We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #40 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Akureyri, Iceland
1 review
“Good stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good and helpful staff clean rooms. I liked the location at the Waterfront it was easy to take the bus into town center and there are some good restaurants in the neighborhood, in Leith. Good value of money.



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herdisalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Herdisalberta,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted you had a good stay with us. The team are proud you found them helpful and the rooms were nice and clean. Our Waterfront location is lovely and tranquil, yet within easy reach of the city centre, as you noted. We are pleased you found your stay was good value for money, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    603
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
523
774
49
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a noise issue in the night and went down to reception, looked through the door and nobody about (3am). Woken again at 5:30am and decided just to get up as the kids had been woken. Went down to reception and complained to the night staff. The oldish man on duty said he couldn't do anything as he went to the room the noise was coming from and he said they went to bed at 11pm. In his next breath, he said the people in the room came downstairs for a cigarette about 6 times though the night. This to me would confirm the noise coming from the door banging and walking up and down the room etc. As we are staying another night, I asked if we could swap rooms and he said no we are full. Another man that came along said that he would refund the night stay and swap rooms for us and get the manager to get in touch during the day. No call from a manager and no room swap. As I am doing this review, the noise has started. Another crap night sleep and a long drive home tomorrow. NOT GOOD

Room Tip: Some rooms do have a sea view if your lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Keiran F

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am really sorry we disappointed you, and did not deliver your expectations of a good night’s sleep. Your feedback is highly valuable as it allows us to monitor our standards and make adjustments where necessary.

Our reception team are available 24 hours a day, and carry out regular floor walks to maintain the safety and security of the building throughout the night. Whilst they may not have been visible when you first popped down to reception, they do carry pagers that they respond to immediately to assist our guests. I apologise that this was not clearly communicated.

Please rest assured that I will conduct a full investigation into your feedback with the team members on duty to ensure circumstances such as yours does not happen again.

I am truly sorry we let you down on this occasion.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very good for a cheaper alternative to the center of Edinburgh
Very good bus links into Edinburgh £3.50 for all day busing
We caught the tram from the airport which stops just by bus stop to Hotel.
Asda 5 mins away, other restaurants within 15 minute walk

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lorna E

Thank you for your review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found we were a great cheaper alternative to the city centre.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We travelled to Edinburgh for our anniversary break this year. We had originally booked a hotel near the zoo but decided that we wanted to be out of town. Leith was perfect. Our room faced the sea in the harbour area and the view was wonderful.

EVERY member of staff greeted us with a smile and were more than helpful with any information we needed.

The buses that take you to the city centre are quick and frequent from multiple nearby stops. There are some nice restaurants on the harbour front, including a Loch Fyne. There is also a 24 Asda very close to the hotel.

Stay here if you want to be away from the commotion of the city but near enough to partake at your leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea / harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Christopher S

We are thrilled you had a fantastic break whilst staying with us during your visit to Edinburgh. The team and I are thrilled you really enjoyed our location, and the fantastic views of the sea. We are delighted you found everyone helpful and friendly, and they had all the information you needed. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and giving Edinburgh Leith Waterfront a 5 star rating. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a good hotel on the edge of Edinburgh. We had a room facing the water. We asked for that and they were happy to oblige. Room was very good. Staff were super. From arriving to leaving they were most helpful;. Even ringing a taxi to take us into the city. Could not fault them one bit.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you want a water front view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianb2goole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ianb2goole

Thank you for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn! The team and I think you managed to get some lovely photographs! They really capture the tranquillity down by the harbour. We are thrilled you found our bedrooms very good and the team were most helpful. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and we are delighted this rang true for you.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed for a few nights at this hotel for a city break in Edinburgh. Staff we're lovely and really helpful even at 5.30 am when ordering a taxi for the airport. Room was spacious and clean each day and the option to have fresh towels daily. Great TV in room ideal for the start of the World Cup. Great view of the waterfront from our hotel and very quiet night and day. We had breakfast each day in the adjoining restaurant great value and wide selection we also had dinner there one night value for money but menu limited. Short walk to the bus stop which takes you into the town and can buy a day ticket for £3.50 each much much cheaper than at home in London journey roughly around 20 mins and regular service. We ate at loch fyne one evening really nice food if you like fish and a pleasant experience there is also a prezzo just outside for another option. Asda is also very nearby if you need a supermarket for snacks/toiletries. Taxi roughly around 30 mins to the airport for about £23. Leith is also very nice to explore and ocean terminal a short walk shopping complex cinema and more restaurants. All over pleasant stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Julia R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted you had a great stay with us. The team are particularly pleased you found them lovely and helpful. It’s great to know you found the room spacious, clean and you appreciated the option of fresh towels daily. I’m thrilled we were able to give you a room overlooking the Firth of Forth, and you had enjoyable dining experiences in the Brewer’s Fayre. Our location is lovely, and there are lots of local amenities nearby. Thank you so much for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regrds,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A group of us stayed here in June whilst attending a wedding. The rooms were spacious, bed comfortable & the food excellent & well priced for families. A bus service runs from opposite the hotel to the city centre. Asda was 5 mins walk away & a great shopping centre was 5 mins drive. We would definitely return here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Covey-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Covey-61

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted you found the rooms spacious, the bed comfortable and the food excellent. We are thrilled you found your stay excellent family value, and the local bus service was handy getting you into town. We are pleased you will be back to visit us in the future and look forward to seeing you again for another great night's sleep.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing