We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Base for Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Premier Inn was ideal though did lack some of the little touches that the newer ones have such as a heated towel rail. The staff (especially Mikey on reception) were very helpful and even print out train times for you. There is some road noise from the nearby A1 but this is minimal and did not disturb us at all. There is a main train line at the back but people we spoke to said this was not a problem. In so far as the Premier Inn is concerned the only slight concern was car parking. The car park is vast but the bit straight outside the inn is used by people attending the fitness centre next door (even though that has it's own car park) and so sometimes your car ended up being parked out of sight - the management should restrict the car park to hotel users only. Whilst the premier inn was good the restaurant next door was the worst we have ever experienced. Most of the staff were unfriendly and the place was decorated in very dark colours with dark furniture which made it seem gloomy. Basic items such as crossiants were limited each day and the staff hesitant about heating up more. The coffee was usually cold and for the final two mornings we took the advice of other contributors and ate elsewhere. In the evening would strongly suggest the short drive to Luca's Ice Cream Parlour in nearby Musselbrough which was great. There is a train station just over the road and the trip into Edinburgh was only about 15 minutes for £3.70 return so use this rather than drive in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front rather than the back which overlooks the main railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidwesties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn, Edinburgh, A1, Newcraighall for your very kind and constructive comments about our hotel. Guest feedback is important when it comes to ensuring the best quality of service for our guests.

Your comments will also be passed to the Cuddie Brae next door and we hope we can look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights 15th 16th May. Excellent room and staff. All staff very friendly and cheery. We had 2 very good evening meals in 'pub' (Cuddie Brae) next door. We would highly recommend this Premier Inn. Full marks all round.

Room Tip: Room was next to car park, did not hear a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn, Edinburgh, A1, Newcraighall for your fantastic review of our hotel, your feedback is very important to Premier Inn and ensures we can deliver the best experience for our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night 10 april room very nice clean and warm b/fast really good ,mikey was really nice and made us feel at home will be back

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn, Edinburgh, A1, Newcraighall for your review of our hotel, your feedback is very important to us.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Premier Inn is opposite the massive Fort Kinnaird retail park, with large branches of high street stores. The Inn itself is on a main road but well-double glazed so noise was not an issue.

There is a restaurant attached, with a good range of food, and I also ate at an Indian in nearby Portobello.

The Inn is close to the A1 and A720 Edinburgh bypass so is a great location for those travelling to Edinburgh or through.

My favourite thing about staying here is being able to go shopping after a day at work/long drive to Scotland!

Room Tip: There is a lift to rooms on the first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) for your great review of our hotel, your feedback is crucial in ensuring we at the Premier Inn can deliver the best experience for our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found the time to do some shopping at Fort Kinnaird. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Usual good standard of accommodation provided by Premier Inn, always consistant and you know what you are getting for the price. The one let down particularly north of the border in Scotland is the quality of the associated restaurants particularly those run by Belhaven, this venue was no exeption. An efficient an friendly service provided by PI marred by very poor quality restaurant.

I have stayed in PI's throughout the UK and those in England and Wales offer a far superior restaurant service to that in Scotland. Tip, if staying in a Scottish PI do not allow the restaurant to spoil your stay. Do not take the chance, eat out where you can and avoid a nasty surprise.

Some may find this odd coming from a Scot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jimsdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant, this is not a Whitbread run establishment however, we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My parnter and i stayed at the premier inn for a short break to get away from work and life etc. we chose premier inn due to the price and expected the basic features of a budget hotel, however the bed was huge and extremely comfortable the room was a very good size with a good view, i didnt see any other rooms so i am unsure if we got lucky or if they are all the same. the location of this hotel is perfect if you are driving, its just off the a1 and close to many things. the staff were very friendly and helpfull and as we always need extra pillows it wasnt a problem which is has been in other hotels. the shower was powerful and hot the bathroom a good size and very clean. the restaurant was lovely and the food even better, definately recommend the cooked breakfast, Everything about this hotel was better than we expected and if we stay in edinburgh again it will be here

Room Tip: We stayed in room 37.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry18589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) for your great review of our hotel!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at The Premier Inn for one night while visiting relatives in Edinburgh. It is a short, and easy ride back into the city centre form here.
We had booked a Family Room for 2 adults and 2 children and we were pleasantly surprised to find our room had a queen-size bed and two single beds (rather than the standard two doubles you usually encounter in a family room).
The room had all the things we needed including lots of towels and a TV with plenty of free view channels. You can also get 30 mins of free wifi.
The service at reception was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chez_raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for your great review of our hotel!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £45 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing