We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied customer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Satisfied customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and have enjoyed every visit... The staff are more than helpful and anxious to please...They are very well informed should you need directions in and around the city...The local bus service to and from the hotel is excellent...We will most definitely be back...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you Irene B for your lovely 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are thrilled to know you find them helpful and well informed. We are delighted you continue to stay with us time and time again – we really appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    564
    125
    43
    17
See reviews for
487
705
45
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Visiting friends in Edinburgh and got this hotel due to location and had a wonderful stay. Room was spotless with a big flat tv and everything you need for a stay. Had not ever stayed at a Premier Inn before but would do so again if the chance arose. £60 for 2 ads and an infant including a superb breakfast. Perfect for anyone visitng the Leith area of Edinburgh and only 5 mins in car to centre or 10 mins by bus !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinHamiltonRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you ColinHamiltonRea for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn! The team and I are absolutely delighted that yourself and your family enjoyed your first ever stay in Premier Inn! The housekeeping team are pleased you found the room spotless, and had everything you needed for your stay. I will pass your comments about our superb Premier Breakfast onto the team at Brewer’s Fayre. The all you can eat option is great value for money, especially when children get to eat for free. We are so pleased that you will use Premier Inn again and we hope to welcome you back to Leith Waterfront soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a five day stay at £25 per night, yes I got one of those deals. We had a room with a sea view and the weather was excellent for March. There is a bus that runs every 10 minutes to the centre of Edinburgh from just out side the PI. The RY Britannia is just a short walk (15 minutes). There is a a Loch Fyne restaurant a short walk across the car park for when the Brewers Fare doesn't quite hit the spot plus other restaurants within walking distance. I can't say what is like if you get a room on the car park side, might be well to ask for a sea view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you Eddie W for taking the time to review your stay with us. The team and I are pleased you managed to get a bargain break with us! Very lucky indeed! We are thrilled you enjoyed the views over the Firth of Forth from your room and found our hotel was in a convenient location. The team are delighted to receive another 5 star review – thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Staff were all friendly and professional but many thanks to Martha for her help in arranging room for us on ground floor. Ideal location and very comfortable beds. Breakfast excellent and, again, service was extremely good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momessages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you momessages for reviewing your stay with Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I am delighted you found the team friendly and professional. Thank you for making special mention of Martha. She will be very touched to know you appreciated her efforts to ensure you had a ground floor room, and found the beds extremely comfortable. I will pass your lovely comments about breakfast onto the team at the Brewer’s Fayre who will be delighted to know you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

partner booked this as a suprise for me, travelled up for the rugby-arrived -very friendly welcome from staff. excellent advice about local transport to the murrayfield.
arrived in the room-opened the curtains and found a stunning view of the firth of Forth directly outside the window.

It was a bit out of the way for murrayfield but good for the city center.

The waterfront area in summer I can imagine would be gorgeous.

Room Tip: ask for one looking over the watefront-you won't stop looking at the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logie644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you logie644 for your lovely 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn! The team and I are delighted that you had a wonderful surprise visit to Edinburgh. We are thrilled you found the team helpful, and their local transport recommendations got you safely to Murrayfield to enjoy the rugby! The views over the Firth of Forth are spectacular and we are very fortunate to be able to offer these to our guests. I am pleased you appreciated them, and you are correct - in the summer the views are gorgeous! You will need to come back and check them out when we have better weather. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed at Leith Waterfront for 2 nights last week. The hotel is clean and friendly. A typical Premier Inn.

Buses run every 10 minutes to Edinburgh and the stop is just outside the Hotel. The journey takes about 20 minutes and drops you off right in the City Centre.

Disappointed in the Brewers Inn next door. The food not brilliant. Would recommend that if a decent meal is required travel further afield than next door.

Overall if you are looking for a budget stay to Edinburgh this Premier Inn does the job.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtraveller186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you Rtraveller186334 for reviewing your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the poor quality of food you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up at our next management meeting. The team and I are delighted you found the hotel clean, friendly, and in a convenient location for visiting Edinburgh’s many tourist attractions. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in a few Premier Inn's I did not hesitate to book this one at the Leith waterfront for a 2 night stay in Edinburgh to celebrate my Husband's birthday.
We were welcomed promptly and courteously at the front desk and were checked in without problem. We were given room 246 (only 249 rooms in hotel) so we were in a very quiet location. Suited us fine. On 2 occasions the lift was broken so it meant a bit of a trek for us to get through the hotel but that is only a very minor point.
Getting into Edinburgh is easy as there is a bus stop right outside the hotel (number 10) which takes you right into the centre or you can walk a little but further and get bus numbers 11 or 16. The buses are great and the drivers are very informative. They go directly to princes street, the mound etc.
Next to the premier inn there is a brewers fayre which looked busy but we never ventured in (lots of kids). We ate out everywhere for our meals including breakfast but the breakfast selection in the hotel sounded good.
All in all I would encourage people to use the premier inn as I know they will have an enjoyable stay like we had.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HayMo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing