We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, tired bathroom facilities, friendly staff”
Review of The Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hostel
Ranked #112 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here at the end of May over the Bank Holiday weekend, as part of a 12 person stag do. It's worth noting if you are travelling alone or in a small group that the hostel caters for a number of stag/hen dos.

The hostel itself was fairly clean and tidy and reasonably well decorated and furnished. Unfortunately the rooms were tiny - you are lucky if there is 50cm between you and the next bunk. The mattresses were a bit tired with uncomfortable springs and the pillows were flat and lumpy.

The bathrooms/toilets/showers were small, and a bit dirty and in need of modernisation. Some of the showers didn't work and when there are 3 showers shared between about 25 people that matters!

The breakfast was cheap and decent at £2 per head, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I probably wouldn't stay here again. A redeeming factor is the location - 10 minutes walk to Princes St and Murrayfield.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

we were a group of 7 and we got delayed by the storm on may 22nd, we had no problems with 4 other hostels we booked in to change the dates but there we were charged 40 pounds per personn and blackmailed if we went somewhere else to debit our credit card.
for us the most expensive night in a mixed dorm.
nopower socket in the bedrooms either.
too few showers and staff hardly polite

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdc4314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This hostel is about 15 minutes walk from Waverley Station and the Royal Mile. It's very clean and quiet and the staff were efficient and friendly. Unfortunately those are the only good points I can think of. We stayed in a 16-bed dorm so full of bunks we could barely move between them with backpacks. You could feel every spring in the bed and hear every spring in the room, pretty much ruling out sleep. I'm not sure how many people shared the bathroom, but there were at least two other rooms besides our and only 2 sinks and toilets and 3 showers between us. I can't comment on the kitchen as we didn't use it, but the £1 breakfast (toast, cereal and tea/coffee) is a good option if you're not fussy and travelling on a budget. There's no space to hang out and relax and the atmosphere is rather cold and clinical, so luckily we only needed to stay one night before travelling on. I would have been disappointed if we had stayed here for the whole trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I've stayed in many hostels and this one's up there as one i'd come back to. Good location, clean and tidy and great staff, got a cool courtyard too

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I'd like to say that after all the backpackers i've stayed at round the world, this is one of the best, not the biggest or flashiest, but great all the same, staff go out of their way for you, rooms and bathrooms are spotless and kitchen has everything you need. made my time in edinburgh brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superwoman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

After organising a stag do to Edinburgh for 19 people, I looked at Westend Hostel as a cheap place to lay our alcohol-fuelled heads.

Everything went smoothly until 3 days prior to our visit when I received an e-mail informing me that we were undercharged due to an administrative error.

To my amazement they expected us to fork out an extra £10 per person per night.

With so little time to organise alternative accommodation we were unable to find any other hostel, so ludicrously had to fork out more money for the beds we had already agreed a price.

So, if you fancy staying in a place that could spontaneously up your prices then do so at your peril!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My friends and i stayed here cause we saw it was cheap on the internet. Cheap price but not cheap hostel, it's really neat. looks like they are doing it up so will be sweet when finished, we're going up north but will defo stay here on the way back down, friends staff and close to the city

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppetAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 217 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
Argyle Backpackers
#47 of 217 in Edinburgh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#31 of 217 in Edinburgh
170 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#23 of 217 in Edinburgh
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hostel

Address: 3 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland (Formerly Westend Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £15 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing