We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripped off by East to Book and no reply to email!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hostel
Ranked #104 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
1 review
“Ripped off by East to Book and no reply to email!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

On arrival at the hostel I was informed that you had 'double charged me for a 2nd person for 2 nights and my bill was double what it should be!! I emailed you about this but no response!!! Therevwere no electris in rooms as the wires had been cut at the sockets to prevent overuse by guests.. overall very bass backpacking accomodatio and fine for the money that I 'should' have been charged!!!!



  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Seven I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    41
    62
    31
    44
See reviews for
6
10
60
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a very cheap place to stay in Edinburgh and it is very handy for Haymarket train station and the bus to Edinburgh Airport which is why I chose it.

However it has some serious flaws which are really basic to making staying a hostel agreeable:
1) No lockers (secure or otherwise) in the rooms so you have to sleep with your handbag and laptop in the bed.
2) Terrible showers (at least the one I used) with a dribble of water which alternated from almost scalding hot to significantly chilly all by itself.
3) No shelves or hooks anywhere, so you have to dump your clothes, towels and toiletries on the bathroom floor (which by the time I arrived was not very clean).
4) Very cramped (at least the bathroom and bedroom I used)
5) No shelves in the bedrooms - a wee shelf next to your bed would be handy to put your glasses and your phone on!
6) No sockets in the bedrooms to charge your phone or laptop

The website boasts that there is original art on the walls; I suggest selling the pictures and using the cash to put in a few shelves, hooks and lockers - things that will make it more amenable to stay there.

I've stayed in hostels in the emerging independent travel industry in China and Mongolia which have obviously thought more about what their customers needed. As a resident of Scotland, it's somewhat of a disappointment that this Edinburgh hostel has failed so badly in the basics.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elljay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The one star is for location. Unisex bathrooms with only 2 toilets and 3 showers for around 40 people on the first floor (not sure about other floor), cleaned once per day, means by midnight, you are stepping in urine and have to hover or clean the seat every time you use the toilet. And this is on a good night when there isn't a large group of Spanish teenagers smashing the crap out of the bathroom doors. When reception closes at 23:00, EVERYTHING CLOSES. If you want to stay up past 11pm and not go out, you can read in bed or sit in the hallway using the internet if you brought a laptop, etc. The kitchen is closed. The lounge is closed. In the kitchen there is a security camera with threatening signs stating you are being watched and will be punished if you don't clean your spoon with the disgusting sponge they provide. In addition, I saw the cleaning person using this sponge to clean the bathroom sinks. Who knows what else it was used on.

I have been traveling Europe for almost 3 months now in 6 countries and while I have stayed in dirtier places in more disrepair, this has been the most dissatisfying. As someone who is living out of hostels, this place doesn't allow me to live. It's like staying at your annoying aunt's house where you aren't allowed to do anything. Kitchen is closed at 11pm and doesn't open until 8am, but you aren't supposed to keep food in your room... right. How dare you want breakfast before 8am or a snack after 11pm. Want to charge your camera, phone, laptop? Have fun sitting in the hallway watching everyone go to the toilet while it charges unless you feel secure leaving your expensive electronics in the high-traffic area. Then there are the rooms. The 16 bed room is so small, there isn't an inch of extra space. One smelly shoe and I was gassed out choosing to stay up all night (in the hallway with my laptop) rather than sleep in such a congested, stagnant claustrophobic space.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gettingworldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I wouldn't have stayed there if there was another choice. This place is relatively the cheapest among the places that are there in Edinburgh.
Though yeah, no power sockets in the rooms, this meant that you would have to wait in line in the lounge or the kitchen to juice up your phone. The kitchen is closed after 2300, so you might end up drinking from the sink after that.
The toilets were alright, though the water was warm rather than hot by any standard.
But when you end up paying less than 15 for a place you go with low expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohdSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

It's was fine when we got in but when we saw the toilets! I know they were public toilets but the seats broke, there was mould on the showers and it stunk it didn't look as if they even cleaned them. The rooms were ok the carpet wasn't really clean. The beds and bedcovers were fine but the blinds were heriffic they had black all over them. The breakfast was perfectly fine though it was only toast and cereal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Not hot enough shower ...
Horrible condition in terms of hygiene...
Kitchen closed at 2300 open at 0800... Feel thirsty...XD
No socket for charging in rooms. Need to charge at community area.
Kitchen utility = ok...provide cutlery n free tea & coffee

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsz-Kwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

2nd time I have stayed here on cycle rides, this time doing LEJOG! 8 bed room, all facilities including free wifi, and a breakfast for £15! In a major city where a pint at Wetherspoons cost £2.50, that is excellent value. Yes it's a hostel, and you have to remover that but you won't find better for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#42 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
New Town
City Stay Hostel Edinburgh
City Stay Hostel Edinburgh
#127 of 215 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel
#390 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#20 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hostel

Property: The Hostel
Address: 3 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland (Formerly Westend Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing