We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Just home from a fantastic couple of days here.
Great price and comfortable, clean, modern room.
Surprised pleasantly by a beautiful sea view!

I am so glad we decided to stay here instead of the city centre. We had a great meal at the pub next door and a lovely walk along the harbour.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you Rebecca K for your lovely review. The team are delighted that you had a fantastic couple of days staying with us in Edinburgh. We are fortunate to have such wonderful sea views to be able to offer our guests, and I am pleased that your visit was no exception. The team really appreciate the reviews from our guests and we are pleased you found our rooms modern, clean, comfortable and great value for money. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    588
    134
    46
    19
See reviews for
513
748
48
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuminestown, Turriff, Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent position on the waterfront. Bus stop right outside to get into Edinburgh City Centre. Convenient for visiting Royal Yacht Britannia.
Very comfortable, good service at a reasonable price.
Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you Graham N for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to know you found our rooms were value for money, very comfortable and the team delivered great service for you. They were all very happy to read that you will come and stay with us again- we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We visited in August for the Fringe, whilst the price was high for a Prermier Inn it was still reasonable compared to other well known establishments. The rooms were very good as was the bed and large flat screen tv. The bathroom was modern compared to other less up to date Premier inns which is always welcome. My main issue with all these Premier Inns is Shower pressure, logic dictates at something so weak means im in longer so the same amount of water is used compared to a refreshing more powerful shorter shower, PLEASE SORT THIS OUT PREMIER INN,

Positives are the number 10 bus on the doorstep and free parking, great service from a friendly team of staff and up to date rooms.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 444AndyS444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you 444AndyS444 for sharing your comments with Trip Advisor. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we strive to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. The team were pleased to know that you found our hotel good value for money in August. They were delighted that you found them friendly, appreciated the bed, and flatscreen TV. The hotel was recently refurbished in January 2012 therefore all the fixings and furniture are less than two years old, and the team work very hard to maintain our high standards. Thank you for recognising this - it means a lot to know we are one of the best Premier Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday.Was greeted by Ashley on check in, really nice girl. After going to our rooms we see we had a carpark view, and asked to be moved to the seaview side, this was done with no hassle at all. Room was lovely and clean and has the big TV's which is perfect for laying in bed and watching. Never really see many other staff members apart from the night guy on when we left on our last night to travel back home to essex through the night. Would definately recommend staying here if you need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for a great review Donna B! Ashley was thrilled to see your comments-thank you for recognising her excellence, and the effort she went to ensuring you had a sea view room! Thank you for recommending our lovely clean rooms and comfortable beds to the trip advisor community. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights early October as part of our Scotland sightseeing tour. We have stayed at a Premier Inn, (Tower Bridge, London) before and this one equals it in our opinion. Room was on the 2nd floor towards the very back of the building and was wonderfully quiet, we never heard any noise at any time. Everything was spotless, bed was first class, tea & coffee making facilities are always a good thing to have, there is a nice big TV we didn't really bother with as we were sightseeing - there really was everything we needed for the short time we were there. The free car parking is yet another plus point which helped sway our decision to stay here. Location is excellent too, we caught the bus into Edinburgh at the stop just over the road at a cost of £1.50 each - much easier than trying to take the car into the city. Edinburgh is a truly wonderful place with much to see and do. Day 2 saw us visit the Royal Yacht Britannia which is very close (via the nearby 24 hour Asda for a really good value breakfast). We expected a high standard and that's what we got - no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review chrisnjane! The team were delighted that you had everything you needed to enjoy your short visit to Edinburgh. The housekeeping team were really happy that you noticed your room was spotless, quiet and the bed first class! We are also glad that you stay with us met your expectations of Premier Inn from your previous visit to London Tower Bridge. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments, we are thrilled you had no complaints, and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I always stay at Premier Inns when working away basically because I can always be sure, pardon the cliche, that 'it does what it says on the tin'. This Premier Inn is no exception to that and ticked all the boxes, shower works, telly works, beds fine, everything is clean and the room is of a good size. The location here is exceptional and my room had a view up the Firth of Forth with the Forth railway and road bridges being visible in the distance. Access to Edinburgh centre is easy by car and although I didn't use it, there is bus stop across the road which I think takes you into central Edinburgh. Loads of parking so that was not a problem either This hotel had a self check in which was easy to use and a member of staff was on hand in case I got stuck, but I just about managed the procedure. My only negative comment is the lack of an armchair in the room This particular room had a settee cum second bed which are fine for occasional use but if you just want to sit and watch telly then I cannot recommend them especially if you have a slightly dodgy back! Please bring back the bucket chair....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MartinB978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Martin B978. The team were pleased to hear that our hotel was no exception to the Premier Inn rule! For your information we do have bedrooms within the hotel that have tub chairs, therefore, in future please do ask for this and we will endeavour to meet your request. We were delighted that the TV and shower worked and the bed was comfortable and bedroom clean. We are also thrilled you appreciated the wonderful views of the Firth of Forth from your bedroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Last minute overnight stay in Edinburgh. Had previously stayed in the city ones but as I was last minute they were full. Glad they were! Booking and arrival seamless.Stayed here with husband and 2 teenagers. Had a family room which was more than ample. It was clean, quiet and lovely and warm. The shower had a great power and the bathroom a good size.
The reception staff were very welcoming.
Great access for Edinburgh and also the Ocean Terminal which has the Royal Yacht Britannia. Car park ample and free unlike the city ones. Took breakfast option which was great. Kids ate for free.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiesonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for a wonderful 5 star review Jamiesonca! The team were delighted you found our Premier Inn suited your needs better than the city centre ones – free car parking is handy when travelling with the family. The reception team were particularly happy that you found them welcoming, and that the check in and booking process was seamless. We are all happy the size of our bedroom and bathroom was ample for your family and that the power shower was a hit with everyone. The Royal Yacht Britannia is a fabulous tourist attraction and we are lucky that we are within close walking distance. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and recommend our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing