We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elder York Guest House
Ranked #77 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic little find!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night whilst taking part in the Edinburgh Moonwalk. The hotel was easy to get to from the airport, the new tram line stops almost outside the hotel and is £5 one way or £8 return. Yes there are lots of stairs but didn't find this a problem. The hotels location is great for exploring the sights of the city. Wonderful breakfast, lovely clean rooms with great facilities for a B&B, tea and coffee making, TV, wifi and even toiletries in the shower room. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The wonderful lady (sorry don't know you name) who was there for most of our stay was lovely, welcoming and went over and above in customer service. We had checked out of our room but need to come back and get changed for our walk that night. We returned from sightseeing at 7pm, soaked to the skin. She let us relax in the breakfast room and fetched us a lovely pot of tea and some biscuits. Just what we needed. Will definitely be back the the Elder York when we return for the Moonwalk next year. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    105
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
113
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Friendly B&B a short walk away from Waverley Station. Close distance to all facilities & sights. With the new tram from the airport stopping almost outside. Super breakfast selection.
Would definitely stay again when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location. Great breakfast and very friendly and helpful hosts. They recommended good restaurants and places to see. We will no doubt return. In spite of some trafic from the bus station, we still recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A no-nonsense small hotel with a lot of +ves and a few -ves.

On the plus side
Brilliant location, just north of the Waverley end of Princes St, adjacent to the Bus Station, the new Tram terminus, and even Harvey Nicks. Ideal base to explore this wonderful compact city and its surrounds (the Botanical Gradens is one of my all time favourite places).
Host and staff friendly and helpful, breakfasts of good quality and set you up for the day perfectly.

... but
The stairs go on and on up to your room 3 storeys up - no lift.
Our room was clean, tidy and reasonably functional. No fridge, the plumbing worked, but there was a knack to it, and all round the decor and furnishings were a wee bit "tired".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here in April with my husband & parents. Whilst the property itself is lovely from the outside, the fact you have to climb six flights of sometimes quite steep stairs to get to your bedroom I felt was a bit unforgiving as this is not mentioned in the property's website. My husband suffers from a heart condition as was feeling unwell by the time we got to bed that night. For the price we paid for the rooms I felt that they could do with a little bit of attention/refurb. Breakfast was very good though although breakfast room a little cramped for the amount of covers. Staff very attentive though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisClean100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Couldn't get a closer venue to the central bus station & shopping mall. Bit of a haul up to the castle, but managable. Loading bay out front is very helpful if driving - parking is 15 quid a day across the road, or free Friday night to Monday morning several streets away. Very friendly & helpful hosts & great breakfast.
No elevator is something to be aware of & mattresses need to be renewed, they were tired in the room we had at least

Room Tip: lower level for less steps to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Great location, next to bus station walking distance of literally everything you want to do or see in Edinburgh.
Tastefully decorated and welcoming place, clean rooms, coffee & tea facilities in own room and cleaned and replenished daily.
Breakfast in gorgeous breakfast room with freshly baked meals selected from menu. Also cereals, fruit, yoghurts, toast, coffee & tea. Great start to a day!
Harry was very helpful and welcoming and always ready with tips and a smile.
Will be going back to visit again, for sure.

Room Tip: Room 3 is at the front and next to the bus station. Didn't bother me but busses do run late &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#110 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,035 reviews
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#65 of 392 in Edinburgh
192 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#59 of 392 in Edinburgh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#75 of 392 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#22 of 392 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 392 in Edinburgh
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder York Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder York Guest House

Property: Elder York Guest House
Address: 38 Elder Street, Edinburgh EH1 3DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elder York Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No smoking, homely guest house on 3rd and 4th floor of a grade A listed building, very central location, clean and comfortable with a highly recommended breakfast to suite all appetites. Small pets welcome on agreement, very helpful staff. We aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elder York Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder York Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Elder York Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing