We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elder York Guest House
Ranked #79 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
guildford
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed for one night for the Tattoo last week, quite a few flights of stairs but a chair is halfway up for a breather! it's all good exerccise for the Scotch pies you will be eating.
A very warm welcome from Murray and a lovely spotlessly clean double room, OK it looks out the back but you only have to walk out of the front door and look down to the right for a grand view and you are so close to the main streets in Edinburgh
lots of tea, coffee, chocoloate and biscuits
round the corner from St Andrews square then two minutes to Princes Street, ideal location
got absolutely soaked in the afternoon, turned the radiator, toasty hot in five minutes, wish I had that sort of heating at home, double glazing and then a window you could open to get good fresh air
breakfast was all you could want, cereals, yoghurt, fruit then a good cooked Scottish breakfast
couldn't fault it and I got wi-fi no problem
a proper Scottish welcome and hospitality

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babetteGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    103
    43
    7
    6
See reviews for
43
111
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was in Edinburgh for the military tattoo and festival and spent one night at the Elder York having reserved it many months before my date of travel. If you are travelling from Edinburgh airport then take the new tram and you will find that the city-centre terminus at York Place is less than one minute from the hotel. I found the hotel to be very well appointed with the breakfast offering being way above the standard that you would expect for the price. My room was very comfortable with a good-sized bed and outside (but not shared) bathroom which was very clean and had a good shower with plenty of hot water. My only slight niggle was the noise that was coming from the street until 5 in the morning (However, this is Edinburgh at Festival time so to be expected)

Room Tip: From what I could see all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My two daughters and I stayed in the Elder York Guest House for one night during a quick trip to Edinburgh. We had a large room with three beds - nice to not have to share beds for once. The beds were comfortable and ample blankets/pillows were provided. The room was fairly quiet from street noise, at least with the window closed. Tea/coffee/hot chocolate was provided in the room. The owners were helpful and nice, and a large and tasty breakfast was provided. The Guest House was easily accessible to both the tram from the airport and the train station to other parts of the United Kingdom. If you take the tram from the airport, please note that it takes about an hour to get to the Guest House that way. Waverly Train Station is about a 10 minute walk away, and the owners will allow you to leave your bags at the Guest House after check out while you continue to explore Edinburgh. Our time in Edinburgh was quite short, but we enjoyed walking around the Royal Mile and on Princes Street. Guests with children should be aware that there is a very nice playground on Princes Street at the foot of the Edinburgh Castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We love everything in Elder York Guest house.

I and my wife felt in home. The room was spotless clean and super comfortable. The breakfast was great and they were very helpful in telling us what to see in skye isle.

Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catarina_e_Joao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night whilst taking part in the Edinburgh Moonwalk. The hotel was easy to get to from the airport, the new tram line stops almost outside the hotel and is £5 one way or £8 return. Yes there are lots of stairs but didn't find this a problem. The hotels location is great for exploring the sights of the city. Wonderful breakfast, lovely clean rooms with great facilities for a B&B, tea and coffee making, TV, wifi and even toiletries in the shower room. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The wonderful lady (sorry don't know you name) who was there for most of our stay was lovely, welcoming and went over and above in customer service. We had checked out of our room but need to come back and get changed for our walk that night. We returned from sightseeing at 7pm, soaked to the skin. She let us relax in the breakfast room and fetched us a lovely pot of tea and some biscuits. Just what we needed. Will definitely be back the the Elder York when we return for the Moonwalk next year. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Friendly B&B a short walk away from Waverley Station. Close distance to all facilities & sights. With the new tram from the airport stopping almost outside. Super breakfast selection.
Would definitely stay again when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location. Great breakfast and very friendly and helpful hosts. They recommended good restaurants and places to see. We will no doubt return. In spite of some trafic from the bus station, we still recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#64 of 392 in Edinburgh
190 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#61 of 392 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#24 of 392 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 392 in Edinburgh
427 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Destination Edinburgh York Place Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder York Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder York Guest House

Property: Elder York Guest House
Address: 38 Elder Street, Edinburgh EH1 3DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elder York Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No smoking, homely guest house on 3rd and 4th floor of a grade A listed building, very central location, clean and comfortable with a highly recommended breakfast to suite all appetites. Small pets welcome on agreement, very helpful staff. We aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elder York Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder York Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Elder York Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing