We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but forget breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #27 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Whittington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel but forget breakfast”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Family room had plenty or space. No complaints at all about the hotel, however we were very disappointed with breakfast in the next door pub. The floors were filthy, the service poor and each day there was something that was not available for us to eat (beans, muffins, crumpets, bacon!)
This is the 4rth time we have stayed in this hotel and never before had anything negative to say. Hope the standard can be improved but we will be having our breakfast elsewhere next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Lorna,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear that you were so happy with the hotel and our staff. We do aim to make our guests feel very at home and are happy to go that extra mile to ensure all of your needs are met. We want our guests to have a brilliant journey with us from start to finish.

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with the breakfast served at the Cuddie Brae next door. I will be sure to pass on all of your feedback to ensure additional measures are put in to place to stop this happening again. We understand that breakfast is a big part of our guests stay and we will be sure to do everything in our power to see that improvements are put in to place. Should you wish to discuss this further, please feel free to give us a call.

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    161
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
200
199
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly. The plug socket next to the bed was brilliant (should be in all hotels) but the bed was far too firm for me so I got a refund with their good night guarantee.
The restaurant for breakfast on the other hand was shocking! The staff were extremely miserable and unhelpful and didn't believe 1 of our party was 15 so had to pay for their breakfast. The muffins were dry and ran out quickly and not replaced, neither were the yogurts and the cooked food wasn't self service and had to be ordered. The cleanliness was shocking too as there was still chips on the floor from the previous night....if not before and various other things that weren't cleaned properly.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Faith,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful. We always aim to go that extra mile to ensure our guests have the perfect stay.

I am so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with the Cuddie Brae next door. I will be sure to pass on all of your feedback and ask that measures are put in to place so that this is not repeated. I apologise for the confusion regarding your under 16 free breakfast. Please feel free to give us a call at your convenience to discuss this further.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The room was clean, bright and spacious. The pillows ere comfortable but the bed was a little hard and caused a little discomfort for hips. Staff were pleasant. However, used the room for sleeping only - left early morning and returned late at night - other than the firm mattress, were completely satisfied with the room. The hotel was perfectly situated for our requirements.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found that the hotel met all of your needs. I apologise that the bed was not to your preference. Next time, please feel free to let our reception team know and we will be happy to pad the bed with extra duvets ect so that it is more comfortable for you.

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just spent last weekend in East Lothian visiting family. Stayed at the Premier Inn, Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh). Best three nights sleep I've had for a while.
Rooms excellent, spotlessly clean, and the bed, amazing.
Staff were very curtious and friendly on arrival, as were the staff during breakfast, very efficient. Location was just right for the area I was visiting, I have just recommended this hotel to a family member who is visiting later this year. No hesitation, would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful sleep while staying with us. We always aim to make our guests feel brilliant through a great nights sleep! I will be sure to give your feedback to our staff and the staff at the restaurant next door as I am sure they will be delighted to hear your comments.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonbie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent value, clean and well-decorated, first-class staff. Very convenient for rail and bus travel to city centre. We shall always use this hotel on trips to Edinburgh. Plenty of free parking at the hotel.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Ken,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff as they will be elated to hear your positive feedback. Our hotel was refurbished last year with our reception being refurbished last week so I am glad to hear you are happy with the new decor of the hotel. I agree that the location of the hotel is perfect. Handy for bus, train and car travel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Newcraighall soon.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked early and paid just £29 which was a bargain. The room was clean and comfortable and everything worked well in the bathroom! Very quiet - no noise during the night inside the hotel or outside in the car park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to hear you had such a positive experience while staying with us. All of our reception team try very hard to ensure there is no noise in the hotel throughout the night, and our guests feel brilliant through a great nights sleep!

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall again soon.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Small but very clean and quiet. Staff were excellent and did their jobs with a smile. Bit of refurbished work going on,bit inconvenient but didn't really effect our stay. Location handy for city bypass so getting around the city was easy, pub next door very nice with good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Colin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeeping team do their absolute best to ensure that our rooms are cleaned to the very highest standard. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Cuddie Brae next door as they will be pleased with your positive comments.

I hope you will come back to Newcraighall again in the near future so that you can see our lovely refurbished reception! :)

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing