We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I needed whilst moving.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exactly what I needed whilst moving.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This Premier Inn is one of the best I have stayed in. I recently used it whilst moving home in the area. The staff are attentive and happy to help.
There are plenty of great eateries in the area and within walking distance of Ocean Terminal. Another bonus is the locality to David Lloyds.
Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you Gavin B for taking the time to review your stay at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn.
The entire team is delighted that you found our hotel one of the best Premier Inns you have stayed in. We are pleased to know that you really enjoyed our location.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    595
    139
    48
    21
See reviews for
521
764
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Newly-opened, this Premier Inn does exactly what it says on the tin. Well positioned and surrounded by some good eateries, this hotel is good value for money and comfortable. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Reprint for taking the time to review your stay at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The Team and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and we met your expectations of Premier Inn. We are pleased you found the hotel good value for money and the rooms were lovely and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent settings, peaceful as I always expect and get from a premier inn but on this occasion found the heating not working to its potential i.e. Too hot/too cold and pillows too hard and not given a choice of soft, medium or firm which I have been given in other premier inns, I was too tired to go back down to complain or to wait for other pillows to arrive or have someone in my room playing about with heating so didn't bother so can't say whether it could've been sorted or not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorecatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you adorecatering for reviewing your stay at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not find everything up to scratch in your room. Reception is available 24 hours a day and had you mentioned these issues we would have made every effort to resolve them for you. Our firm pillows are always placed on the bed, with the softer pillows stored in the wardrobe should you wish to make use of either option. Additional pillows are also available from reception, should 4 prove an insufficient number. If you wish to contact me directly I can be reached on opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com and will be happy to investigate the heating in the room you were allocated to ensure maintenance have resolved this. I am pleased to note you really enjoyed our location and surroundings. Our close proximity to the water offers some fantastic views and can have an additional calming effect. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very comfortable stay, close to Edinburgh but far enough away to be more peaceful. Very good value for our stay just a shame the e restaurants excellent offers didn't apply during our stay but the food was very good and breakfast is worth the cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Claire A for your lovely 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn! The team and I are delighted to learn you had a very comfortable and peaceful stay with us. The team in the restaurant will be pleased to know you found their food very good and thoroughly enjoyed breakfast – it really is great value for money! We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a short overnight stay in hotel during which time the staff provided excellent friendly service , and would recommend the hotel to anyone who may be thinking about going and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you Edward O for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team are thrilled to know you thought they provided excellent friendly service and would happily recommend our hotel to everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

would recomend this hotel, room, staff, location, service, first class lots of places to eat close by, ocean terminal shoping mall 5 min on no 11 bus Asda 24 hrs next door
did not eat at hotel very busy lots of children (dont have anything against children) just like to eat a bit more formal, but you couldnt beat the price for food in resturant (two meals for £10, two deserts for £2.50)

no 10 bus outside hotel right into edinburgh centre in 15 min edinburgh bus service one of best in uk

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you John O for taking the time to write such a lovely 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and would recommend our hotel to everyone. We are pleased you found our bedrooms and the team first class, in addition to our location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Leith Waterfront and Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had forgotten how bad the road surfaces are in and around Edinburgh, but having arrived we were delighted to find the location of this Premier Inn right on the waterfront. The hotel is what you expect, clean comfortable and modern, friendly efficient and helpful staff. It was the Easter Weekend and when we went to the Brewers Fare it was extremely busy and noisey with visiting families enjoying the break. The ability to step outside and stretch ones legs along the waterfront is a bonus. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel entrance and for £3.50 one can purchase a day travel ticket which will allow travel throughout the Edinburgh area, but I wonder how often Lothian Buses have to replace the suspensions on their vehicles. Be prepaired for a bumpy ride. It is about a 20 min. ride into Princes Street, and behold ----- the new trams were being tested prior to them coming into service, supposedly in May 2014 --- watch this space for that one. My final comment relates to the temperature in our room ------ WE WERE COOKED with all the heating turned off and the window, (which had a limited opening), left open all night. The room temperature never fell below 23C --- the duvet finished on the floor.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms are on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Anthony W for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I would like to extend my deepest apologies that you found the room really hot. All our radiators are on timers to provide a comfortable temperature for our guests throughout their stay. Now that we are moving into the warmer months these settings will be adjusted to compensate for the change in weather. It is our focus for the next few days.
The team and I are delighted that you found the room comfortable and modern and the staff - efficient and helpful. We are really happy you enjoyed the location of our hotel right on the waterfront.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
7.9 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,852 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing