We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good weekend break”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very friendly and helpful
Rooms clean and as you would expect,although towels a bit well worn and hard
Frequently choose premier inn and will continue to do so
Dinner option next door not selected as previous experience of same type poor


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you were happy with your room and the helpfulness of the staff. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the towels you received. Please do feel free to contact reception in the future with any issues and we will do anything we possibly can to help. The Cuddie Brae restaurant next door, although not a Whitbread restaurant, is now under new management and we receive very good feedback regarding their evening meal options and quality. I hope that you will give them a try the next time you visit.

We hope to see you again at Newcraighall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    161
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
199
199
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great few days here in early March. Railway station to city a five minute walk, Journey to Waverley station about 15 mins. Note: Trains do not run from here on Sundays. Good hotel with adjoining pub. Extensive shopping area close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Mike,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I agree that having the train station just across the road is incredibly handy and makes it so easy to visit Edinburgh City Centre. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Cuddie Brae restaurant next door. Like us, they appreciate all feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn some time in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Attending a sporting event at Meadowbank, this hotel offers a convenient place to stay, only 10 miles away with easy access. The location, appearance of the hotel and restaurant, quality of rooms and value for money are the reason that this was our fourth time at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_gymnast48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that our hotel met all of your needs and that you were impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the rooms. Our housekeeping team work very hard to ensure our guests are staying in very well maintained rooms and our reception staff are always happy to go that extra mile to ensure you have everything you need.

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is our first stay in a Premier Inn and I was very impressed with the location, staff, room cleaniness,size and sleeping comfort. It is definitely a step up from Travelodge and made our two night stay in edinburgh very comfortable and relaxing especially as we had to drive to/from Southampton. The onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant was really nice with a great selection of hot/cold breakfast and we certainly ate a hearty breakfast indeed! Overall excellent stay and look forward to staying in more Premier Inns in the future across the UK!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Gurajit,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with your stay. Our housekeeping team work very hard to ensure that our rooms are spotless and maintained to the highest standard. Also our reception staff are always happy to go that extra mile to ensure our guests are happy in every aspect of their stay. I am elated that you have experienced this while staying. I will also be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to the Cuddie Brae bar and restaurant next door. Like us, they appreciate all feedback so that we can ensure we are providing the very best service.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very comfy clean rooms. Good staff.
Breakfast was excellent . Plenty to eat and very helpful staff. Would
Recommend this premier inn although a little far from the station could walk it in approx 25 minutes to Wallyford station. However if you use your car this ceases to be a problem.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello Dominic,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. Our staff pride themselves in delivering excellent service, including highly maintained rooms and I am thrilled to hear that you have experienced this. I apologise if it was not made clear to you but we do actually have our own station just across the road. Newcraighall Station gets you in to Edinburgh in only 8 minutes and runs regularly each day. We will be happy to give you all the specific information should you choose to visit us here at Newcraighall again in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Good comfortable, clean hotel. Easy walking distance of train for Edinburgh (which only takes 10 minutes into city centre).
Just off Edinburgh bypass, so easy access to all main road routes too. Big shopping mall just across the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmnSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree that the location is perfect. 8 minutes on the train in to the centre of Edinburgh and the shopping complex a couple of minutes walk away is very handy. We hope that you will return to Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

After a very long journey, we finally checked into the hotel. We received a very friendly welcome, and within minutes, we were in our room. And what a room! Spacious, luxurious, wide screen wall mounted telly. Modern fitments, and the bathroom was clean and fresh. We enjoyed two nights here, and all hotel staff we met were so friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast both mornings in the pub next door, which we also enjoyed. Staff attitudes were mixed, but we will return to this hotel when visiting the area again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am so thrilled by your response to our newly refurbished rooms. Our housekeeping team work very hard to ensure they are maintained to the very highest standard. We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing