We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #28 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Used this hotel as a basis for a trip to Edinburgh. Across the road from the station and regular trains into the city centre. Staff were lovely, with great knowledge of the area and transport links.

The bed was a bit hard (something I have found in other Premier Inns) but when I mentioned this to the staff, they arranged for extra pillows and additional bedding between the sheet and the mattress to soften things up.

We didn't have the breakfast on this occasion, so can't comment on it. Have had it on other occasions at other Premier Inns and it was fine.

Room Tip: Other people have mentioned that trains go round the back of the hotel. They do, but we had a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn

I am so glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and found the location so accessible.
Thank you so much for your kind words on our staff. I will ensure these are past on accordingly.

We would love to have you as our guests again!

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    160
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
199
198
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel is situated 'out of town' but very near the Fort Kinnaird shopping centre. Just across the road from Newcraighall station it is ideally placed for the 'park and train ride' service to Edinburgh Waverley (watch the times though as the trains only run every half hour or so). Very clean and comfortable it was slightly better than other Premier Lodges we have stayed in. Little touches like the curved shower curtains and hooks in the bathroom, airconditioning unit and extra big bed. Meals at the pub next door were good value and service was excellent. All in all the best Premier Inn stay we have had and better than the 4 star hotel we stayed in in Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be so clean & comfortable.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we we love to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Easy car parking easy check in and out
breakfasts bit pricey

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inder1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn.

Glad to find you liked the easy check in/out at the reception and you enjoyed the Peroni next door.

Hopefully you can join us again soon!

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Visited with friends for a day at Musselburgh races. Easy to find, just off the A1.
Standard Premier double room, clean and tidy with a King sized bed, very comfortable.
Management provided extra desk fans due to warm weather, but the air-con in the room did the job.
Rooms either face the front car park, or rail lines at the rear.
We had a rear facing room on the 2nd floor and, being a Sunday, no early trains to wake us up.Ground floor rear rooms suffer some early train noise though.
Full cooked breakfast in the adjoining Cuddy Brae pub was pre-booked ( £8 each), seems expensive, but operates as an "all you can eat" and really did set us up for the day.
Being in Scotland, porridge also available as well as continental breakfast option (£6 each).
Had an evening meal with our friends here, all had main course, desserts, with 2 bottles of wine and quite a few beers.Large menu, good selection, and we all enjoyed the food.
Cost about £60 per couple.
All in all, a pleasant nights stay and from what we saw of transport links, ideal for Edinburgh with railway station just over the road.Frequent trains, journey time 10 mins to Waverley Station.
Also had 4 winners at the races, so a great time had by all !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maturetrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn Hotel & attached Restauant.

Im glad to hear that we managed to keep you cool during the hot weather spell & that you enjoyed the breakfast & food in the attached restaurant.

Well done on the win at musselburgh races! Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was one of the few hotels with reasonably priced rooms available when we got around to booking our stay for the fringe festival. We were really happy with the hotel room. It was reasonably sized, clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

As for getting to and from the hotel, it was a little more trickly than we had throught. Having read the other reviews on trip advisor we were aware that this hotel was a little way out of town but was close to a train station. Actually, the hotel is just across the road from the train station, which is perfect on the days and times that trains run. The trains run once every half an hour on weekdays and Saturdays. It takes about 10 minutes to get to Newcraighall from Waverly (the main station in Edinburgh), which is great.

However, if you're planning to stay in town late or stay around on a Sunday, the following information might also be useful. The last train leaves well before midnight. After that there are night buses, which run once an hour. These buses run right past the front of the hotel. Please note that the buses only take exact fares.

On Sundays the trains to Newcraighall do not run. However, there are buses that leave every 10 minutes, from a bus stop about 100m down the road from the hotel. These buses take about half an hour to get into town.

Failing buses and trains, taxis cost about 10-15 pounds from the centre of Edinburgh to the front door of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during the Edinburgh Festival & we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here as a family to see Edinburgh Tattoo. This hotel is in a great location with a train station directly across the road. 10 minute train journey to Edinburgh. A massive thank you to the member of staff who greeted us a 11.30 pm on Wednesday 24th. He was great, giving us train timetables etc. A great asset to this hotel. My only complaint would be the area which serves breakfast. It seemed a little dirty at times and the coffee and hot water were cold on both mornings, but food was great. Would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizG070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel & attached Restaurant

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh & enjoyed the Edinburgh festival.

You comments regarding out team member Adam have been passed on & he is more that happy he could have helped out on this occasion.

Within regards to your comments on the attached restaurant, I would like to apologise on behalf of The Cuddie Brae, you comments have been passed on to there management team.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during the Edinburgh Festival & we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have just returned from a fabulous trip to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. As anticipated the price of hotels in the centre of Edinburgh had been inflated massively, so I decided to look slightly further afield. I found the Newcraighall Premier Inn only a few miles out of town. The reviews on here seemed positive. Of particular note was the close-by train station.
The price had been inflated beyond usual premier inn levels but it proved to be well worth it.
We arrived late in the evening to be met by Adam, who could not have been more helpful. His manner was fabulous and we stayed and chatted with him for a while, just to be friendly. He told us all we could want to know about the Hotel, where to eat, train times, maps, taxi prices etc etc marvellous! I will be writing to his managers to tell them too.
The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, including our own and the room, despite being on the basic side was spotless and well maintained.
With a 10 minute train ride into Edinburgh Waverley at the heart of the festival for £3.50 return (as compared to a £22 parking fee the day before), from a station 2 minutes from the hotel, what more can you ask for!!
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackpool_Big_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh & enjoyed the festival.

You comments regarding out team member Adam have been passed on & he is more that happy he could have helped.
I am happy to hear you found our beds to be so comfortable & our location so easy for access the city.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during the Edinburgh Festival & we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing