as we'd had so little sleep.

Room aside, the staff were friendly and the facilities nearby good. The hotel is currently being extended which does make me wonder if parking will be enough when the build is completed and the rooms open?

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank PandaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed last weekend en route to our holiday in Dundee and had a peaceful nights sleep. We had ordered a family room with one double and two single beds for the children, as always with premier inn the room was clean with every thing we needed- large TV, drinks tray, soap and shampoo in the bathroom.
On check in the receptionist Ashley was friendly and welcoming. We had rang the day earlier to see if our room could overlook the water, when we discoved ours didn't Ashley checked to see if one was available and moved us with no problem which was very kind.The rooms at the rear have a lovely view overlooking the harbour. There is a short walk along the water towards the Royal Britannia to walk off any meals!
The only disappointment was breakfast in the Brewers Fayre next door. There was little choice of pastries (croissants and muffins) and no hash browns as advertised. The hot food had been sat for a little while and was warm not hot.Having stayed at many Premier inns this was our least favourite breakfast and next time we would probably opt to eat at the nearby shopping centre

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iggsypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked the disabled room however disappointed that the shower was over the bath so unusable. Plenty of room for wheelchair to go under sink but impossible to use shower. Apparently some disabled rooms do have walk in showers but not Leith which is not made clear on booking form. It was the same in premier in Carlisle. Ridiculous!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Amazing view over the harbour. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfy. Clean. Plenty of free parking. Quiet (and there was building work going on that we never heard). Hair dryer in room. Fantastic illuminated mirror for putting makeup on. Only a short, inexpensive bus ride into Edinburgh, however, we preferred the Shore and harbour area of Leith rather than the centre of Edinburgh.
The breakfast in the pub next door was top notch! Round the corner from Asda for any forgotten toiletries.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleyandmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We chose this premier inn for our trip to Edinburgh, as it has free parking.
The room we had was on the waterfront side of the hotel, and had a very nice view (see photo)
It was also easy to get to Edinburgh city centre, using the No.10 bus that stops right outside the hotel.
The bus far was £1.40 per adult, 70p for kids 5-15 years old.
The rooms were the usual Premier Inn standard, roomy, clean and modern, with a big (I estimated 40") flat screen TV.
We had a family room, big double bed and two single beds.
And still plenty of room to move around.
Premier Inn is fast becoming our first port of call for trips now, no-one else does their blend of value+space+quality.
Food was not an issue, we ate in the city centre.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for waterfront room, as the other rooms only look onto office blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Recently heard that this location had been refurbished, was happy to see a good refurb job, well upgraded, great flat screen with freeview, clean, tidy, most importantly very quiet both from outside and on this occasion inside. Very nice location and close to Ocean Terminal centre. Very happy to recommend.

Room Tip: View over Firth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing