We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn down hostel”
Review of Ritz Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ritz Edinburgh
Ranked #143 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    114
    98
    52
    80
See reviews for
52
185
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Can't fault location, 2 minutes from Haymarket railway station and a 10-15 mins walk into the city centre. Check-in isn't until 4pm(a bit late by anyone's standards) but you can store your bags if you arrive earlier. Rooms are a bit tired and old fashioned looking, the net curtain in our room was very grey looking. The beds were very comfortable though and bedding fresh and clean. The room was supposed to have a fridge in it as I paid for a superior twin but as it was only for one night I didn't bother mentioning it. All in all a decent place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgweigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is in a good location about 10-15 minutes' walk from Princes Street, on the west side of the city centre. Keep in mind that at time of writing there was still work on the tram lines, which means that the buses can't get too close to the hotel, and you have to walk through/across the road works to get to the hotel. On the plus side, this means no noisy traffic on the main road (perpendicular to the road the hotel is on).
The hotel itself is a bit dated and reminds me more of a B&B than a hotel. There are about 20 rooms. The carpets on the stairs look a bit tired and the wallpaper looks like it is from the 1970s. However, the room we had was quite spacious and had three beds (I think they call this a 'suite'?). It had a flat-screen TV and coffee/tea-making facilities. The bathroom, though also in need of some updating (cracked lino on the floor), was a good size with a good, powerful and heat-adjustable shower over the bath. Just a shame the bath was a bit narrow and it could have done with a shower screen instead of a shower curtain.
Common areas: there was a bar opposite reception but we didn't use it, so can't comment on that.
Breakfast: The website I booked through had originally charged me extra for a cooked breakfast; then I saw that other websites offered the same rate with cooked breakfast included. I wrote to the hotel and the money I had paid up front was returned without problems. I was told by the reception staff by email that cooked breakfast was included in the price, but when we went down for breakfast the first morning it was continental breakfast only. Not a problem for us, but not what we had expected. The food on offer was: white or brown toast (which they will make fresh for you), jam and marmalade, butter, Nutella, slices of ham and cheese, apple or orange 'juice', and yogurts. There is a kettle with boiling water so you can make your own (instant) coffee and tea.
When I questioned the breakfast issue the next day, I was told they don't offer cooked breakfast anymore (and haven't done for some months) so I should not have been told that they would offer it included in the price. However, the alternative I was offered was to have a cooked breakfast at a nearby café at their expense. I thought that was a good solution (though we didn't use it).
All in all the hotel was fine for a few days and not a bad price for the location (we paid about 100GBP per person, at peak time of the Tattoo/Fringe Festival, having booked 8 months in advance), but if you're looking for business-chic, with sleek lines and tiled reception floors, then maybe this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nousj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Don't get misled by promotional pictures, this really isn't a hotel but guesthouse. Staff is helpful, rooms OK, location fine. Some places call for refurbishing, and some walling is not really tasteful if you consider the nice ceilings the place partly shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I don't want to repeat previous reviews but it needs updating. It is a little more then just tired. The rooms were clean but worn down carpets in the room had stains on them. The owners are very friendly but having a room on the top floor it was hard to get our suitcases up the steps. The location is perfect close to the Haymarket station and plenty of restaurants to choose from. The continental breakfast was ok except for the instant coffee. On request they did prepare a "proper" pot of coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms less then average but not poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer21848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

At first glance the hotel is ok, a bit dated and in need of a face lift but generally OK. I could understand the price of £125 per double room per night as it was during the festival but the room is at the very most worth £60 per night. The room itself was clean but the rest of the hotel was in need of a good cleaning.
The shower in the en suite either scalded you or froze you. After 10 minutes working with the shower I eventually got a safe temperature, the problem being that there was virtually no water pressure. I complained to the staff but they were unable to do anything due to it being a weekend, they resolved the matter by reducing the price by half which led me to believe they are used to complaints. After a long day in the City we returned to the hotel bar and ordered a Gin & Tonic only to be told there was none??? a very poorly stocked bar.

Very disappointed, won't return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I don't think even the owners would deny that this place is very tired. But it has a number of good points. The location is very close to Haymarket Station and a few minutes walk to the bottom of Princes Street (so good for during the Fringe - handy yet quiet). The bedroom and en suite bathroom were clean. The beds were comfortable and the pillows soft. Very good TV with good reception and tea/coffee in the room with chocolate marshmallows! The breakfast was poor to be fair - just continental - the waitress said they weren't serving hot breakfasts 'at the moment' - so whether this is temporary I don't know. The staff were lovely and very helpful and we were able to leave our bags both prior to check in and after check out. I would stay here again - for only £15 more than the student accommodation I usually use during the Fringe, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the water pressure was poor - may be better on the lower floors?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 149 in Edinburgh
649 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 149 in Edinburgh
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#127 of 149 in Edinburgh
72 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#136 of 149 in Edinburgh
97 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Edinburgh

Property: Ritz Edinburgh
Address: 14-16 Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh EH12 5EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town right in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel 50 years ago.Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ritz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Ritz Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ritz
Ritz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing