We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere, Good Service, Good Food”

Bella Italia Edinburgh Northbridge
Ranked #288 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$9 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Our spacious Northbridge restaurant is perfectly positioned in the centre of Edinburgh Old Town, midway between the iconic Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Palace of Holyrood. Join us for a crusty traditional pizza, piping hot bowl of pasta or mouth-watering grill. Our friendly staff are so welcoming you'll feel just like one of the familia! We love throwing a party, so big groups are welcomed.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, Good Service, Good Food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great atmosphere in the restaurant and very clean and tidy. The waiter was very helpful and attentive and the service was speedy and the food piping hot. Drinks were nice and the mini desserts were ideal after the meal. The portions were of a decent size and there was a great selection on the menu. However, the price of the food was very expensive alongside the drinks (this is across all Bella Italias and not this individual restaurant). If we didn't have Tesco vouchers we wouldn't have visited due to the price. Despite this, we enjoyed our visit and would return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spholsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    329
    149
    55
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shouldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not go here.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

After a trip to a museum 3 adults & 3 children needed lunch at 1.15 pm. The restaurant was not full at this point. We had a great waitress who was let down by her manager and the kitchen staff. We gave our order quickly. The children's starters never arrived although the adult ones did and then 45 minutes later we still had no food. People who came in 30 minutes after us were eating theirs. When we asked what had happened the manager told us that they were busy. We suggested a problem with organisation but were told that a) they were unexpectedly busy (really? In the centre of Edinburgh in Easter week?) and b) that the manager was very good at his job. Clearly a false claim. At no point was there any sort of apology or explanation from him. Nor did he try to hide that he despised our complaint when talking about us to other staff members. To top it all we were overcharged!
The food was very good when it arrived. Such a shame it left a horrid taste in our mouths.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TiaClara347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Busy but fresh food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Always the case, when it's busy you know that the food will be fresh. And so it was, busy but organised and fresh pasta. Worth having to wait a bit to get a table.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dutchjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful service”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to go to this restaurant whilst in Edinburgh for business primarily because of its location. Having been to Bella Italia restaurants in various cities I was aware of the type of food it has to offer. We arrived just after 2 pm which was obviously after the lunch time rush. We were shown to a table very quickly and provided with our menus. Having taken a couple of minutes to choose we placed our menus on the table to await our waiter who was only a short distance away behind the service counter. Incredibly we waited well over 20 minutes and neither he nor the manager acknowledged our presence.

I cannot provide comment on the quality of the food because we got up and left and went across the street to another restaurant. Had the restaurant been busy I would happily accept to wait this length of time but it wasn't so there really was no excuse.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marlewrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“this is a lovely restrautant”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

we had a large lunch so just wanted something light in the evening and we had pizza's here which were absolutely beautiful the staff were friendly and the restaurant was very clean

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joanLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Italia Edinburgh Northbridge also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bella Italia Edinburgh Northbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing