We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place for a park and ride to Edinburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #22 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good place for a park and ride to Edinburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was really good and the staff were very warm and welcoming. Except for the restaurant staff when she was little upset as we asked twice for warm milk for kids. May be she was over loaded with many guest. The train to Edinburg is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The train takes around 15 minutes to reach Edinburg station. You can buy the ticket on the train of when you get down at Edinburg. Edinburg castle and other attractions are only a walk away. Great place to leave your car and visit Edinburg. Return was also smooth. No shops or restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Dssingh,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy to hear that you were happy with the hotel staff. We aim to ensure each of our guests has a wonderful stay with us and we are always happy to go that extra mile to ensure this is the case.

I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with the staff in the Cuddie Brae bar and restaurant next door. I will be sure to pass on your comments to their management team. They, like us, appreciate all feedback so that they can improve their service wherever possible.

I am glad you found our location to be ideal for your needs and we hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    158
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
192
190
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 670 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked online for 2 nights.
We had room 34 on the 2nd (top) floor overlooking the car park
Peaceful nights sleep - no-one above, no traffic noise and carpeted corridors. Apparently the rooms overlooking the train line are affected
Easy to find from the A1, but negotiating Central Edinburgh was trickier, we preferred the 8 minute train journey into Waverley station £3.20 return off peak for our sightseeing. No Sunday service though
Large free car park
Friendly welcome and we were given directions to the train station (5 mins walk away) and a timetable.
The room was immaculate ~ recently refurbished.
Tea & Coffee
Shower Gel
Excellent house-keeping - fresh towels provided on our 2nd day. Good quality bedlinen.
We took breakfast & evening meals in the "Eating Inn" attached - see separate review.
Very Happy and wouldn't hesitate to recommend
Loads of sockets for charging gadgets, sadly only 30 minutes free wi-fi, £3 per 24hrs thereafter

Room Tip: high floor overlooking car park (34) or 36. 38 or 40 further down the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willsySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello WillsySurrey,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that you had a great night’s sleep while staying with us. Our team work very hard to ensure that every measure is taken so that our guests can relax and feel brilliant through a great night’s sleep.

The train station across the road is perfect when trying to avoid driving in the very busy Edinburgh City Centre. It’s cheap, quick and hassle free. I am glad you were able to take advantage of this while you were here.

Our housekeeping manager is thrilled with your feedback regarding her team. They work incredibly hard (in the very hot August weather) to ensure that each of our guests rooms are perfect and cleaned to the highest standard.

Myself, and my team hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh A1 Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We chose the Newcraighall location on a total guess since we knew it would be too busy to stay in the city, especially during the Fringe Festival. Arriving into Edinburgh, we were totally on our own and clueless how to get around at first. We had to take a cab to the hotel since we weren't familiar with the bus system yet. Getting to the hotel seemed to take longer than we expected but that was only because we really had no sense of direction yet. After we got to the hotel, we were greeted by some very friendly ladies, one who was training on her first day. We checked in smoothly and asked about things to do around the city. Both ladies were helpful.
Every time we would come and go, someone would wish us a good day and checking out was as easy as turning in our room cards.

The room was clean, well lit, with a nice bathroom. Great water pressure in the shower. Plenty of towels. Our window opened up too which was nice when it started to rain. It's always a treat to have fresh air. TV was new and large and hung up on the wall. Beds were very comfy and clean. Hotel is conveniently located next to a train station that takes you directly into Edinburgh. For 6 pounds 50, (for 2 people) you can travel roundtrip for the day. Or you can take the bus for 1 pound 50, 3 round trip, and the bus station is just a 5 min walk from the hotel.

One other thing: you are given 30 min of free wifi per day, so use wisely. The city offers lots of free wifi hot spots, so it's not a terrible loss.

I highly recommend this place if you're concerned about city hotel prices and/or want to avoid the crowds. Even though it's a touch out of town, it's definitely worth it to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello Jessie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and were a help during your first visit to Edinburgh Fringe Festival. We understand that a lot of our guests have never been to Edinburgh before and so we do everything we can to assist with travel information and details on what is going on around the area.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping department who I know will be delighted with your feedback regarding the rooms. They work very hard to make sure the rooms are cleaned to the highest standard and that all of our guests needs are met.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Newcraighall Premier Inn is a great location for visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding areas with good train links and easy access to the bypass if your travelling around by car. There is a very good outlet a few minutes walk from the Inn which provides lots of shops and eateries which cater for everything you might need. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with adequate provision of in-room tea and coffee facilities. Good selection of meals for evening at the Cuddie Bray next door. I do have two observances though, there is no in-room safe for safe keeping of valuables and there was no shaver point in the bathroom for gentlemen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice accommodation within easy reach of Edinburgh. Clean, comfortable room and polite, helpful staff made this a good place to stay. Take the train from Wallyford into town and save on the hassle of parking etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_CV2974GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I agree that our location is perfect for guests looking to explore Edinburgh with the train station being just across the road. Edinburgh City Centre is just a short 8 minute train journey away.

Our staff work very hard to ensure the rooms are cleaned to the very best standard and that all of our guests needs are met. I am very pleased to hear you were so happy with the service you received.

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very pleasant stay at a great budget price. Beautiful setting and a nice building! Breakfast was brilliant and the teenaged kids loved it too. I mentioned to the staff that it was far nicer than my recent business trip stay at the so called 5 star Hilton Metropole in Brum! That hotel caused me to change rooms 4 times and it still remained skimpy and uncomfortable . Not so the lovely Premier Inn at Musselburgh!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alzgal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello Alzgal13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a positive experience while staying with us. We try very hard to ensure our guests have the very best stay possible. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff as I am sure they will be delighted with your comments.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was travelling on my own and was in Scotland for the Games.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.They were incredibly welcoming,particularly Danielle.I had breakfast at the Brewers Fayre which is 1 minutes walk from the hotel.Parking was fine.The hotel is situated in the country so it was a peaceful haven after being in Glasgow all day.My only regret is that i had only booked 2 nights! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Janet,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so pleased with your comments regarding the staff, Danielle in particular. I will be sure to pass on your comments.

I agree that the location of the hotel is wonderful when you are looking to relax in the peace and quiet.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing