We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a great city to visit.”
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #11 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Adria House, a spacious and simply, but very elegantly ,decorated Georgian house, which was perfectly placed for getting around Edinburgh on foot.Our hosts Eddie and Maria were very friendly and could not have been more helpful.
Our room was large ,the bathroom enormous , with both kept very clean and tidy.
The breakfasts were tasty and hearty -just the thing to set you up for most of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHILIP C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Maria and Eddie were wonderful and gracious hosts. They did not hesitate to help with us with whatever it was we needed. Adria House is within walking distance of the Royal Mile but in a quiet, non-touristy section. The place is impeccably clean as was our room which had a lovely view of the garden. Breakfast was excellent and filling; a perfect start to a day of sightseeing. Honestly, after our two night stay, we didn't want to leave.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank MBW0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived late morning, a little early to be checking in to a room, but Eddie stored our luggage are we headed out to explore the city. The location is within walking distance to most attractions but not in the middle of a touristy area. When we returned our bags were in the room and what a nice room it was. It was big and square and not at all like I would have expected. Everything was impeccably clean. Breakfast was good but I don't usually get anything more than just eggs and toast anyway. if I ever find myself back in Edinburgh I would definitely stay at the Adria House again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titanole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a fine choice for a B & B. Not only was the Georgian house wonderfully appointed, but it was also impeccably clean and quiet. Our second floor room also had a very large and lovely bathroom complete with separate shower and tub. Eddie and Maria were very helpful and gracious during our stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pfunkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Met by very friendly owner Andrew on arrival who really made an effort to have a chat every time we saw him. Room was superb. Very comfortable and clean along with a great view of the garden at the rear of the house. Hotel was situated in a very nice area within walking distance of most of the important places. Would definitely recommend and will return again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JohnW52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights and would/will stay here again. Eddie and Maria were excellent hosts, helping us with everything that we needed. The house was beautiful and very well maintained, the rooms themselves were lovely and kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. Location is perfect for what we wanted, close to the station and a short walk to most of the cities beautiful attractions. Look forward to our next visit, thanks again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexisO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

lovely b&b, quite confortable and wiithin easy walking distance to the center and main attractions. kind and nice owners, nice breakfast, well decorated , warm, clean and really welcomed. withouh any doubt if we come back we will stay at adria house. thanks. Edinbough is a really nice and surprising city, with an exciting atmosphere.

Room Tip: there are two floors with stairs, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaisSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#23 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
725 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
856 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Address: 11-12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing