We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a hotel”
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #5 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2006

Lovely traditional hotel in good / peaceful location -15mins from Princess Street / 10mins from Holyrood Palace & Scottish Parliament Building / 5mins from Playhouse & The Omni ( a restaurant & cinema complex). Staff were attentive & amiable. Hotel was in good decorative order. Stayed 2 nights in the huge family room with my husband & 7 year old - a double bed, a single bed, a sofa & still plenty of room to move about. Bathroom was adequate but on the small side. Some toiletries would have been nice. Breakfast was fine with classic FM being played quietly in the background. Overall a gem of a hotel & good value for money. Would use this hotel again & would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Hotel was traditional & in good decorative order through out.
  • Disliked — Squeeky double bed hindered a good nights sleep - minor problem overall.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect free toiletries in the bathroom or fresh milk for tea/coffee.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    41
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
250
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Adria last week with our 15 year old daughter in a family room. The room was beautiful and extremely spacious with a double bed, a single bed and a sofa to relax on. The hotel lived up to all of the reviews we had read before choosing it. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. A most elegant and welcoming hotel !

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank carsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2006

Our party of three stayed at one of the Adria Hotel's family rooms during the International Festival (Aug. 26-28). Having booked at the last minute, we couldn't believe our luck. We would definitely recommend this lovely small family-run hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Location: "New Town" area; a 15-minute walk to the Royal Mile and a 5-minute stroll to the main theatre block (Playhouse Theatre). There is also a bus stop two blocks down the street. The neighborhood is quiet and gorgeous, flanked by Georgian houses, terraced gardens, and a huge park. After seeing most of the city, I'm convinced that this is the place to stay -- conveniently close to the action, but with the advantages of privacy and charm.

Facilities: The hotel is a converted Georgian house that has retained its original character and elegance. The rooms and public areas have high ceilings, antique furnishings, beautiful chandeliers and oodles of charm. Eating at the breakfast room makes you feel like you stepped back in time! Our room was large, with a decent sized bathroom, coffee/tea making facilities, heating, TV, and excellent water pressure. As another reviewer mentioned, make sure to bring shampoo, conditioner and soap, as they are not provided (although this seems like such a minor detail that it doesn't detract at all from the experience). Also, since smoking is banned in Edinburgh's public places, the hotel is no exception.

Staff: Edward and his sister, Maria, run the hotel. They couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. They provided us with maps, tips, and all kinds of magazines to help us plan our stay, and also took care of our luggage after we checked out. The breakfast staff is the friendliest I've ever encountered.

Value: Unbeatable. Despite our last-minute booking and the scarcity of available rooms due to the festival, the hotel was priced just like any other night of the season. Even better -- breakfast is included with the room rate (great selection of cereals, tea/coffee, toast, fruit juice, yogurt, fruit, full Scottish breakfast fare, etc.).

We had a wonderful time. Next time I visit Edinburgh, I won't need to research for hours to figure out where to go. I'm heading straight to the Adria.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, staff, value, location, charm
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask Edward about the lookout!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AtlBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this Hotel. Excellent all round. It is very difficult indeed to fault this Hotel in any way .The rooms, food, staff, general appearence and environment of the Hotel are all wonderful. It was a privilege to stay there.

Helpful?
3 Thank dwfouroaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2006

Edward greeted us when we first walked in the door and immediately made several phone calls for us to reserve tours. This was the first of many kind acts he and his sister, Maria, performed during our 4 day stay at the Adria.

Our spacious room was magnificent with a garden view, high celings and beautiful furnishings. If you think all European B&Bs are cramped rooms, the Adria will change that perception. The common areas reflect the elegant history of this home. The location is a bit of a walk from the Royal Mile, but certainly possible if one is fit.

Our ony complaint was minor, shampoo is not furnished which is a bit unusual in this day and age. Regardless, we would highly recommend this B&B to all, especially at the price.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbosche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2006

The owners, siblings Maria & Edward, runs the place with lots of pride & love. The rooms are immaculately cleaned & stylishly decorated, simple but classy. The breakfast & TV rooms are lovely, with Maria making sure the tables are perfectly laid for guests. Both siblings are very obliging in helping out with directions, going through the yellow pages looking things up for us, doing everything they could helping a Japanese guest with hotel bookings in London despite the language barrier. We had to leave early before the breakfast time, & they bothered to lay a table specially for us with juice, cereals, milk, fruits & yogurt to get us on our way.
We had a huge room on the highest floor, with a separate dressing room with skylight leading to the ensuite bathroom with a bathtub. The bed albeit a little small being Queen size, was comfortably firm & decked with layers of blankets. The room overlooks a nice line of trees along the cobbled road directly below, which can be somewhat noisy with vehicles running along at night, but we were not quite bothered being so tired walking all round Edinburgh. Double-glazed windows will probably cut the noise better, instead of the inner wooden windows they have.
The hotel is about a 15 minutes walk from Waverley Railway Station, perfectly walkable in good weather, but with luggages it is a bit more work up the short slope up from the main road. For those who do not wish to walk, it is very close to a bus-stop along the main road running parallel to the cobbled road, with many buses to the city centre barely 5 minutes away.
We look forward to coming back to the hotel each night, with the attentiveness & friendliness of either Maria or Edward, greeting us as we come through the main door. We feel good about staying at Adria Hotel as the owners are very professional & serious about their business of running the place well, & without having to do very much to please.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 June 2006

The Adria Hotel is a most wonderful find!

Not only did we find it to be brilliantly clean, beautifully decorated with period furniture and the most comfortable beds/rooms in Scotland, but the family that runs this lovely establishment are genuinely interested in your wellbeing and happiness.

You will feel that for the price of a lesser star hotel you have landed upon the gorgeous family home of a long lost rich relative!

Maria and her breakfast service are reason enough for the trip while Edward, with his wry humour, minds the desk and gives directions and suggestions for sightseeing.

We would return annually if we could to this centrally located for all walking tours gem of a hotel.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,729 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Property: Adria House
Address: 11-12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing