We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Really cannot fault our three nights here. Comfy and very clean room. Friendly staff. Regular bus service into the centre of Edinburgh from just across the road. Asda very close. Brewers Fayre on site with good pub food. Very friendly staff there too. Very good value - especially for Edinburgh.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for this terrific 5 star review Laurence! The team and I are delighted that you found us great value and could not fault your three nights with us. It means a lot to us that you had an excellent stay, and our rooms met your comfort and cleanliness expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    564
    125
    43
    17
See reviews for
489
707
45
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of September. Having booked and paid on line our registration was swift and efficient. Our room on the ground floor was facing the sea which was lovely. The room was clean and as advertised you have a soft and hard pillow (if that is what you want) together with a lovely comfortable king size bed. Lovely restful sleep with window open and the sound of the sea. The location is very good on the side of the harbour at Newhaven and just a short walk to cafes and pubs etc. We have styed here before and will definitely stay again when visiting family in Leith.

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
The team and I are delighted you had an excellent stay with us Patricia. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. The housekeeping team are happy to hear you appreciated their cleanliness standards, and had a lovely restful sleep in our comfortable large beds! It is good to know your return visit to us this time met your expectations and you will be back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for a short weekend break, Friday till Sunday. Staff friendly, clean, comfortable room. What more could you want. Good location, walk into city centre takes around 40/50 minutes, taxi cost around £10, bus stops right outside the premier inn, number 10 bus takes you smack into the city costs £1.50 per person and you have to have the correct change. Breakfast lovely at the Brewers Fayre next door. At the Waterfront there is a Loch Fynes and Prezzo, both really nice. All in all i would 100 per cent recommend this Premier Inn. Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We are all thrilled that you had a lovely weekend with us Wendy! We are impressed that you managed the 40-50 minute walk into Edinburgh! Many of the team, who are locals to the area, opt for the bus! It is always rewarding to hear the fantastic time our guests have while staying with us and visiting Edinburgh. The team are touched to know you found them friendly and our rooms clean and comfortable. Thank you for recommending our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The only fault we could find was that we didn't book for longer!!!!! We intend booking again soon for a longer stay x we booked well in advance for a brilliant deal x staff excellent x always on hand x see

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you Elaine for a wonderful 5 star review! We are sorry to hear that you couldn't stay for longer, and look forward to welcoming you back soon! The team and I are so thrilled to read your kind comments - it is rewarding to know we are maintaining our Premier standards and exceeding our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is the second time I've stayed in a Premier Inn, and I was again impressed. As well as very good value, we had a great night's sleep and a superb view (room 211). Staff were excellent, very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review Angela! The team and I are thrilled to know that we didn’t disappoint on only your second visit to a Premier Inn! Hopefully you will stay with us more often. It is wonderful to know we were good value, you had a room with a superb view and a great night’s sleep. The team always like to hear when our guests find them excellent and friendly. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, W.Sussex UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for two nights over a weekend. Staff were brilliant, so helpful and friendly, down to telling us where to pick up the bus into the centre, how much to pay and how it all works, info about the merits of taking a taxi as well as the perils of parking in central Edinburgh.

Our room overlooked the small harbour and Firth of Forth, absolutely spectacular views, especially at sunset and sunrise.

We didn't use the Brewers Fayre next door because 100 yards away, in the fish market area were Prezzo and Loch Fyne restaurants, also overlooking the boardwalk and harbour.

Slightly pricier than normal for a Premier Inn but worth every penny for the views. We've stayed in worse yet more expensive hotels before.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'sea view', they're no more expensive than city facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPaul_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
I am pleased that the team delivered our Premier standards throughout your stay with us ChrisPaul_F. . Our sea view rooms are fantastic and I am pleased you were able to enjoy the stunning views on this visit to Edinburgh.The team are always delighted to know our guests found them helpful and friendly so thank you for taking the time to share this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Check in and room fine. Fairly good location with couple of close restaurants although good walk to ocean terminal and have to actually drive to leith itself.
First night was fine with comfortable nights sleep. The second night was dreadful, as we were close to main doors and stairways it was noisy all night and so we all had fairly little sleep. There seemed to be few people coming in on the first night but assuming the second night had people out later and it was early morning and still the door next to us was banging and people were thumping up the stairs.
In future I will always contact and ask for a quiet location away from stairs and main entrance as little in the way of noise proofing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
I am terribly sorry to hear that your second night with us was disturbed Jobelly. We always make every effort to honour any requests from our guests, and if you contact the hotel prior to arrival we will be happy arrange this for you. The team and I are happy to know that the room itself, and check in met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing