We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A great location only a couple of miles from edinburgh city centre with a bus stop just across the road ( although we weren't forewarned the buses only take exact change ). Right by the sea with a couple of good quality restaurants literally a stone 's throw away.

Our request to be moved from a ground floor family room was dealt with immediately and without a problem. Huge family room on the second floor and no noise at all despite the fact this is clearly a busy hotel.

Free car parking. Nice staff. Good value breakfast although the pub needs to clean up around the exterior .

Very good value for money and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Jasgalore,

Thank you very much for your lovely 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. I will share your comments with the restaurant team at our next management meeting for us to action. I am delighted you found our Premier Breakfast good value for money, and know the breakfast team will be happy too.

I am pleased you found the team friendly, helpful, and accommodating with your request for a room move, and this room was nice and quiet.

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon for another great stay.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent three nights here and was very impressed with the location. Our room had a lovely view over the harbour and the waterfront. We parked the car the first day and didn't use it again until we left. The bus stopped right outside the hotel and took you into Edinburgh in about 20 mins. The pub restaurant attached was reasonably good for food and The Royal Yacht Britannia with its shopping centre and a variety of restaurants were an easy 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear JulesG55

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn.

The restaurant team are happy you found their dinner offerings good. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our waterfront location. The views over the Firth of Forth are stunning and we are delighted you enjoyed these. The free parking on site makes us a cheaper alternative to the city centre, and the local buses, as you noted, take you into town quickly and cheaply – for just £1.50 per journey. The Yacht Britannia is a great day out and a good alternative to the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Normally we're completely delighted by Premier Inns. But this one leaves us with a small difficulty.

The hotel's location is great - good parking and local services and handy for getting here from the A1. The bus service into Edinburgh is excellent and from just outside the door. The staff are well up to Premier's usual standard - excellent service as always, from nice people. And the legendary beds are here too. There are also some lovely views up the firth to the Forth Bridges and some interesting harbour walks too.

This is a busy place - it appears to be popular for stag and hen groups - so there's a lot of coming and going along the corridors. Our night's sleep, once everything had quietened down for the night, was fine. However, and this was the surprising bit, the build quality of the hotel lets it down. The individual temperature control for the room (it's supposed it incorporate cooling and heating) didn't work. A heater had been installed in the room and a fan had been provided, but it was disappointing - we wouldn't like to be here on a hot night. Similarly disappointing was that the floor creaked - as did the one upstairs from us. Not a problem overnight, but annoying during the afternoon. We could also hear conversations from adjoining rooms. That's really surprising for a Premier Inn where the buildings, in our experience, are generally faultless.

Having said all that, this is a great place to stay and we will return - we'd ask for an upstairs room though!

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs and facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Ian N

Thank you for your review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn.

I am sorry to note you found the temperature controls in your room did not work, and were unclear. These controls are for heating only; unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our hotel, which is why there are fans provided in our bedrooms. I will look at the instructions we have in our rooms to see where we can improve, and make this clearer. If you let me know your room number I will also pass this onto our maintenance team to resolve, and ensure the controls are in working order.

I am also surprised that you heard noise from the corridor floorboards. We recently had these replaced. As a direct result of your comments I will get in touch with the contractors who completed this work to rectify.

I am pleased that despite the high volume of guests in the hotel you found your stay quiet, and we lived up to our guarantee of a good night’s sleep. The team are delighted you found them nice and friendly, and met your expectations of our high standards. The housekeeping team are particularly proud you found the bed legendary, and loved the views over the Firth of Forth.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and couldn't have wished for more, lovely location, great staff, spotless rooms, good food at the pub next door, No.10 bus running from directly outside into Edinburgh.
With the price of parking a car in Edinburgh being so high staying a short bus ride out of the city in such a lovely location with free parking makes this a no brainer. The good night's sleep policy also makes this an even better option but there is little to worry about as the place was very quiet but the Brewer's Fayre pub next door was lively enough if staying local, well worth paying for the breakfast..The quayside immediately outside the hotel door has a couple of nice restaurants on it and the Harbour Inn was a nice place for a pint.

Room Tip: Maybe one not overlooking the car park or pub but to be fair mine did and it wasn't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Gary M,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. The team and I are delighted you had everything you could have needed, and the team made you feel welcome and looked after. The free parking at the hotel is an added bonus, and it’s great that this made your stay with us more convenient.

We are pleased your room was spotless and quiet, the food in the restaurant was good, and you enjoyed our lovely location.

If you would prefer a sea view room on your next visit, please contact us in advance to request this, and we will try our best to arrange this for you. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in The Premier Inn for one night while visiting Edinburgh for an Investiture at HollyRood Palace.
Friendly staff , spotlessly clean rooms , comfortable beds , and first class breakfast.
We even got the use of a room on returning to change in .
A special mention for Andy at reception who could not do enough for us and is a credit to Premier Inns.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DDS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear DDS23,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn.
The team and I are over the moon that you found our hotel better than many 4 star hotels you have visited. We hope you had an excellent time at Holyrood Palace.

Andy will be delighted at his special mention – thank you! He works very hard to look after all our guests, and I am thrilled he made you feel welcome. The housekeeping team are pleased your room was spotless and the bed nice and comfortable.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

For budget/value accommodation you can't get any better really. Rooms were spotless, bed comfortable, a fan in the room as they are obviously aware the rooms get hot and you can't open the window very far. Great parking facilities right outside the hotel.

We didnt partake of the Brewers Fayre breakfast offering, to be told that breakfast was finishing in 15 minutes and all that was left was it, doesnt really make you want to pay full price for an egg thats been sitting there for the past hour.

Leith is a bit of a wasteland to be honest but the number 10 bus takes you right into town and is opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie-Fenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Katie-Fenton,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. Thank you for your comments surrounding breakfast. I will pass these onto the restaurant general manager at our next meeting, where we will focus on, and resolve the situation you experienced. This feedback is really important, as it allows us to continually monitor our standards, and maintain our guests expectations.

We are thrilled you found the hotel accommodation was excellent value. The housekeeping team are proud that you found our rooms spotless, the bed comfortable and you appreciated the fan in the room to help keep the room cool. We are also happy to provide additional sheets rather than the warmer duvet, if you so require.

Leith is a developing suburb of Edinburgh, and for those that are happy to venture further along to the foot of Leith walk there are a variety of restaurants, shops and scenic walks along the canal.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Prmeier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I can honestly say that this hotel was one of the cleanest I have ever been in. The rooms were immaculate and everything was nice and fresh. Comfy bed, spacious room, decent size tv with good reception. The staff were very friendly never walked past you without acknowledgement. Very good bus service even late into the night to and from the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear MrsNom,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn. We are thrilled you had an excellent stay with us!

The housekeeping team will be delighted to learn you found our hotel one of the cleanest you have ever stayed in. They work very hard to maintain our high standards, and it is rewarding to know you appreciate their efforts. We are pleased you found every team member friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,


Bronagh
Opsmgr.edinburghleith@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing