We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good when not being used as a youth hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I love the Premier Inns. You get what you pay for and actually a lot more. However, i have been in several Premier Inns and on two occasions there has been a problem with groups. In London and in Edinburgh. On both occasions I was very cross because suddenly there was a youth hostel atmosphere that I actually hadn't booked. In Edinburgh it was really bad when a large group of under 11year olds stayed overnight. I myself work with kids and also have three of my own but when I go on holiday and book a three star hotel I don't expect to suddenly be in a youth hostel and this is exactly what happened to us at the weekend in Edinburgh and in October in London.
The restaurant was extremely overcrowded, loud really not very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you Nicola D for taking the time to review your stay with us at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I am terribly sorry that the visiting group had a negative impact on your visit on this occasion. At Leith we do not get many touring groups and this was an occasional one off. The reception team work very hard with the few group bookings that we get. They allocate all group rooms together, and at the start of our corridors wherever possible to ensure the least disruption for our other guests. When dinner or lunch is booked we are usually aware of times the group will be dining and can advise our guests so they can choose to dine earlier or later. It is possible the group decided to dine last minute in the restaurant and did not book this through reception, so we could not advise our guests. I am terribly sorry about this, and would like to assure you, that in Edinburgh this was a one off visit. Should you wish to discuss any of this further I would be happy to. I can be contacted on opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com I hope this does not put you entirely off Premier Inn and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good Location, quiet, plenty of parking and generally pleasant. Used the hotel as a base to look at Edinburgh and surrounding area. It was a bank holiday weekend but despite this the standard never dropped.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you Gee P for your lovely 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us over the bank holiday weekend and you felt we maintained our standards despite the busy period. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon for another excellent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Will stay here again and again you can't beat it the buses into town are every 10 minutes the food was excellent The play area for the kids could be better but my boy who is 7 wants to go back very soon as do i

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you Charles T for taking the time to review your stay with us at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I will share your kind comments with the restaurant team, who will be pleased you enjoyed their food and the children’s play area. The team are thrilled to know you enjoyed your break with us and can’t wait to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Waking up to a view of the sun on the harbour and then remembering that this room cost £29 brings a smile to my face. Staff were friendly and helpful. I arrived at 3.00pm on Thurs having spoken to Stuart on the phone and requested a room on the top floor facing the water to find I'd been allocated a room on the bottom floor facing the car park!!! John was on duty and quickly rearranged the room allocation - thank you the sea view made my stay.

Following on from reviews I kept away from the Brewers Fayre and eat at Prezze which is a 2 minute walk and has a brilliant view of the harbour. Even better I did a search on my phone and got a voucher deal!!!

Easy bus ride into Edinburgh. Would happily use this Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loll007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you Loll007 for your wonderful 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I am pleased that John was able to secure one of our highly sought after sea view rooms for you. The views can be spectacular, and we are delighted you appreciated them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel in a family room - my 3rd visit to a different Premier Inn and loving it!

Booked in advance & got the £29 per room per night rate - which you just can't fault. Reception staff were very helpful upon our arrival, room wasn't ready & the receptionist went out of her way to get us a room within the next 10 mins, which was great. Love the fact that no matter which city you're in, you can always expect the same standard of room cleanliness and comfort. Love the extra pillows, minimal style, great plasma tv, power shower and easily dispensed soap/shower gel. Free parking was a bonus too!

Room staff kept checking we had everything we needed - very polite & cheery - always had a smile & a hello for you :)

Prebooked breakfast (£8.25 + kids eat free) as we knew what to expect & wasn't disappointed! Open hot/cold breakfast buffet where you can eat as much as you like. But my favourite is the Costa Coffee machine - lattee's are brilliant!

Premier Inn really have got their product offering down to a fine art. Bedrooms are kept minimal but functional and are spotlessly clean. Combined with being next to a Brewers Fayre makes dining and having a drink (without worrying about driving back to the hotel) a lovely experience.

Can highly recommend Premier Inn Leith (Asda within walking distance for anything you've forgotton). It's close enough to Edinburgh City Centre - but far enough away to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a double/twin + single bed and are quite spacious. We stayed in Room 226 which ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammydodger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you jammylodgers63 for taking the time to review your stay with us.
The team and I are delighted that you and your family had another enjoyable stay with Premier Inn. We are pleased that we met your expectations. The housekeeping team are proud that you found our rooms spotlessy clean. I will share your comments with the team in the Brewers Fayre, who will be happy to know that your family enjoyed Premier Breakfast and your favourite - Costa Coffee machine.
Thank you for recommending Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Wonderful Premier Inn, very efficient friendly staff, we had a lovely sea view room it was very peaceful and the room was big light and airy, ver clean. Good public transport with the bus stop just outside and buses running regularly, in all a most enjoyable trip., would definitely return.

Room Tip: room 211, ocean view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you Suzan64_13 for your lovely 5 star review!
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeeping team do their absolute best to ensure that our rooms are cleaned to the very highest standard. The team and I are happy to know you found them very efficient and friendly.
We are delighted to know you would definitely return to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

ideal base for visiting Edinburgh, bus stop outside takes you into city for £1.50 but be aware exact change is needed. Great views from hotel rooms. Staff very helpful - got phone number for us for restaurant to accommodate 17 people at short notice. Just 10 mins walk to Ocean Terminal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you Debbie P for taking the time to review your stay with us!
We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and our location suited your needs. The local bus service is very reliable for heading into the city centre. The team and I are thrilled you found them helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing