We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just stayed for three days in a family room beautiful see view great room everything we needed staff very helpful bus stop to Edinburgh just over road every ten mins get the day rover ticket just 3.50 to travel all day avoid the brewers fayre next door food dire never seen a burger and hot dog buffet before loch fine restaurant two mins walk best fish and chips ever will be booking to stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us David. I am sorry that the restaurant did not meet your expectations; we will address this at our next management meeting, but thank you for your comments. We take all feedback seriously in order to improve the service we offer our guests and this will be followed up. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us, and were able to appreciate the fantastic sea views our rooms have to offer. The team were touched to know you had everything you needed and found them helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    577
    132
    45
    19
See reviews for
507
728
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk Uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just a few miles from the centre of Edinburgh, there's good parking facilities and lots of fresh air by the Port of Leith.

Depending on whether you're visiting the Royal Brittania yacht or heading into town, a car is a must.

Room was of the usual good standard, but the large plasma tv made it extra nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you Yogi for your kind review. The team and I are pleased you had a room with a view, our standards met your expectations, and you found the large plasma tv an added bonus. Our free car parking facility is very convenient for those coming to visit us with their car. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We weren't expecting the hotel to be in such a historic location by the old harbour next to a lighthouse, the harbour-front houses overlooking the shore and the waters of the Firth of Forth lapping nearby. Bracing and blowy but a great experience of real Scotland! Brilliant base for exploring Edinburgh. Everything you would expect from a Premier Inn. We arrived late evening and were worried about a meal but it was the Italian night, so a great range of tasty food on an all-you-can-eat-buffet basis. They have a different theme each night. Plenty of other eateries in the area if you need a change. Breakfast choice was brilliant, rooms clean and warm with a great night view of harbour and friendly staff. Easy parking and good buses into Edinburgh. Will definitely go back to this hotel next time we're in Edinburgh. .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
What wonderful photographs VictoriaBath. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and share some of your holiday snaps! They have really captured the area and wonderful views on offer. The team were delighted that you had a great experience of the real Scotland, and the hotel met your expectations. The Italian night is great value for money, and very popular. I will share your comments on this, and our breakfast offering with the restaurant team at our next management meeting. We are pleased you were able to experience the wonderful views of the harbour from the comfort of your warm room. The team were thrilled that you found them friendly and will be back to stay with us the next time you are in Edinburgh. Hurry back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed in a family room with a 5 and 2 year old. Excellent room and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The number 10 bus from directly outside the hotel takes you into the centre of Edinburgh for £1.50 (adult). The journey takes approx. 20 mins
The Royal Yacht Britannia is a 10 minute walk away and well worth a visit. The entrance to the Yacht is situated in a shopping centre which also hosts a number of restaurants
The Brewers Fayre situated next door to the hotel has an indoor play centre which was great for the kids.
I would stay hear again if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront soon MBS2011! The team are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and that you found the room excellent, and the team friendly and helpful. We are lucky to have the play area for children in the Brewer’s Fayre next door – it is a hit with lots of families and I will pass your comments onto the management team at our next meeting. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langbank, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is the third time this year that I have stayed In a Premier Inn and on each occasion I have been very impressed by the quality, standard and cleanliness of the rooms for the good value price that I have paid.
This Premier Inn in Leith was ideally situated on the waterfront and within close distance of the Royal Yacht Britannia and the Ocean Terminal shopping centre. It was also opposite a bus stop that took you right to Princess Street, allowing the car to remain in the hotel's car park without the hassle of negotiating your way through a busy city centre. For good value and quality accommodation I would certainly recommend this Inn for an enjoyable visit to Edinburgh and Leith.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you Skyebo for recommending Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, and taking the time to write such a nice review for our hotel. The Royal Yacht Britannia and Ocean Terminal are definitely worth a visit when staying with us, as we are only a short 10-minute walk away. The free parking facilities we are able to offer are also particularly useful as you noted. The team were really happy to know that you were impressed with the cleanliness standards, quality and value of our rooms. We are particularly pleased that this is your third visit with Premier Inn and your stay with us is no exception, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here last week for 4 nights. Great location, great value breakfast! Bus stops right outside to take you into the centre of Edinburgh.

Arrived at 12.30pm after a long 7 hour drive(!) but our room was ready and we were able to check in early and get straight into Edinburgh to start enjoying our break!

Room was fine (2 adults and 1 child) and a lovely addition of the towels folded into a dog on our daughters bed! Well done to whoever did this!

Restaurant next door was fine and reasonably priced - the all you can eat dinner deals are a great idea along with the refillable soft drinks and costa coffee.

We tend to stay in the Premier Inns quite a lot when we travel (both for business and leisure) as they are always in great locations, always reasonably priced, clean and friendly and the breakfasts are fantastic value! Never had a bad experience.

Happy travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chupachups77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
What a wonderful review chupachups77! The team are always delighted to hear about our guest’s experience with us, and to discover your family were all happy travellers was excellent news! The housekeeping team were particularly pleased that your room was ready before check in time, and I have passed your comments onto the housekeeper that made the towel dog your daughter liked! The all you can eat offerings in the restaurant are great value for money and we are pleased they suited your needs. It is very rewarding to know that you have never had a bad experience with Premier Inn and found Edinburgh Leith Waterfront to be clean, with friendly team members in a fantastic location. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Premier Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 115, had a brilliant family room overlooking the coast. The hotel was exactly what a Premier Inn should be, clean and comfortable. Impossible to fault the hotel, we had an excellent stay. The hotel is several miles outside Edinburgh, too far to walk. The bus passes outside regularly and for a family of four, it is a fiver each way to get in and our of the city. If you are planning to spend all your time in Edinburgh, this might not be the best location for you but I loved being near the sea.
We used the restaurant several times and we were impressed overall. The staff were hardworking and good natured and the manager seemed to be very pro active. I felt that it was understaffed, particularly at breakfast. Mugs, milk and food items seemed to continually run out and we were surrounded most mornings by uncleared tables. The staff worked very hard but I found this irritating. Food was of a good quality however. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you Ellie S for a lovely review. We are fortunate that the hotel is in such a wonderful location by the sea, yet is close enough to get into town via local buses. The number 10 provides an excellent service and is great value as you noted. Thank you very much for your comments about the attached restaurant next door. I will pass this feedback onto the General Manager at our next management meeting, which we will address. The team were thrilled to know that you would stay with us again, had an excellent stay and could not fault the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing