We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B in great location”
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #10 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B in great location”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very welcoming hosts. The B&B is very central but set back from the main road so there is little noise. Breakfast is served until half 9 which is great if you like a lie in. Look forward to returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Double en-suite has huge bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    42
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
255
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Normally I would give a wide berth to anything that described itself as "a family run bed and breakfast" - but the Adria House is truly unique and exceptional. A quick look through all of the other reviews will give you all of the plus points. Credit for this impressive list has to go in large part to the brother and sister who run the place, and who do so with true dedication to both the building and to ensuring the needs of their guests are meet.

Having searched for some criticism (and not found any) I will add the only disappointment that I experienced during my stay: the sausages at breakfast seemed to be more filling than meat, but perhaps that is the way they like their sausages in that part of the world.

I would recommend the Adria House to almost anybody - if I am ever staying in Edinburgh again it will be at the very top of my list.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarseilleAnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

a couple of years ago, I just had to stay there again! Edward and Maria are simply lovely and their guesthouse is immaculate and stunung. The rooms are spacious, well decorated and extremely clean. Located a few minutes walk from the train station, shops, and restaurants it is very convenient. The breakfast is delicious and sets you up for a wonderful day. I have seen many B&B's and this is right at the top of the list. Stay here while in Edinburgh and you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria_CanadaHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

As a solo traveller, I appreciated the location, for its ease of access and its proximity to a wide choice of restaurants. The sights were also a brisk walk away and the hosts were readily available to provide useful suggestions and catered to every small request with a smile. The room was very clean and comfortable. Although the bathroom was outside, it was literally a hop away from the room and was no problem at all. The wonderful dining room continues to exude an old world charm. I wished I had taken a room facing the lovely garden behind the house...Perhaps next time:-) Note: If you get the 1st and 2nd floor rooms, be prepared to climb stairs. Help is readily available to lift luggages - but am glad that I packed light.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Adria House possibly couldn't be bettered; friendly, welcoming, comfortable and close to all that Edinburgh has to offer. So glad we'd read the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were able to leave our luggage before and after our stay and on collecting cases were offered tea before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otaki Beach, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Adria is a great place to stay the owners are very friendly and you are always given a wonderful welcome on arrival. It is an open bright beautiful House, the rooms are clean and spacious. They serve a very delicious breakfast with a good menu. They are within walking distance from both train and bus stations, and up town Edinburgh or the Royal Mile. I have been back several times and always enjoy my stay with them.

Room Tip: This is generally a quiet place on the Royal Terrace,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annas67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Edward and Maria gave us a warm welcome and excellent hospitality during our recent stay. Accomodation is in a beautifully maintained house, tastefully decorated and very spacious and comfortable.
Plenty of choice for breakfast, nicely cooked and very friendly, efficient service.
Edward and Maria were happy to make recomendations and give directions for places to eat or visit.
Adria House is set in a very attractive area, quiet but close to the centre of things.

Room Tip: Choose a garden-facing room for complete peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 149 in Edinburgh
317 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Property: Adria House
Address: 11-12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing