We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Premier Inn in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a large Inn set over 3 floors in L shape. We had a room fairly close to entrance but some friends complained about the trek to their rooms...they were relocated when they asked.
The room was large and spacious enough for a double and single bed. This hotel does not offer two full single beds. Rooms otherwise were standard with plenty of coffee and tea making stuff. The TV flat screen was a fair size (40"?). Plenty towels. V clean room. Reception staff very helpful.

Food was from the attached "Brewers Fare" restaurant which served tasty and reasonably priced breakfasts and food throughout the day.

A number 10 bus ran from outside of the hotel to the centre of Edinburgh every 10 minutes during the day...fare 1.50GBP each way. The Royal yacht Britannia was a 15 minute stoll The yacht is berthed by a shopping centre containing Debenhams etc.. A 5 minute walk will take you to a 24 hour ASDA store. There are a number of bars ,shops, and restaurants nearby.

A good and convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the entrance or you might have a fair trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G4CHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you G4CHP for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn! It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and we are thrilled your visit was no exception. The team and I are delighted you found them helpful and you found our rooms spacious and comfortable. Our flat screen TV’s are indeed 40”, and we are pleased you had enough tea and coffee available to help make your stay comfortable. The housekeeping team are thrilled you appreciated their high standards of cleanliness in our bedrooms and bathrooms. I will pass your kind comments onto the team at Brewer’s Fayre who will be pleased you enjoyed their food. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stopped here for the rugby,the great thing about this place for me is that is easily accessible with free parking. You just need get the regular buses to Princes street. Leith area itself has some great places to eat as well .
The hotel itself was nothing special, we were on the ground floor, and there were no great views to be had . We didn't bother with the premier breakfast, which was now £9 for the ad lib feast. We went to a great little cafe called The Haven just across the road ; recommended!
Hotel staff were very helpful regarding bus numbers , times etc but the hotel itself is a bit bland

Room Tip: Not the one we were in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLCman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us MLCman. I am pleased our free parking facility suited your needs. I am disappointed that you felt the hotel had no great views to offer. We do have a limited number of bedrooms that overlook the Firth of Forth, and these offer fantastic views. Had the team been aware this was one of your preferences they would have made their best efforts to ensure this request was met. If you are coming back to stay with us again in the future please contact the hotel prior to your arrival with this request. The team are pleased that you found them helpful in assisting you with local transport information. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here Friday and Saturday night couldn't fault it, room was spotless and comfortable. Had drinks in the bar and found them reasonably priced. Although there were a lot of young children about (Think it may have been English Half Term) the hotel itself was very quiet and we didn't experience any noise. All staff that we spoke to were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FafHamilton_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you FafHamilton for your lovely 5 star review of our hotel! It was indeed half term holidays and we were inundated with lots of visiting families. We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Premier Inn, and a great night’s sleep. The team are pleased you found them all helpful and polite, and that your bedroom was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our housekeeping team work hard to maintain such high standards and they are elated you acknowledged their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back to Leith Waterfront as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Good, clean hotel, friendly staff. The hotel is in fantastic location and we loved to walk along the water. The only negative thing i can think about is lack of air conditioning in the room and far from comfy aditional beds. But in total we have rather good opinion.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Thathanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you Thathanka for taking the time to review your stay with Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst we do not offer air conditioning in our bedrooms we do have fans and heaters in every room, and the reception team are always happy to provide spares, if they are required. I am disappointed to learn you did not find the additional beds comfortable. If it is convenient for you to provide me with your room number I will check the condition of these and replace if necessary, and be happy to take on board any suggestions you have. I can be contacted on opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com The views of the Firth of Forth are fantastic and we are lucky to be so close by. The team are thrilled you found them friendly and our bedrooms were nice and clean. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a super premier inn .The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed with our 3 children (8,6,4) they all had their own bed in our large room. Great indoor play area which they enjoyed. Asda just a five min walk away(24hours) very handy. The bus to the city is just outside and every 10 mins.(ask for a family ticket) make sure you have the right change as no change given. The waterfront is a lovely place to walk around and the children could burn off energy next to the sea. Edinburgh is an amazing place. We are already making plans to go back. We flow from Bristol which was super and the taxi from airport was 20mins £23.00. We booked in advance so got our room for £29 per night. We can not fault our stay at all apart from we had to leave!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We are disappointed you had to leave as well Kate B! We are absolutely thrilled you had a super stay with us over the half term break, and thank you for the 5 star review! The team are delighted to know you found them all friendly and helpful. Our location is ideal for heading into Edinburgh. The waterfront views are spectacular, and a great place to entertain the kids! The play area in the restaurant is also a great way to keep the children occupied, as you noted. We hope you are able to get another bargain room at just £29 for your next visit to Edinburgh! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here in half term and although fully booked it was very quiet in evening and first thing in morning. Staff friendly. Breakfast nice in adjoining pub. Excellent location for ocean terminal and regular buses into Edinburgh

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you Becky M for your lovely review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great to know you found the bedrooms nice and quiet and the team were friendly. Thank you for choosing Premier Inn and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Arrived for a two day break. Hotel is VERY close to the Royal Yacht Britannia and Ocean Terminal shopping centre. There is also a 24 hour Asda less than a 5 min walk away.

Hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff very willing to help if asked. Could have done with more towels (one large towel per room to me is a little tight) but ask for more and the staff are very quick to oblige.

The only issue were the very noisy guests upstairs. Elephants had nothing on their footsteps. How anybody can walk around a small hotel room as much as they did is beyond me! They even made the light fitting in the room vibrate and at 1am this is a little annoying!

The Brewers Fayre next door has a different "all you can eat" night every night. (£6.99 each is good value) If you want the "2 for £10" meals, these currently end at 6.30pm so don't be late!

A very pleasant stay despite the elephants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peglet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you Peglet78 for taking the time to review your stay with Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I am sorry to hear the guests in the room above disturbed you. I have made a note of your comments and we will discuss them at our maintenance review this week. I am delighted to note you found our rooms clean and comfortable and the team helpful. We are also delighted you enjoyed the variety of dinner options the Brewer’s Fayre has to offer. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,326 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing