We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stay Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #5 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Stay Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2007

We just returned from a fantastic stay at Adria House - truly a gem! Maria & Edward are very welcoming and helpful hosts. They are attentive to their guests needs without being intrusive or overbearing. Great location, not far from Holyrood Palace, Carlton Hill, and Arthur's Seat. Close proximity to the city and within walking distance to several fine eateries and the playhouse, yet located on a quiet street where you can relax in the evenings. Adria House is a mix of old style elegance and modern comfort, and we would definitely stay here again! My 13 yr old niece was so impressed she made me promise we would come back one day to stay at Adria House.

Valerie

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeriedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    39
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
242
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2007

We stayed 3 nights at Adria House and would highly recommend it. It is located near Calton Hill on a quiet elegant street filled with Georgian townhouses. Our room for a family of 3 was spacious, the beds comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern. The shower water pressure worked very well. Breakfast in the morning consists of hot porridge/cold cereal, juice, coffee/tea, eggs, sausage, tomatoes, toast, fruit, yogurt. The owners are lovely friendly people who take time to answer your questions about what to see and do.

Be aware that the Tripadvisor map gives the wrong location for this B&B. It is not located north of Prince Street but close to Leith Walk and London Road, near Calton Hill and the monuments. The bus stop is a short walk away and buses can take you anywhere. If you walk from Waverly Bridge, it will be about 15-20 minutes. A taxicab from Waverly Bridge to the B&B will cost about 5 sterling pounds.

Overall a great place to stay and we would stay there again in Edinburgh.


  • Liked — Everything was good; no complaints
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2007

I stayed here for a weekend in March, and was very happy with my stay. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful, including giving me detailed directions on the best way to walk up Arthur's Seat (the extinct volcano overlooking the town). The room was comfortable, attractive (really high ceilings and huge sash windows overlooking the gardens to the back of the property) and quiet. The bed had lots of pillows and blankets/covers (which I think is much better than the one thick duvet some other hotels provide, where you can't adjust if you get too hot in the night). I shared a bathroom, but it was absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Canadian-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2006

Lovely traditional hotel in good / peaceful location -15mins from Princess Street / 10mins from Holyrood Palace & Scottish Parliament Building / 5mins from Playhouse & The Omni ( a restaurant & cinema complex). Staff were attentive & amiable. Hotel was in good decorative order. Stayed 2 nights in the huge family room with my husband & 7 year old - a double bed, a single bed, a sofa & still plenty of room to move about. Bathroom was adequate but on the small side. Some toiletries would have been nice. Breakfast was fine with classic FM being played quietly in the background. Overall a gem of a hotel & good value for money. Would use this hotel again & would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Hotel was traditional & in good decorative order through out.
  • Disliked — Squeeky double bed hindered a good nights sleep - minor problem overall.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect free toiletries in the bathroom or fresh milk for tea/coffee.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Adria last week with our 15 year old daughter in a family room. The room was beautiful and extremely spacious with a double bed, a single bed and a sofa to relax on. The hotel lived up to all of the reviews we had read before choosing it. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. A most elegant and welcoming hotel !

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank carsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

Our party of three stayed at one of the Adria Hotel's family rooms during the International Festival (Aug. 26-28). Having booked at the last minute, we couldn't believe our luck. We would definitely recommend this lovely small family-run hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Location: "New Town" area; a 15-minute walk to the Royal Mile and a 5-minute stroll to the main theatre block (Playhouse Theatre). There is also a bus stop two blocks down the street. The neighborhood is quiet and gorgeous, flanked by Georgian houses, terraced gardens, and a huge park. After seeing most of the city, I'm convinced that this is the place to stay -- conveniently close to the action, but with the advantages of privacy and charm.

Facilities: The hotel is a converted Georgian house that has retained its original character and elegance. The rooms and public areas have high ceilings, antique furnishings, beautiful chandeliers and oodles of charm. Eating at the breakfast room makes you feel like you stepped back in time! Our room was large, with a decent sized bathroom, coffee/tea making facilities, heating, TV, and excellent water pressure. As another reviewer mentioned, make sure to bring shampoo, conditioner and soap, as they are not provided (although this seems like such a minor detail that it doesn't detract at all from the experience). Also, since smoking is banned in Edinburgh's public places, the hotel is no exception.

Staff: Edward and his sister, Maria, run the hotel. They couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. They provided us with maps, tips, and all kinds of magazines to help us plan our stay, and also took care of our luggage after we checked out. The breakfast staff is the friendliest I've ever encountered.

Value: Unbeatable. Despite our last-minute booking and the scarcity of available rooms due to the festival, the hotel was priced just like any other night of the season. Even better -- breakfast is included with the room rate (great selection of cereals, tea/coffee, toast, fruit juice, yogurt, fruit, full Scottish breakfast fare, etc.).

We had a wonderful time. Next time I visit Edinburgh, I won't need to research for hours to figure out where to go. I'm heading straight to the Adria.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, staff, value, location, charm
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask Edward about the lookout!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AtlBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this Hotel. Excellent all round. It is very difficult indeed to fault this Hotel in any way .The rooms, food, staff, general appearence and environment of the Hotel are all wonderful. It was a privilege to stay there.

Helpful?
3 Thank dwfouroaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Property: Adria House
Address: 11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing