We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staff couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. All the members of staff were very helpful and the service went beyond what you would expect from a budget hotel. The breakfast was excellent and was constantly replenished to ensure everything was available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed for 3 nights and I don't have anything bad to say at all!! The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfy. The staff were all lovely and would do anything for you,nothing was a bother for them!! The restaurant was nice and had a nice atmosphere to it. There was a huge variety to pick from for breakfast in the morning and the food at night time was lovely and tasty too. The hotel was a 15-20 minute walk to princes street but if you don't mind walking then that's not a problem at all. Over all a lovely stay and if I came back to Edinburgh,I would defiantly be staying here!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newcastleano123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The staff make this hotel, all so helpful and cheerful. From the people on the desk to the wonderful smiley Lithuanian lady at breakfast, all went out of their way to make us feel welcome. This was our first time at a premier inn, and we were surprised at how spacious and light our room was. The bed was superb, and the room very clean. We asked for a quiet room and were on the 5 th floor. Exceptionally quiet which was great. We were at the back overlooking the delivery area but even with the window open there was very little noise.
Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herdiebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here over the weekend 4th-7th April.

The hotel is in a great location - centrally located, its only a 15/20 minute walk from Waverley Station. There is also a Sainsbury's Local just round the corner so perfect if you want a few snacks and drinks (although there is a couple of vending machines in the foyer).

The room was spotless and very tidy (including the bathroom) and there was nothing wrong with that side of things.
The bed, as I've come to expect from Premier Inns and why I usually look for them first when booking a hotel, was very comfortable and so were the pillows. Its great that you get a choice of pillow too - soft or firm.

The only downsides were the poor wi-fi and the noise. I was situated on the second floor towards the back of the hotel and it was annoying to be woken up by the sounds of deliveries at 8am everyday - sounds of lorries reversing and then all the 'cluttering' noises when unloading.
Also annoying was being woken up at approx 3am on Saturday by other guests who couldn't read the numerous signs around the hotel and couldn't keep the noise down when walking past in the corridor. Not the fault of the hotel of course.
My advise - ask for a room towards the front or side.

I made use of the 30 mins free wi-fi - it was terribly slow and took an age to load certain websites such as Facebook and BBC News.

Overall though, despite the noise issues, its a decent hotel in an excellent location and the staff are more than helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front or side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabbagaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent two nights in the hotel on a mini famiy road trip and were delighted with the position - very central, the service, staff, food in the restaurant and the rooms themselves. Really comfortable and large enough for all 5 of us to relax in one room, between sight seeing, shopping and ghost tours. Really briliant value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped for 2 nights hen night with 37 of us.. the majority of us checked in fine. There was problems for a couple of the ladies in our group. .room double booked and one room not ready until 5.30. However the reception gave the whole group free breakfast for 2 days which was very generous. Our room was big immaculate adequate beds and pillows were as I expected from the premier. Bar prices reasonable. ..staff were possibly the nicest friendliest ive ever met..the food was superb breakfast was hot and plenty of and quickly topped up all good quality. Me and my friend ate in the restaurant Saturday evening. ...rump steak followed by cheesecake a reasonable £13 and beautiful too. A very pleasant experience thankyou premier inn team you have done yourself proud

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobbygobbler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A great hotel about a 5 minute walk from the bars/restaurants and shops. Swift check in and directions and map given for best places to visit. Hotel food great. Good size room with comfortable beds. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,281 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,601 reviews
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel

Address: 82 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £55 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot, close to Edinburgh Castle, from which to explore this forward-looking global city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lauriston Place Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing