We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eyre Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Howard(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nira Caledonia(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Claremont Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    Rabble Rooms(Edinburgh)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (79)
    Filter reviews
    79 results
    Traveller rating
    23
    28
    16
    10
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    23
    28
    16
    10
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    44 - 49 of 79 reviews
    Reviewed 9 February 2010

    We stayed here last weekend and would thoroughly recommend it. We had a great big room on the first floor at the back of the building (room 4) which was well equipped and nice and quiet. The location is ideal as you are only a 15 min walk onto Princes Street but you are also only a 2/3 minute stroll into Stockbridge which is our favourite area with lots of restaurants etc. They serve a free breakfast next door and it was superb as well. We will definately be back.

    • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Highburykaren
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 February 2009

    Just back from a two night stay here. We stayed in a large family room - two double beds plus extra single bed which suited us fine. (we are two adults, kids, 12,10 and 4). Room was warm, clean and felt spacious compared to travelodge. So refreshing to find a room for five in Edinburgh. Couple who run it were very nice - letting us book in a little early and eat our sandwiches in the downstairs lounge before our room was ready! They also let us leave our bags there on the last morning - enabling us to do more sight seeing before catching the train home. Breakfast was great. The guest house is a 15 minute walk from the National art gallery on Princes St (down hill on the way there, up hill on the way back to town!) The bus stops very close by and runs very regularly. Unlike a previous review, I would say pictures on the website give an honest impression.

    • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dij0
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 January 2009

    My Son and I stayed at this Guest house for three nights and we enjoyed ourselves very much . We booked late so there was only a small double room left . It was small but bed was comfy and there is a living room downstairs with a big tv and sofa there if you want more space ! Kay and Kenny did breakfast for us in no 9 two doors away and this was no problem ..Kenny made a loverly breakfast every morning top class! Anything you wanted to eat and drink was there . Kay was an absoulute gem she made all the guests very welcome and it was loverley to see her in the mornings chatting nicely to everyone. They invited every guest for a glass of champers for new year and my son and me even went to princess street concert with them and had a fabulous time . overall it was a great short break and would recomend it to everyone Kay and Ken are a loverly couple and made us very welcome. will be going back there again in the future as we really had a nice time .. Thanks..

    • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    Thank starshine888
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 October 2008

    We stayed at the Eyre guesthouse in edinburgh for three nights in early October. We had a lovely room on the first floor, at the back of the building overlooking the garden. The room was very nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was taken in the Ardenlee next door and was really good - it set you up for the day. Edinburgh is an amazing city and we were only a 15 minute walk away from all the main attractions, and a short bus hop to the castle. Can recommend.

    • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    Thank sueandben
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 October 2008

    We stayed for four nights.

    The "double room" was intolerably small and cold! The room itself had the size of a single room but with a double bed crammed in. Two persons could hardly pass one another and there was no wardrobe and no place to put your things, so your suitcase consumed the rest of space.

    The "bathroom" was so small that it was almost dangerous (and for older people very likely impossible) to get out of the shower. Absurd. There also was some mildew.

    And was there a room/cleaning service? If so, what did they do? The room was not cleaned properly with chewing gum from previous guests under the bed and shower gel in the shower. We didn't get new towels but each day found our own newly folded on the bed.

    And it was cold! Central heating was turned off at 9pm and with the insulating of the window being inadequate the room got really cold at night (we were there in October).

    Conclusion:
    Looks fancy on pictures, but isn't.

    • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    1  Thank Steebles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews