We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked early and paid just £29 which was a bargain. The room was clean and comfortable and everything worked well in the bathroom! Very quiet - no noise during the night inside the hotel or outside in the car park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to hear you had such a positive experience while staying with us. All of our reception team try very hard to ensure there is no noise in the hotel throughout the night, and our guests feel brilliant through a great nights sleep!

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall again soon.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    161
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
199
199
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Small but very clean and quiet. Staff were excellent and did their jobs with a smile. Bit of refurbished work going on,bit inconvenient but didn't really effect our stay. Location handy for city bypass so getting around the city was easy, pub next door very nice with good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Colin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeeping team do their absolute best to ensure that our rooms are cleaned to the very highest standard. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Cuddie Brae next door as they will be pleased with your positive comments.

I hope you will come back to Newcraighall again in the near future so that you can see our lovely refurbished reception! :)

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stay at many hotels and came across this by chance as we coulld not get into our usual choice in Edinburgh due to Scotland playing France in the 6 nations. I have to addmit that this is the best prmier Inn that I have stayed in so far. The rooms are clean and most of all quiet (apart from the early hours of Sunday when work began on the railway at the rear of the hotel.) Its located about 5 miles East of the city centre but has good transport links into the city. The pub is large with freindly staff and popular with locals(which speaks for its self) but is busy early evening. The menu took us by suprise as it so diferent to the usual fare at a premier inn. The only fault i can say is that breakfast dose not start till 8am at the weekends, which for us who working and have to on site by 8:30 in the centre of Edinburgh is not much use. However that apart I will not hesitate to use this hotel in future be it for work or pleasure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear your positive response to our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team. They work very hard to ensure our rooms are kept to the very best standard and our reception team do everything they can to make sure our hotel is a peaceful, quiet environment throughout the night. I will also pass on your comments to the Cuddie Brae restaurant next door. I know they will be thrilled with your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Like any other Premier Inn really - good quality of room and location. Rather pricey even though we booked in advance, all though it was to be expected for the location. That said, it was still the cheapest in the area after an extensive search. Poor restaurant as usual with Premier Inn but we had little choice but to eat there. Otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIDraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All feedback is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled you like our newly refurbished rooms. The mood lighting really does add a very homely touch. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the Cuddie Brae Restaurant next door but I am happy to pass on any feedback you may have. Like us, they use all feedback to improve their service wherever possible.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very friendly and helpful
Rooms clean and as you would expect,although towels a bit well worn and hard
Frequently choose premier inn and will continue to do so
Dinner option next door not selected as previous experience of same type poor


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you were happy with your room and the helpfulness of the staff. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the towels you received. Please do feel free to contact reception in the future with any issues and we will do anything we possibly can to help. The Cuddie Brae restaurant next door, although not a Whitbread restaurant, is now under new management and we receive very good feedback regarding their evening meal options and quality. I hope that you will give them a try the next time you visit.

We hope to see you again at Newcraighall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great few days here in early March. Railway station to city a five minute walk, Journey to Waverley station about 15 mins. Note: Trains do not run from here on Sundays. Good hotel with adjoining pub. Extensive shopping area close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Mike,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I agree that having the train station just across the road is incredibly handy and makes it so easy to visit Edinburgh City Centre. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Cuddie Brae restaurant next door. Like us, they appreciate all feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn some time in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Attending a sporting event at Meadowbank, this hotel offers a convenient place to stay, only 10 miles away with easy access. The location, appearance of the hotel and restaurant, quality of rooms and value for money are the reason that this was our fourth time at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_gymnast48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that our hotel met all of your needs and that you were impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the rooms. Our housekeeping team work very hard to ensure our guests are staying in very well maintained rooms and our reception staff are always happy to go that extra mile to ensure you have everything you need.

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing