We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up for Hogmanay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went up to Edinburgh for a wedding on the 28th December 2013. Because the date of the
wedding was close to New Year's Eve, we booked 4 nights stay as neither of us had ever experienced Hogmanay before in Edingburgh, so wanted to stay for that. We booked about 2 weeks in advance and the price was £410 for 4 nights. Although it's very expensive for a Premier Inn, it was the cheapest hotel that we could find for those dates. We were about 3 miles from Edinburgh city centre. The number 10 bus from outside the hotel takes you to the city centre in about 15 minutes. Alternatively, you can walk in about 45 minutes. We walked twice and took buses the rest of the time.

Before this trip I had never stayed in a Preimer Inn before. I wasn't expecting anything great, given that it is a budget hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the room that we had (room 125). It was clean and quite spacious, with a good bed and a chaise loungue. The room also had sea views and overlooked the tennis courts of the leisure centre next door. The bathroom was a good size with a bath and a shower over the bath.

The staff were smiley and everyone said hello every time you walked past them in the corridor.
The only thing that was a problem was that there were lots of families (with kids!) staying in the hotel at the same time. The kids were very noisy and kept running up and down the corridors and making lots of noise. This was especially bad in the mornings, when they would wake up each morning of my stay without fail. The irony is that the hotel has posters on each corridor door with pictures of little kids saying '' Shhhh, be quiet'' or words to that effect. Unfortunately the posters don't have any affect on the behaviour of the kids that were staying at the hotel. I blame the parents...
The ceiling between floors don't seem to be soundproofed, as we had a noisy person in the room above ours, and we could hear them thumping around above whenever we were in our room.

The hotel is in a nice spot in an area that looks to have been recently regenerated. The delights of Leith/NewHaven are just around the corner from the hotel, including Michelin starred 'The Kitchin' (unfortunately they were closed for Christmas/New Year when we were there, so we didn't get to eat there).
There is also an Asda a few minutes from the hotel which is useful for forgotten essentials (it opens 24 hours). It also has a nice cafe, where we had breakfast every day, as it was cheaper than eating breakfast at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you BSesay for your review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit in Premier Inn. The housekeeping team are happy that you found the room clean and quite specious. They work really hard to keep on top of our standards.
We are fortunate to have such wonderful sea views to be able to offer our guests, and I am pleased that your visit was no exception.
We hope to welcome you back at Premier Inn Leith Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in room 246 the thermostat/ heater was clicking off constantly which resulted in the room being freezing. It was a 5 min walk to reception to complain as the communal phone in the hall way wasn't working. We went to complain twice in the second time they gave us a portable heater but it wasn't adequate to heat the room, the springs on one side of the bed was also uncomfortable, we looked on line for an alternative hotel but with it being new year we couldn't find anywhere suitable. So we spent three nights feeling cold! We were not offered a refund under the good night guarantee

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to review your stay with us, Lindsay T.
I would like to apologise that you found the room you were allocated to be cold during your stay.I have spoken to housekeeping and they inform me that the heaters work on a timer but customers can override this facility if they need to. The maintenance man was asked to check if the heater in room 246 works.
At Premier Inn we always strive to provide our guests with a high standard of service and I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to achieve this.
Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

total satisfaction with Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. going back in summer for longer stay. beautiful room, fabulous bathroom but the best thing was the staff.so helpful and above the average.
Also food in restaurant was first class and great choice.
really recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you Lyn T for your fabulous 5 star review! It really matters to us that guests enjoy every aspect of their stay with us, and we are delighted that your visit was no exception. The housekeeping team are thrilled you appreciated their hard work maintaining our bedrooms and bathrooms. The team are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront and will be back again in the summer. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

What a lovely hotel. Immaculate with great family rooms. But. The best thing was the staff. What a pleasant bunch who really seem to enjoy working there. Great location with free parking and the number 10 bus right outside to take you into the centre of Edinburgh. Decent breakfast (again with lovely staff) at the Brewars Fayre next door. I stay at a lot of exclusive hotels with my work, but for a family break this place could easily compete with the best of them. We'll be back soon

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guccikaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you guccikaren for your wonderful review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront! The team will be thrilled to know you found them a pleasant bunch, and that our hotel could easily compete with the exclusive hotels you stay in with work – perhaps you could recommend that they try Premier Inn? I will pass your kind comments onto the team at the Brewer’s Fayre. We are delighted to know you will be back to stay with us soon and we look forward to welcoming you and your family. Have a Happy New Year when it comes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Staying here as I write this review and will see what management have to say in the morning about it. Right next door to an extremely noisy lift! Absolutely terrible and not happy at all. Avoid this room at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCloos65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you McClures for taking the time to review your stay with us. Whilst we endeavour to respond to all reviews within 24 hours that they are posted, we do recognise there can be a delay in the online service, therefore I would always recommend that any feedback you would like actioned immediately is given directly to one of our team members who are available at reception 24 hours a day. They would have been happy to move you to an alternative room to ensure you had a quiet and peaceful stay. I am terribly sorry that on this occasion we let you down and you did not experience a good night’s sleep. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, and I have logged a maintenance call to our lift providers so they can reduce the noise made by the lift. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Premier Inn and had a really nice sleep. The room was nice and spacious and the bathroom has a shower AND a bath.

The lights were in the right places as were the switches.

What I did not like was the lack of air conditioning on quite a warm day and the fact that I had to pay for my wifi. I mean come on Premier Inn, even Ibis provides air conditioning and free wifi, do you really need to penny pinch this much?

If it had not been for the above two issues, it would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you Mr B for our 5 star rating! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Leith Waterfront Premierinn, in regards to the two issues you had, I will pass your comments on to higher management as we greatly appreciate our guests feedback to enable us to help improve and grow the company moving forward.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here 2 nights to celebrate the wife's 'special' birthday. From the moment we booked until leaving we could not complain about any aspect of the hotel. The staff were very efficient,attentive and friendly. Noting that some rooms had a sea view I had previously contacted the hotel and although they said they couldn't guarantee it I did request a room with a view. No disappointment there because on arrival we were allocated a room overlooking the sea with the Forth bridge in the distance. The room on the second floor and well away from the lift was clean, comfy and right for purpose. We were not disturbed by any noise and slept soundly and well. On the second day we found a birthday card and a bottle of wine from the staff at the hotel waiting for us on our return. A lovely and unexpected surprise and much appreciated. On the first night we opted for a meal in the Brewers Fayre attached to the hotel. Again good service and reasonable price for a fair to middling meal. Opting for an all you can eat breakfast was good for us. Again a good selection which kept the two of us going for the day, literally! Got to say the standard of food was better on the Saturday than the Sunday. I guess that being due to it being kept under the heat lamps longer without being replaced,due I suppose to the fact it wasn't as busy on the Sunday. Having driven through Edinburgh to get there ,there was no way we were going to drive back to visit as like most cities it is not car friendly. Our plan was to use the No 10 bus to get into Edinburgh but due to the weather decided to use the local taxi service. Very friendly cabbies on each occasion and easy booking process via the front desk staff members. Roughly a 10 minute drive into the city and an average cost of £10. We chose this hotel due to the fact it had good parking facilities. We intend to return to Edinburgh and would certainly use this hotel again as a base. Unfortunately the time we had there was just not enough to visit all that the city has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on the second floor and away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank youBoddies for another 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn! We are thrilled you enjoyed another stay with us and that we were able to meet all your requests – Our reception team and the housekeeping team are grateful for your comments surrounding the service you were provided and the cleanliness of the room as they work hard to maintain our high standards.
We are delighted to know that you were thrilled with our little something that we put into your room for your wifes special birthday.
I will share your comments with the restaurant team who will be delighted you had an enjoyable dining experience with them. Your loyalty to our Premier Inn means a lot to the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Hopefully next time you visit our beautiful city you will have more time to see what Edinburgh has got to offer.
King Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing