We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here in Oct and found it to be the perfect base for exploring Edinburgh. The hotel has parking which is free and there is a bus stop outside the front which takes you into Edinburgh and runs every 20mins. Rooms were clean and comfy with tea and coffee facilities. (Although the mugs were an awful shape..... Style over substance!). The breakfast was outstanding along with the service from the staff. I would have given this 5 stars but we were abruptly awoken at 7am by a premier inn delivery lorry reversing and beeping for several minutes and then clattering around unloading and banging about for the next hour which I found particularly annoying and tarnished an otherwise good weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Condroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We are sorry to hear Condroni that you did not like the style of mugs in our bedrooms and we will pass your comments onto our purchasing team for them to review this aspect of our bedroom setup. We were also disappointed to hear that your night’s sleep was disturbed in the early hours of the morning. I have spoken with the restaurant general manager and we are currently discussing alternative delivery times so as to minimise disruption to our guests. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, therefore we would like to thank you for your comments so we can take steps to improve the service we are offering. The team and I are very happy that you found our rooms clean and comfy, and that the hotel was an ideal base for you to explore the wonderful sights of Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,391 - 1,397 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Having stayed in a premier inn previously I was expecting a good stay. The hotel was clean and the room spacious. Breakfast was first class and filled me up for the day although a little expensive for £8 each. Dinner in the adjoining pub was lovely.
The area is nice and we phoned beforehand to ask for a waterside room (as advised by another reviewer), when I phoned the staff were unable to promise this and said they would do their best - the view provided was definitely worth it.
The area is obviously having some major improvements over the last few years and new flats and buildings have clearly been going up. We ventured down to the new shopping complex and saw the ships in dock, a 2 minute drive along the main road, a bit far to walk.
A lovely place to stay if you don't want to be in the busy town center.

Room Tip: Phone and ask for a waterside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

The team and I are delighted that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and you had a perfect stay Janine M. There has been some significant investment in the area over the past couple of years and this has definitely had a positive impact. We are fortunate to be able to offer our guests the wonderful waterfront view in some of our rooms, and we are happy we were able to accommodate you in one of them! Our Premier breakfast is ideal for setting you up for the day, and as an all you can eat option we think our price is comparatively good value. The housekeeping team appreciate your comments surrounding the cleanliness of the rooms. They work hard to maintain their high standards and it is always nice to hear they were noticed and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we hope to have you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Basic, clean and perfectly acceptable - the standard expected of a premier inn.
Room cleaned daily, felt airy, well decorated and comfortable - excellent large telly in the room!
Good base for exploring Edinburgh and perfectly located to visit HM Yacht Britannia - a short walk away. Bus stops are really easy to find directly opposite the Inn! - buy a day ticket and off you trot.
There are several bonuses to this hotel: It's outside of Edinburgh centre so away from the noise; there are several quality restaurants near by, including Loch Fyne and a rather special Thai place called 'The Port of Siam' which we highly recommend - suggest booking. The attached restaurant was surprisingly good, considering previous experiences with this type of 'pub food'.
The staff at the Premier Inn, Leith Waterfront were excellent, from arrival to departure - pleasant and offering local knowledge to help enhance our trip. I would recommend taking the bus into Leith to visit the Kings Wark pub, however there are some excellent restaurants off the main road and on the waterfront on the way into Leith.
Overall I would happily endorse this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for a wonderful detailed review Andy_Rachael. The team are thrilled you were able to enjoy some of the many different attractions and restaurants in Edinburgh – the Yacht Britannia and Port of Siam is definitely a favourite amongst the team! The team really appreciate your comments surrounding their knowledge and helpfulness. We are touched to know you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Really cannot fault our three nights here. Comfy and very clean room. Friendly staff. Regular bus service into the centre of Edinburgh from just across the road. Asda very close. Brewers Fayre on site with good pub food. Very friendly staff there too. Very good value - especially for Edinburgh.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for this terrific 5 star review Laurence! The team and I are delighted that you found us great value and could not fault your three nights with us. It means a lot to us that you had an excellent stay, and our rooms met your comfort and cleanliness expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of September. Having booked and paid on line our registration was swift and efficient. Our room on the ground floor was facing the sea which was lovely. The room was clean and as advertised you have a soft and hard pillow (if that is what you want) together with a lovely comfortable king size bed. Lovely restful sleep with window open and the sound of the sea. The location is very good on the side of the harbour at Newhaven and just a short walk to cafes and pubs etc. We have styed here before and will definitely stay again when visiting family in Leith.

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

The team and I are delighted you had an excellent stay with us Patricia. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. The housekeeping team are happy to hear you appreciated their cleanliness standards, and had a lovely restful sleep in our comfortable large beds! It is good to know your return visit to us this time met your expectations and you will be back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for a short weekend break, Friday till Sunday. Staff friendly, clean, comfortable room. What more could you want. Good location, walk into city centre takes around 40/50 minutes, taxi cost around £10, bus stops right outside the premier inn, number 10 bus takes you smack into the city costs £1.50 per person and you have to have the correct change. Breakfast lovely at the Brewers Fayre next door. At the Waterfront there is a Loch Fynes and Prezzo, both really nice. All in all i would 100 per cent recommend this Premier Inn. Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are all thrilled that you had a lovely weekend with us Wendy! We are impressed that you managed the 40-50 minute walk into Edinburgh! Many of the team, who are locals to the area, opt for the bus! It is always rewarding to hear the fantastic time our guests have while staying with us and visiting Edinburgh. The team are touched to know you found them friendly and our rooms clean and comfortable. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The only fault we could find was that we didn't book for longer!!!!! We intend booking again soon for a longer stay x we booked well in advance for a brilliant deal x staff excellent x always on hand x see

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you Elaine for a wonderful 5 star review! We are sorry to hear that you couldn't stay for longer, and look forward to welcoming you back soon! The team and I are so thrilled to read your kind comments - it is rewarding to know we are maintaining our Premier standards and exceeding our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing