We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Home”
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #9 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Adria House is a lovely B&B. Well located, brilliant service, delicious breakfast, lovely big room. Can't recommend it highly enough. Will certainly stay there again on next visit to Edinburgh. Staff couldn't be more helpful with any enquiries - booking restaurants, locating sites.

Room Tip: No lift so if carrying suitcase up stairs a problem request first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Adria House is a little gem, a gloriously restored grand house on Royal Terrace, really well located close to the City Centre. Two of us were cycling through and they stored our bikes without trouble. Great bedrooms and bathrooms, gracious reception rooms. Monica was the perfect receptionist, and the owner was affable and friendly. Fine value for money too. I will certainly try to stay here again next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StridingJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We only stayed three nights but we would love to return to this beautiful hotel. Maria and Eddie were very welcoming and attentive, the rooms were immaculate and the breakfasts very satisfying. We would definitely like to return to Adria House the next time we are in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back, which were very quiet and overlooked the pretty gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Adria House is located on the beautiful Royal Terrace, close to the heart of Edinburgh. The property is grand but welcoming. Classically decorated throughout and incredibly clean. The service from the hosts, Eddie & Maria, is wonderful. Our room had a bathroom across the corridor but this was not a problem (and actually was larger than most hotel rooms we stay in!). The only real drawback is that there isn't a vegetarian alternative cooked breakfast, but they did stock up on marmite for us. It was good value accommodation for the time of year, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a warm comfortable traditional and very welcoming bed and breakfast. It is a lovely Georgian terraced house in a very well know Edinburgh street in the New Town. The rooms have great high ceilings, are big and are traditionally furnished - nothing anonymous and corporate here. It's a great location as Princes Street is a short walk away and there are lots of good restaurants near by from the very posh 21212 a couple of houses away to the simple Cafe Marlayne at the end of the terrace and the wide choice in Broughton Street. Staying at the Adria is like being welcomed into someone's home and Maria and Edward have to be the best suited people I've ever come across to work in the hospitality industry. It's quite small (I think maybe just 7 bedrooms over 2 floors and no lift) and this adds to the quiet peace that makes it such a pleasure to stay there. Free WiFi very useful, good breakfast and I'd stay there again in a shot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 482EUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were staying at Adria House one night in July 2013. We Really enjoyed the room, cleanliness, beautiful design and mostly the wonderful service. in addition, The location is very good and very close to the city sites. We Recommend this hotel for anyone who plans to visit in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Adria guesthouse is beautiful, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The hosts [Eddie & Maria] made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble for they were very friendly and professional. The spacious room included coffee/tea making facilities. An iron & ironing board were available to use. Complimentary wireless internet access is provided. The room had a modern T.V., any amount of hot & cold water, plenty of plug sockets, mirrors etc.…. everything you would need to make your stay pleasant. And most important [after a day walking around Edinburgh] - - -The bed was very comfortable!! There is a large lounge for guests, with T.V., books and comfortable seating. The breakfast was delicious with a huge choice of hot or cold breakfast items. Adria House is well within walking distance of the city, or two minutes from bus stops, with regular buses offering unlimited travel all-day passes for £3.50 [August 2013]. We found Royal Terrace to be a lovely peaceful, quiet area of Edinburgh but close enough to the city lights when required. Finally yet importantly, Adria house is adjacent to the Carlton Hill area of Edinburgh, which offers the most magnificent views of Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#7 of 151 in Edinburgh
382 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#5 of 395 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 395 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
Six Brunton Place Guest House
#12 of 395 in Edinburgh
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Address: 11-12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing