We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We booked the premier inn it's usually good value and you know what to expect.

We checked in early which was great and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

When we took our belongings to our room it was obvious it had been smoked in. As a family of none smokers it was really smelly. There was ash on the window ledge - inside and out. I reported this straight away and the room was sprayed which helped for a day but afterwards the smell returned. At this point I was concerned that we would be charged the fine for smoking when it wasn't us.

My husband and daughter didn't sleep well at all as the noise was shocking. People slamming doors and letting their young children run up and down the corridors early in the morning and late at night. Our room overlooked the car park and on our last morning a delivery truck arrived (I'm so glad we were awake) as this would have woke us up!

I spoke to reception upon checking out and they gave me a refund of 1 nights stay due to their good sleep guarantee. However, I completed a satisfaction survey afterwards making the same points above and haven't received any further recompense or acknowledgement or my comments which is disappointing.

I would definitely reconsider staying in a premier inn again based on this experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laus05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you Jaus05 for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. I sincerely apologise that on this occasion our bedroom did not meet your expectations. Your experience was far below our usual high standards that our guests can expect. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. I am pleased to note that we were able to check you in early, and you found the team friendly and helpful. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    587
    133
    46
    19
See reviews for
512
747
48
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LINCOLNSHIRE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Premier Leith.We have Stayed in most premiers in Edinburgh, but this is the one we always return to. All the staff are incredibly polite and helpful, nothing is ever too much trouble. our requested room no 222 ( used to be no 77 ) is the best.spotless,everything you require, plasma tv on wall, plus the most wonderful view of the forth. The hotel is ideally placed for the city,with the number 10 bus stop outside of the hotel, and a 20 min ride in at just £1.50 each way. We used the restaurant for the first time, for an evening meal, and found it to be excellent value for money, two main meals for £10 + two sweets for £2.00. A steal! All in all, a very pleasant stay, and even the weather was perfect, sunshine and mild temperatures every day.Thank you and well done premier Leith, we will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: second floor. end of corridor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKYWALKER03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you Skywalker03 for another 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn! We are thrilled you enjoyed another stay with us and that we were able to meet all your requests – particularly your favourite room! The housekeeping team are grateful for your comments surrounding the cleanliness of the room as they work hard to maintain our high standards. I will share your comments with the restaurant team who will be delighted you had an enjoyable dining experience with them. Your loyalty to our Premier Inn means a lot to the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We just stayed here for 1 night, but had a very pleasant stay. This hotel is very big and has plenty rooms. Our room was easy to find, it was clean and had everything needed. The view wasn't to great, just onto the car park at reception, but this didn't matter as we were only staying for 1 night. The restaurant at the hotel is great value for money and well worth going to. After a great nights sleep, we had the continental breakfast which was lovely. This hotel is very close to Ocean Terminal and the city centre. Overall, it was a great nights stay and i would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you JR for the 5 star review! It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us here at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. We are pleased you found the restaurant value for money and that you had a great night’s sleep! Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked 4 single rooms for a Golfing trip around the the Edinburgh area; It was the same price for a single as twin room, and you had a double bed, brewing facilities and nice clean modern bathroom. The shower was very good; albeit over the bath, I think there should be a mat to stop you slipping? No breakfast, but there is an Asda round the corner (£5 all in with a free fruit drink) or you can go in the pub adjacent to the hotel. I must mention we had a meal in Leith town; The Kings Wark, excellent!! on the other night's we went into Edinburgh (£10 taxi fare) Overall a good hotel.. but I noticed another reviewer mentioned noise at the front of the hotel in the early morning. I did notice the delivery wagon (on my way out) but my room was at the other side and so noise wasn't an Issue.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms facing over the harbour..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks for your review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Miguel035. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. We do have bath mats available for all our guests who may require these, and the team are always happy to provide them if requested. We are currently in negotiations regarding the delivery times for the restaurant, and were pleased to note that you were undisturbed during your visit. It is fantastic that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just stayed here for two nights very good,bus stop outside to city centre and asda and ocean terminal close by staff very good and rooms nice we had a sea view the only thing was no heating in bathrooms but seams to be the same in other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks for your review Andrew M. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I were thrilled that you appreciated our great location, and our great team here met your expectations. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. We were delighted to know you appreciated the efforts we made to ensure you had a sea view room. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I am just back from an overnight stay at the Premier Inn Leith. We telephoned the hotel prior to arriving to request an early check in which they did have for us which was perfect. We had 2 rooms booked. Both on the second floor. One room had a partial view of the sea and the other the one my friend and I were in had a view of the car park and the adjoining restaurant. Premier Inn pride themselves on a good nights sleep. Unfortunately they did not mention that the refridgerated delivery lorry delivering to the restaurant would be sitting running outside our bedroom window from 7am to at least 8.30am!! At first I thought it was a helicopter, then thought no maybe it was a dustcart but no it was a huge lorry. Sitting running while I think the driver had his breakfast! I know they need deliveries but at 7am?!?!? The hotel is clean and tidy inside so no complaints there. The only thing is the bath is VERY slippy!! Much care is needed when getting both in and out after a shower. Don't think we'll be staying here again due to the location but if we do we will be certain to request a sea view...much quieter!!

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie-Fyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Katie-Fyfe for taking the time to review your stay with us, and I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it enables us to fix these issues to prevent them occurring again. I will look into re-scheduling the delivery times to prevent this happening again. At Premier Inn we do honour our Good Night Guarantee, and I am sorry this did not happen for you. All our baths are fitted with non-slip surface; however, we understand that this may not be sufficient for everyone. In order to assist with this, we do have bath mats available for our guests who may require these. They are available for collection from reception. I am pleased we were able to provide you with an early check in to make your stay with us that bit easier. I am also happy to note our cleanliness standards met your expectations. I am disappointed to know you may not be back with us again, and hope that you could change your mind. In this eventuality we will be happy to welcome you back, and ensure a sea view room for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have never used a Premier Inn before but couldn't find fault with the staff or our room the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice was hot and the buffet was easy to use. The staff made us very welcome even though they we very busy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
The team are delighted that you had a great experience staying with Premier Inn for the first time. Thank you for choosing Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Lynda G, and giving us a 5 star review! The team are thrilled to know you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast and that they made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing