We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was our first stay at the Newcraighall Premier Inn, after staying at many other Premier Inns in Edinburgh. The location is pretty good. Not central to the city which isn't ideal if you are a tourist but it is on a good bus route (LRT provide an excellent network of buses and routes for Edinburgh). The staff on the reception desk were exceptionally welcoming and were happy to help with any queries we had. It has a very pleasant and roomy pub/restaurant adjacent. Although, it was rather disappointing that it had stopped serving food at 5pm as it was New Year's Day. We decided to travel to the Premier Inn at Inveresk, 5 miles away where they were still serving until 9pm that night in the adjacent Craig House Brewer's Fayre. Despite this, breakfast was fantastic. As mentioned, the restaurant/pub was very roomy and furnished well. The breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast items of usual high quality and choice of Premier Inn. The rooms have not been updated to the very high standard of some, but nethertheless, was clean and comfortable and was excellent value at around £20 on this occasion. The staff really make this a premier inn we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripRaterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Our reception staff are elated that you found them so helpfull and pleasant throughout your stay. We are always happy to assist in any way possible. We will also pass on your feedback to the Cuddie Brae next door, who I am sure will be delighted with such positive comments from yourself. I am so glad to hear that you were happy with the standard of the room you were provided with and hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    161
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
199
199
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

A generally good hotel attached to a good restaurant. Highly recommend the restaurant especially for lunch or dinner. Breakfast not so good.
Booked family room. The second smaller bed for the children not very comfortable but I guess maybe for £29 a night you should not expect Claridges standards!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonyone1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will also pass on your feedback to the Cuddie Brae team who I know will be happy to take all your feedback on board to help improve their customer experience. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

when first arriving here the receptionist on the front desk was very welcoming, and provided me with any information required. When first entering my room the first thing I noticed was how spacious and clean the room was. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. The only problem I had was with the shower as it had no hot water when I contacted the receptionist, she was excellent did everything she could to rectify the problem but unfortunately the water only went luke warm, however the receptionist deserves praise for her handling of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank becca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Becca, we very much appreciate you taking the time to write your kind review and we are so glad that you found our reception staff to be so helpful. We aim to assist our guests in any way we possibly can. I will also pass on your kind words to our housekeeping team who will be delighted to hear you were so impressed with the level of cleanliness found in your room. I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with hot water and our maintenance team were advised of this and all action has been taken to avoid this in the future whenever possible. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Newcraighall in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in city centre Edinburgh hotels and paid for the privilege. Premier inn Newcraighall, if booked in advance, is often available at £29 per night, is within short walking distance of the train into Waverley, thus allowing you the freedom to have a drink and enjoy all the wonders of this fabulous city at Christmas. The "Cuddie Brae" restaurant attached offers good food at reasonable prices. Second time at this hotel and will be back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Keith. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location ideal for you. I will also pass on your praise to the Cuddie Brae team as I am sure they will be thrilled to hear your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here when visiting Xmas German markets and to see Thin Lizzy. Although it's about 25 miles from the Forth bridge, there's no parking problems or cost and only £3.70 return on the train and 10 mins travel time. The ticket machine on the platform only takes cards but you can pay on the train, (children free at weekends!). The room was huge as was the bed, comfortable too and controlable heating with a great power shower. Receptionists were friendly and efficient. Always good value!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Alistair,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in ensuring all our guests receive the best experience they can, and we are thrilled to know that we delivered for you on this occassion. The team were particularly pleased to hear you found them friendly and efficient, and enjoyed the spacious room, comfortable bed and our excellent power showers!

We will look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh A1 Premier Inn at Newcraighall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Very good hotel large room bathroom frendly helpfull staff even more so as my company reservation had gone astray and they saide thats we will just bill them. Good breakfast not buffet but too much food should aske what quantity we want but very well cooked so much better than the buffet rubish

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review Stewart. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we were able to rectify the missing company reservation. The team are very happy to hear you found them friendly and helpful, and your comments mean a lot to them.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the plated offering in comparison to the buffet style, and I will pass on your feedback to The Cuddie Brae regarding the volume of food offered as I know, like us, they will appreciate knowing the ways we can improve to keep our guests happy.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Excellent location and staff with in the travelodge, room large and over looked the carpark never experienced any noise at all, brilliant clean little travelcot provided for our daughter. Took train into Edinburgh for £3.80 return which was a god send. Train station just a couple of mins across the road and run regularily to centre of Edinburgh, just buy your ticket with your credit card at the unmanned machine. Breakfast in adjoining restaurant was good and staff pleasant but felt dinner was over priced for the quality and quantity. We tended to jump in the car and drive to ikea for our supper which was close by. Good retail park just up the road never got a chance to look round properly as we were only down 3 days. Will def be back is better than a lot of dearer hotels we have stayed in and the staff are first class, did not meet one which let the travelodge down. They should be extremely proud of their staff at this place.

Room Tip: Over looking the car park seems to be the preferred option for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaScotland40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Bella and Family,

Than you very much for taking the time to write your delightful review. I am so pleased to hear you will be returning to stay with us in the future! The team are thrilled to hear you found them First class. I am particularly proud of all their efforts, and would like to thank you for noticing this, and commenting on it in such a positive way.

I am glad you enjoyed our Premier Breakfast, and will of course pass on your feedback to The Cuddie Brae.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Premier Inn at Newcraighall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing