We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent guest house”
Review of Eyre Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eyre Guest House
Ranked #295 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent guest house”
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We stayed at the Eyre guest house for 5 nights. The location is very good - quiet street 10 minutes walk from Princes street and very close to the bus stop with frequent service to New Town & the Old town. The accomodation is spartan, but clean. Breakfast is good & filling, but nothing special.
However, we found it lacked the small touches that make us want to return - sheets/towels were not changed every day, soap provided was tiny, service is efficient & polite but not very personal.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
14
13
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

great place for the money. owned by the same people as the ardelee (2 houses over). a lovely (though uphill) 10 minute walk to princes street. on a nice quiet street. staff was extremely helpful and friendly. room was small and when you flushed the toilet the pipes might wake up a sleeping child, but it's the uk and if you've ever stayed in someone's home over there, it's not uncommon (these are not modern buildings). I stayed for 9 nights and no complaints at all. breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbmbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2005

I have to say that staying at the Eyre was one of the best I have had in Edinburgh.

The en suite room was small but since most of the time was spent sightseeing a good bed for the night was the main aim. Having said that there was TV, radio and a small kettle for a brew up if you fancied one.

Another reviewer has criticised the standard of cleanliness but I cannot agree. The room was cleaned every day with a change of both bedsheets and towels.

Breakfast had to be taken at the Ardenlee, a couple of doors away, which was a little inconvenient but made up for by the quality and the quantity of the food.

Staff were helpful and friendly especially Tracy, an Australian lady who made everyone feel at home.

My one criticism is the length of time it took for the shower water to heat up - you could have a cup of tea while you waited.

However for the price this was well above average and its location just ten to fifteen minutes walk or a short bus trip from Prince's Street made it a great place to stay if you ever go to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 August 2005

My husband and I and our adult daughter stayed at the Eyre guest house in Eyre Place in Edinburgh in August. It is in a beautiful old Georgian building in the New Town area of Edinburgh, which is predominantly Georgian, so for those who like this period of architecture it is a great area to stay in. We had a very comfortable double ensuite, with nice furnishings and a shower rather than a bath in the ensuite. Our daughter stayed in a single room and although it was definitely a single room she had her own ensuite which was the most important thing for her. We took breakfast in the neighbouring guest house, the Ardenlee, which was really good (again another beautiful old building) and very filling - we didn't eat again until dinner time.
The guest house is in walking distance of the city centre and in fact is also very close to the magnificent Botanical gardens of Edinburgh, which again for anyone interested in gardens, are really worth a trip to.
We go to Edinburgh every couple of years and this is the first time we have stayed in the New Town area, which I think is just beautiful. We will definitely stay at the Eyre again (or the Ardenlee) as it has everything we could want - good spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast, central location, pleasant staff and good value for money. We are very happy to recommend it.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2005

We stayed at the Eyre guest house (sister to Ardenlee, I think) in July for four nights. We found the room to be well decorated and comfortable (it had a DVD player) and breakfasts were great (you go to the Ardenlee for those). There was a nice guest lounge on the ground floor with a load of interesting books and our room was on the second floor. It rained quite a bit while we were there but that didn't spoil our enjoyment of this lovely city, and the guest house is very conveniently located to all the things we wanted to do - shopping on George St and the National Gallery just 10 minutes walk away. I would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting a reasonably priced city break.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ardenlee Guest House
#201 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Ailsa Guest House
#170 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Guest House

Property: Eyre Guest House
Address: 5 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eyre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing