We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Kingsburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsburgh House
Ranked #167 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Carnoustie
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for one night to go to the rugby at Murrayfield. Excellent location and very friendly host who welcomed us a with a complimentary glass of wine. The room was lovely and clean with everything you could need for a pleasant night stay. The beds were comfy and breakfast was fine although a bit too much haggis for my liking. All in all a very nice guest house and good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    12
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
118
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My partner booked this trip as a surprised for an anniversary. It was nice and a lovely weekend but I think it was just too expensive for what you got. Edinburgh price are more than they should be. The room was clean and well decorated, but I found it quite dark and stuffy. The complimentary sherry was cheap and left a very bitter almond taste in my mouth after one sip. Breakfast was okay but I think I was expecting gold plated sausages.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristow, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I spent a long time looking on tripadvisor for a place for my husband and I to stay on our first trip to Scotland. I very much relied on the reviews of others. Wasn't sure whether to stay in a hotel or a B & B. We had never stayed in a B & B before. When I discovered the Kingsburgh House and read the wonderful reviews, I knew that was where we wanted to stay. We were not disappointed! It is simply a beautiful old home - wonderful architecture - hidden behind trees but right on the main street - and close to a bus stop and a short ride into downtown Edinburgh or the airport. Now for the Kingsburgh House itself... I can't remember the name of our room but it was at the top of the stairs on the left. The room was small but beautifully decorated...the bed extremely comfortable..the bath was small..but recently remodeled and very pretty...all the towels smelled so nice...and the shower stall was very interesting but fine once you figured out how to use it. In our room, we had a complimentary sherry decanter, chocolates and other goodies each day...along with a little tea pot and all the fixings for a nice cup of tea after touring the city all day! Each day we were asked what time we'd like to have breakfast the next morning. And - the breakfasts were scrumptious!! We had a choice...either a typical Scottish breakfast (which I highly recommend) or cereal, yogurt, fruit, breads, cheeses, etc. Or - a little of both! As our flight out of Scotland left early on our final morning and we wouldn't be there for breakfast, the hosts asked if we'd like to have something to take with us. Well - what waited outside of our door the next morning was an incredible packed breakfast bag filled with little sandwiches and all kinds of yummy things we could eat on the run. This place is a GEM!!! I would highly recommend the Kingsburgh House!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Found on the Internet based pretty much on its proximity to the conference centre I was speaking at the next day, I couldn't have been more delighted with what I'd found. Hidden behind trees and looking as though it wanted its secret maintained, the hotel generated the 'is this the right place?' thought in my mind as it looked far too good to be true, and then to be welcomed by name without me needing to introduce myself confirmed that I had got it very much right indeed.

The friendly welcome aside, the room we were taken to had a four poster bed, complementary sherry and was beautifully decorated (perhaps the order I have placed those factors says too much about me!). We were made to feel incredibly welcome, with breakfast served at exactly the time we had requested it, and the more mundane aspects such as checkout were personalised too. The abiding memory is that of going to stay with a very well-to-do member of the family in their sumptuous house, and that says much for the attention that we received on arrival - which was not intrusive but just exactly the right amount.

Perhaps I shouldn't write this, as I would quite like to keep the secret to myself...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The service here is excellent, friendly and helpful. Very highly recommended. We stayed here for 4 nights, I thought it was a bit expensive for the room we got, but I can understand why this place is so highly recommended: the service and the hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The welcome was very friendly. Our room looks very nice, the bed was wide and comfortable. The breakfast was so excellent, we can say it was the best in our scotland-journey. We could recommend this Hotel for 100%.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This B&B is very nice, but if you book the lowes room category, there is nothing too fancy about it. Rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good, with a lot of choice like fresh berries, etc.
Hosts were very helpful. We could check in quite early, as the room was already cleaned, which was comfortable for us.
Would probably go back there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are quite noisy apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#73 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,050 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,933 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Hotel
#126 of 392 in Edinburgh
101 reviews
Murrayfield
The Beverley
The Beverley
#64 of 392 in Edinburgh
257 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#130 of 392 in Edinburgh
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsburgh House

Property: Kingsburgh House
Address: 2 Corstorphine Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kingsburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsburgh House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsburgh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing