We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$1,032
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$144
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$286
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$193
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Malmaison Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,930)
Filter reviews
1,930 results
Traveller rating
996
679
171
54
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
996
679
171
54
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrewers fayreocean terminalsea viewcity centreloch fynenumber busthe royal yacht britanniabus stopday ticketbus servicefamily roomroom was spotlessprinces streetshort breakquiet locationgood nights sleepcomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,349 - 1,354 of 1,930 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely location overlooking harbour.Recommend a room which does overlook the harbour.Handy for bus direct into town as well as Brittania and Ocean Terminal.The staff are very efficient,helpful and friendly.We had a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWTHOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you DWTHOban for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team are delighted you found them very friendly, helpful and efficient. We are pleased you appreciated the wonderful views overlooking the harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've always used Premiere Inns as stop overs on long journeys and they've always been a good experience apart from this one.

Our advice is to check in very early or book over the phone early and make sure you get a room well away from reception entrance or prepare for no sleep. Ask for sea view which are at the back overlooking the Firth of The Forth. Sadly we never got that even though we booked well in advance................

Hotel in clean and tidy and staff helpful - but it's layout doesn't work.

We stayed Saturday night and room faced entrance/car park and was very warm so opened windows and faced a brick wall. We heard every taxi drop off or collecting for town all evening long even after we'd shut the windows. We heard those return from night out at 3.30 am!!!! Taxi doors slamming and loud voices and then their rooms doors banging shut. Noisy people above us stomping around made for no sleep at all. Perhaps it was a one off but..................

Premiere Inn are aware of our comments and true to word refunded our stay.

It's first we've stayed at that had a noisy reception area with buildings around accentuating the noise..................

We will now thing twice about using the chain

Room Tip: Book early - ask for sea view and on top floor!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warlows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you Warlow for your review of Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I am truly sorry that your stay did not meet the expectations of our brand. Your comments left at check out, and on Trip Advisor have been insightful. After our communication I shared your feedback with our head office. May I suggest contacting the hotel prior to arrival to request a quiet room away from reception? Prior notice for such requests help the team tremendously, as they can pre-allocate rooms the day before your arrival. I am sorry we let you down, but pleased to note you appreciated the Good Night Guarantee. It is a unique pledge, and one I am proud we offer, as unfortunately there are occasions where we do not get things right. Your feedback has been very helpful and actioned. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good free parking. Good bus services into Edinburgh City centre. Good breakfast. Being off the main road it was very quiet. Being beside Newhaven harbour and the Firth of Forth it was pleasant outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you Alan S for taking the time to review your stay with Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted you found the hotel very quiet, and enjoyed the views and atmosphere of Newhaven harbour and the Firth of Forth. I will share your kind comments with the restaurant team, who will be happy to know you enjoyed our all you can eat breakfast. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had 2 rooms booked for 1 night - quite close to Edinburgh Waverley station (10 GBP for a 1 way journey by taxi). Rooms were very basic - in fact the bath tub looked old & tired. The exhaust made a loud noise - in 1 room the temperature control worked fine in the other it would not go above 23deg. I did not have the time to explore the surroundings since we landed at night but guess it was nice. The person at the reception had no smile on her face. I was asked to check in at a Kiosk - the first i have ever seen at the 10+ Premier Inns I've stayed at in the UK. Not sure if it reduced the check in time?
I was able to get the rooms at the base minimum price & hence it was vakue for money - would not have been the case otherwise!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floyd_g23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you floyd_g23 for reviewing your stay at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. As a budget hotel chain our rooms focus on providing the basic requirements a guest may need when staying away from home. All our product and furnishings are, however, of an extremely high quality and standard. I apologise that the heating in one of your rooms was not working to your satisfaction. If you let me know your room numbers I will investigate the issues you mentioned. Our kiosks are a new check in facility, installed in new hotels or hotels that have recently been refurbished. Leith Waterfront was fully refurbished in 2012, with the new reception installed at the same time. If you are not happy using the kiosk please do let a member of the team know – they will be happy to check you in via conventional check in method. If you have pre-paid for your booking it can shorten the check in process, however, we do realise that this method is not for everyone. Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you found the hotel good value for money and hope you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. Should you wish to contact me directly to discuss your feedback in more detail I can be reached on opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com. I would be happy to hear from you. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nothing different than every other Premier Inn. Good value, clean, comfortable & a great waterfront location. Reception staff provided excellent friendly service & really went out of their way to welcome us on arrival.

No facility to cool (just heat) the rooms meant a rather stuffy sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watford_UKNortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you Watford_UKNortherner for taking the time to review your stay with us at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I apologise that we do not have air conditioning in our hotel. All our rooms are equipped with fans, and there are always additional available from reception. The team are also happy to provide additional sheets instead of the warmer duvet cover to help make your stay more comfortable. We are delighted you found our hotel good value, and enjoyed our waterfront location. We are thrilled you found our rooms clean and comfortable, and the team very welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews