We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Ranked #38 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is worth the price just for the fact of its location. It is in walking distance to everything in Edinburgh. We arrived by train and took a taxi to the hotel because we didn't know exactly where it was but we could have easily walked (about a 15 minute walk). We spent 2 nights here and walked everywhere including Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, train station, The Elephant House, Scotch Whisky Experience, City of the Dead Tours, and much more! The room was nothing special but clean and has a restaurant on site. It could use better elevators and an ice machine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwnike13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz P, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear kwnike13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I'm delighted to see that you had such a fantastic time in Edinburgh.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we strive to improve standards and meet all our customers needs. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and I am very glad you found us good value for money.

Our location really makes us a great base for exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer and I'm so pleased you enjoyed the city and your visit with us! I am also very happy to hear our housekeeping standards met your expectations.

Thanks again for the time taken to share your views and I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tomasz Patyna
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

wonderful location, great staff, good food.They were so helpful in every way
The gray line tour picked us up at the door and back again ,the hop on bus tour outside the hotel across the street.
walking was so close.to all sites
moved our son to room with a better veiw not a problem

Room Tip: not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeancorbettfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel and staff were very nice, just disappointed that after the first night our room was not cleaned the next day. Apparently, it was missed out by mistake. I thought it was very good value for money, especially 'The Meal Deal', and the food was good. I would stay at a Premier Inn again.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GES764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz P, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear GES764,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I really appreciate such valuable feedback as it gives us an opportunity to reflect on the service we provide and make sure that we are delivering our guests expectations.

I am glad you found hotel and the team nice, it's really rewarding for them when our guests recognise the work that they do. I am also delighted to hear that you found us a good value for money especially 'Meal Deal' offer in our Thyme restaurant.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in our normal high housekeeping standards. I certainly value your feedback and I am addressing the issue. I have fed back your comments regarding room service to our Housekeeping Manager, who join me in offering our sincere apologies.

At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a quiet comfortable environment and do apologize that on this occasion we failed to provide this.

Should you ever need to stay in Edinburgh again, I hope you will make Premier Inn Lauriston Place your first choice! Thank you.


Kind Regards

Tomasz Patyna
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we choose this premier inn based on other favourable reviews. we were not disappointed. the staff were so friendly and helpful a home from home. although maybe unfair on other staff who did a great job I would like to mention paul and feya in reception and laurisa in dining room who couldn't do enough for us. so friendly and helpful nothing a trouble.
standard premier inn rooms which were very clean and comfortable. I was expecting lennie henry to test my bed which gave a great nights sleep.
hotel is well located away from the bustle of princes street whilst only 10 minutes on bus 23 or 27 to there.
only mnor comment is that our room which was at back of hotel was noisy from8 am with arrival/departure of delivery lorries.

Room Tip: a room at the side maybe on the 3rd floor or higher. back room a little noisy as stated above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangorBeertaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed in Premier Inn on business 14th & 15th May - offered quiet room and pleased to see I was in the quiet zone. Very nice Premier Inn - usual good standard in great location - near where work was and also central for bars and restaurants at night. Very friendly and helpful staff - would recommend for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a brilliant place!!! These folks really know how to make guests feel welcome. All of the staff were terrific. We initially went for three nights, but just had to stay for one more! The food is excellent. Honest, well prepared and served - The breakfast is absolutely perfect!

The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the beds are soooooooooooo comfortable!

The location is as good as it gets for a city centre. Just a 15 minute steady stroll gets you to the Castle and the main city centre, but you can get very good buses to just about anywhere just down the road. (Leave the car in the car park - It's not worth driving.) Even though the hotel is in the city, noise was never an issue, even on the Friday night when the local students went into overdrive!

It was my mother-in-law's birthday whilst we were there - the main reason for our visit - and several members of the staff, including the chef, produced a lovely birthday surprise dessert for her, and presented it whilst singing 'Happy Birthday'!!

If you are going to Edinburgh for pleasure or on business - Stay here!!

Many thanks from John, Liesel and Joyce.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are the quietest, and those that face north have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTD052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent rooms, staff are lovely. Made the stay very pleasant and made us feel at home. The hotel is located on a busy road so there is traffic noise but not enough to cause a problem. Highly recommend staying here.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel

Address: 82 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot, close to Edinburgh Castle, from which to explore this forward-looking global city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lauriston Place Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing