We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Park Hotel
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I recently stayed at Victoria Park Hotel for five nights on a business trip, and wish I could have stayed longer! The service was absolutely fantastic, all the staff including the owners were really friendly and helpful. I was also very impressed by the quality of the food in the restaurant (especially the fish and chips!), and the bar had a good range of drinks. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean/tidy. Have no complaints and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

we decided to have our wedding here, living in Edinburgh all our life's and going past often we loved the exterior and thought it would be the perfect venue for our retentively small wedding (100 people). The staff were so helpful and great to be around. the wedding was perfect. everyone was pleasantly surprised on arrive as they didn't expect it to be as big as it was. dinner was great. we had a very fussy eater in our group and he even tried the food and took the rest of my mother in laws cake! everything went to plan. once the room was decorated it was beautiful! we also stayed the night. we were in room 10 and words couldn't describe the luxury. It was beautiful, a great view of the park from the window, massive bed corner bath and a flat screen tv wardrobes dresser and all. couldn't ask for a better manager. he was even in a kilt for the day. thank you all for making our day so very special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jade-Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We did a UK and Ireland tour for our Honeymoon recently. Victor Park was by far the best hotel, and that's compared to some other pretty nice places we stayed at. We had a large room by European standards (to be fair we did let them know it was our honeymoon). The service and welcoming we received rivaled the B&Bs we stayed at, which to me was the most impressive thing about this place. The owner and employees went above and beyond. The area was really nice, you're right across from the park so it was relatively quiet, and there are several bus stops in the area that can take you right downtown, just get a day pass. I highly recommend this place and wish we could take more trips here just so we could make this a regular stop.

Room Tip: The only thing to note about the room we stayed in was that there was no shower. The place and servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edubdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, we were made very welcome, staff are really frindly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We had evening meal and breakfast which were both very nice. It was a nice walk to the Royal yacht Brittannia. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Two very comfortable nights. Super service, very friendly, nothing too much trouble. Off road parking requires access through the bar if taking the short cut, but not a problem. Food very good and excellent location for Botanic Gardens and the Royal Yacht. Small personalised hotel that I have no problem in recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I booked two rooms at the Victoria Park hotel prior to flying the next day. On arrival we got our keys. We were on the top floor which was accessed by a small staircase with threadbare carpet and water valves sticking out of the wall. The key would not open the door to the first room, the second room door opened with first turn only to reveal a room which had not even been cleaned. We went back down stairs and got hold of one of the owners and asked him to come up and also if there was another key for the first room. We eventually got another room instead of the dirty one but we had to stay in the first room without a key. This is a hotel which has great potential if run properly.
There was a lack of towels as well. The owners attitude and I quote was "what do you expect for what you paid".

The breakfast in the morning was lovely and Craig the manager is a definite asset to the hotel. Just a pity the same could not be said for the owner the previous night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank largrangegdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vphousehotel, Manager at Victoria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to post your experiance at the Victoria Park Hotel
firstly i would like to aplogise if we didnt meet your expectations on this occasion.
We have recently changed our booking system and this had caused the mix up resulting in the room not being ready.
We have had many positive reviews about the rooms that you were allocated again iam sorry that they did not meet your expectations, we have recently been awarded 3 stars from Visit Scotland which the rooms in question were graded.The hotels charm and character is due to the age and historic nature of the building with diffent shape size rooms and corridors that you would only find in a building of over 140 years.
The hotel prides itself on our service and we hope that in the future you will give us another oppertunity to look after you here in Edinburgh,
Iam delighted that you found Craig an asset to the hotel and our breakfasts were excellent.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Despite fact only across road from me had never been till recently twice been excellent service food really good lovely decor and check out there deals on face book will be back may be in summer will sit out front in garden saves a trip into the many excellent restaurants at the shore or newhaven had previously thought was really only dining for hotel residents could easily become my local

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#105 of 151 in Edinburgh
302 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
555 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#146 of 151 in Edinburgh
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#103 of 151 in Edinburgh
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Park Hotel

Address: 221 Ferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH6 4NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £43 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Park House Hotel in Edinburgh is ideally situated within the vibrant and cosmopolitan Leith district, the area is steeped in local history and boasts a variety of attractions including shopping at Ocean Terminal where the Royal Yacht Britannia is docked, Inverleith Park and The Royal Botanic Gardens. A five minute bus journey will take you into Edinburgh city centre to tourist attractions such Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Whisky Heritage Centre, Dynamic Earth as well as shopping on Princes Street and experiencing the old town on The Royal Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Park Edinburgh
Hotel Victoria Park
Victoria Park Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing