We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stop before home....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Last stop before home....”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Having travelled up, across and down the coast of Scotland, we booked into the Premier Inn, an absolutely lovely,, friendly, warm welcome..
Cost of room was higher but it was Festival week..
The room was spotless, free half hour wifi, 24hr wifi at a cost of only £3..
Hot water at any time of the day (bonus considering other "posh" hotels never have it)
Didn't try the restaurant as we went for a walk and found a perfect quaint establishment called 'Old Chain Pier' 5min walk,,,, beautiful food, lovely welcoming owners and great entertainment..
Enjoyed our 2day stay that much we've book for 2nights Dec 27/28th

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    595
    139
    48
    21
See reviews for
521
764
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in for a night to stay while seeing the tattoo. The hotel is in a quiet location a short bus ride from the city centre. The rooms are clean and comfy the staff friendly and helpful. We will certainly use this hotel again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel is conveniently located in the harbor near the Ocean Terminal. Great hotel, great views ! Easy and accessible bus rides to the city center. Walking distance to Asda supermarket. Great staff, comfortable rooms! Will definitely recommend to friends!


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALivingst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had real difficulty finding somewhere suitable for our 2 night break in Edinburgh as it was the Tattoo and Fringe festival - place was crowded! Eventually decided on the premier in at Leith as it was near the Royal Yacht Britannia which we wanted to see. Can you believe they charged us £149 for the Saturday night and £93 for the Sunday - what happened to the £29 per night as advertised on TV ????????????
Ignoring the rip off prices - all the hotels in the area were doing it, the Premier Inn was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, the place was spotless and the rooms likewise. We had a great sea view from our room and it was quiet - despite the fact the hotel was nearly full.
Downside? Hotel nothing, restaurant diabolical. Now I know that the hotel manager, in reply to restaurant criticism always tries to distance himself from the independently managed food side but I'm sorry but you can't - both are owned by the same company and the hotel sells the meal deals. The restaurant was filthy with food bits all over the floor - some still there in the morning at breakfast!! Kids running all over the place with no effort made to segregate one area off for those that wanted more peaceful dining. The evening meal was average at best - I had the mixed grill and you could have soled your shoes with the steak and the chips had been kept warm - all served with limp 'salad'.
Breakfast was better as we were down fairly early so the eggs etc were fresh and there was a good selection to choose from. It would have been better if the tea, coffee and toast had been served but literally every little thing was self service.
Having paid in advance for the meal deal we couldn't then eat out unfortunately otherwise we would have done, as the Ocean Terminal is not far away and has restaurants in there.
Its about time Premier Inn sorted the food side out as it is definitely pulling the hotel side reputation down in many instances and I speak from experience having stayed in many PI's over the years on business. The only good ones that you can be sure of are those next to TGI's outlets!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room and don't book the food in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Convenient location with lots of parking and easy bus journey into the centre of Edinburgh. There is a Brewers Fayre restaurant attached which had good breakfasts and choice of foods. However 2 minutes walk away there is a great fish restaurant called Loch Fyne which is highly recommended. Great staff and comfy bed! Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The rooms were good and clean and the staff could not have been more helpful sorting out a mistake we had made with the booking. A good cheaper option from which to visit the fringe. Clean, friendly and a good night's sleep.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were staying to discover Edinburgh for two days. The place is not so far to go in center : ten minutes by car. Place is quiet, welcoming and safe. We had a lovely breakfast. The bar is quaint and we slept very well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
7.9 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,852 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing