We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year!!!”
Review of Eyre Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eyre Guest House
Ranked #306 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2009

My Son and I stayed at this Guest house for three nights and we enjoyed ourselves very much . We booked late so there was only a small double room left . It was small but bed was comfy and there is a living room downstairs with a big tv and sofa there if you want more space ! Kay and Kenny did breakfast for us in no 9 two doors away and this was no problem ..Kenny made a loverly breakfast every morning top class! Anything you wanted to eat and drink was there . Kay was an absoulute gem she made all the guests very welcome and it was loverley to see her in the mornings chatting nicely to everyone. They invited every guest for a glass of champers for new year and my son and me even went to princess street concert with them and had a fabulous time . overall it was a great short break and would recomend it to everyone Kay and Ken are a loverly couple and made us very welcome. will be going back there again in the future as we really had a nice time .. Thanks..

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank starshine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

We stayed at the Eyre guesthouse in edinburgh for three nights in early October. We had a lovely room on the first floor, at the back of the building overlooking the garden. The room was very nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was taken in the Ardenlee next door and was really good - it set you up for the day. Edinburgh is an amazing city and we were only a 15 minute walk away from all the main attractions, and a short bus hop to the castle. Can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sueandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed for four nights.

The "double room" was intolerably small and cold! The room itself had the size of a single room but with a double bed crammed in. Two persons could hardly pass one another and there was no wardrobe and no place to put your things, so your suitcase consumed the rest of space.

The "bathroom" was so small that it was almost dangerous (and for older people very likely impossible) to get out of the shower. Absurd. There also was some mildew.

And was there a room/cleaning service? If so, what did they do? The room was not cleaned properly with chewing gum from previous guests under the bed and shower gel in the shower. We didn't get new towels but each day found our own newly folded on the bed.

And it was cold! Central heating was turned off at 9pm and with the insulating of the window being inadequate the room got really cold at night (we were there in October).

Conclusion:
Looks fancy on pictures, but isn't.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Steebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I booked through ICMS. Hotel charged them 75/night in May for a double room, which is higher than their highest listed price. The room was extremely small: something like 2.40x2.40 plus the toilet, you can hardly pass one another in the space left free by the bed. There is no table, and no place for it. There is no wardrobe, and we put the baggage on the floor, which further aggravated the situation. There is no place in the washroom to put soap. The hose of shower is broken. Towels are not changed every day.

I would not stay there another time and do not recommend to others. The whole stay was poisoned by the feeling of tourist trap.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mitrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Stayed in a single room at the Eyre for one week during Edinburgh Fringe Festival. It's well located, about a 20-minute uphill walk to Princes Street and directly on a bus line that takes you to key parts of the city. The room was tiny but certainly functional and the bed was comfortable. Sheets were not regularly changed and the seat cushion on the one chair in the room was badly stained, so would not give high marks for cleanliness. The Eyre is located near busy intersection, so traffic noise was noticeable but easily blocked out with earplugs. Breakfast, taken at a neighbouring B & B, was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful and thought the nightly rate (45 pounds) was very reasonable. Overall, would consider it good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2007

Booked a single room for £40 over two nights. The room was gorgeous - got a double bed with en suite - and very clean and tastefully decorated. The windows shut tightly and keep out street noise very well. However, the bath towels did not smell very nice (but appeared to be clean enough).

Breakfast was excellent and offered hot sausages, bacon, eggs, sauteed mushrooms and toast, as well as a selection of cold cereals.

The host of the B&B is very nice; it's great to have a warm smile greeting you upon arrival from a long train ride!

The Eyre is a 10-15 minute uphill walk to Princes Street. A £1 bus ride will get you there in less than 5 minutes, as well as to The Mound and the Royal Mile.

Would definitely stay here again! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoCanadaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We stayed at the Eyre guest house for 5 nights. The location is very good - quiet street 10 minutes walk from Princes street and very close to the bus stop with frequent service to New Town & the Old town. The accomodation is spartan, but clean. Breakfast is good & filling, but nothing special.
However, we found it lacked the small touches that make us want to return - sheets/towels were not changed every day, soap provided was tiny, service is efficient & polite but not very personal.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#107 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Guest House

Address: 5 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Eyre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing