We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic room”
Review of Ritz Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ritz Edinburgh
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A little to dark, and the ventilation can by improved. but a nice classic style room. big stairs, nice old wood bed that sleeps well and a simple but good breakfast. walking out of the front door almost in the hart of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Antonius Herman... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having read some of the other reviews online I was a bit apprehensive about staying here, but at £40/night for a double four poster bedroom it seemed like it was worth a try! The location is very handy, just beside Haymarket Station and close to plenty of shops and restaurants - Princes Street and the castle are only a 10 minute walk away.

The room itself was very spacious - huge bathroom with shower and bath tub, a separate little room to store any luggage and plenty of furniture, flat screen TV. The decor is old-fashioned but that is in keeping with the very kitsch style of the hotel - the tartan staircase is quite a feature! The bed was very comfy, clean sheets and plenty of fresh towels. Toiletries were provided, along with tea and coffee making facilities.

Despite being so close to a main road, it was very quiet at night. As for no breakfast being included, there are plenty of coffee shops and cafes nearby so this wasn't a problem for us. As other reviewers have said it is more like a B&B than a hotel, owing to its rather eccentric Victorian layout. Definitely worth checking out if you're a fan of anything vintage! Overall great value for money - a spacious double room here with a four poster bed worked out cheaper than any other option, including the Easyhotel!

Room Tip: Book through a deal website for a much better price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I can handle a run down hotel as long as there is some warm water in the bathroom and clean sheets on the bed, and despite the fact that this place is a run down dump, there was. Its cheap. But being told that there is no hot food for breakfast - not even porridge - is totally unacceptable. For the love of scotland, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Cross the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmac808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Taken here for a surprise birthday trip by my partner on Open weekend hence the over pricing comment. £220 for a four poster room which was compact, no breakfast and no toiletries included. When I asked at reception if the soap dispenser could be filled up I was told that they no longer provided soap!! However, the staff at reception were very helpful and provided a screwdriver to assist in helping the window and sorted out taxis for us. The location is good, really like Haymarket as it's a nice quiet area and is lovely to walk through the city up to the main shopping area. The hotel itself has the feel of a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel, has mad tartan carpets and is a little tired but is a pleasant enough place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank MGal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Can't fault location, 2 minutes from Haymarket railway station and a 10-15 mins walk into the city centre. Check-in isn't until 4pm(a bit late by anyone's standards) but you can store your bags if you arrive earlier. Rooms are a bit tired and old fashioned looking, the net curtain in our room was very grey looking. The beds were very comfortable though and bedding fresh and clean. The room was supposed to have a fridge in it as I paid for a superior twin but as it was only for one night I didn't bother mentioning it. All in all a decent place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgweigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is in a good location about 10-15 minutes' walk from Princes Street, on the west side of the city centre. Keep in mind that at time of writing there was still work on the tram lines, which means that the buses can't get too close to the hotel, and you have to walk through/across the road works to get to the hotel. On the plus side, this means no noisy traffic on the main road (perpendicular to the road the hotel is on).
The hotel itself is a bit dated and reminds me more of a B&B than a hotel. There are about 20 rooms. The carpets on the stairs look a bit tired and the wallpaper looks like it is from the 1970s. However, the room we had was quite spacious and had three beds (I think they call this a 'suite'?). It had a flat-screen TV and coffee/tea-making facilities. The bathroom, though also in need of some updating (cracked lino on the floor), was a good size with a good, powerful and heat-adjustable shower over the bath. Just a shame the bath was a bit narrow and it could have done with a shower screen instead of a shower curtain.
Common areas: there was a bar opposite reception but we didn't use it, so can't comment on that.
Breakfast: The website I booked through had originally charged me extra for a cooked breakfast; then I saw that other websites offered the same rate with cooked breakfast included. I wrote to the hotel and the money I had paid up front was returned without problems. I was told by the reception staff by email that cooked breakfast was included in the price, but when we went down for breakfast the first morning it was continental breakfast only. Not a problem for us, but not what we had expected. The food on offer was: white or brown toast (which they will make fresh for you), jam and marmalade, butter, Nutella, slices of ham and cheese, apple or orange 'juice', and yogurts. There is a kettle with boiling water so you can make your own (instant) coffee and tea.
When I questioned the breakfast issue the next day, I was told they don't offer cooked breakfast anymore (and haven't done for some months) so I should not have been told that they would offer it included in the price. However, the alternative I was offered was to have a cooked breakfast at a nearby café at their expense. I thought that was a good solution (though we didn't use it).
All in all the hotel was fine for a few days and not a bad price for the location (we paid about 100GBP per person, at peak time of the Tattoo/Fringe Festival, having booked 8 months in advance), but if you're looking for business-chic, with sleek lines and tiled reception floors, then maybe this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nousj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
690 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#145 of 151 in Edinburgh
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
218 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 151 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#137 of 151 in Edinburgh
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Edinburgh

Address: 14-16 Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh EH12 5EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town right in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel 50 years ago.Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Ritz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Ritz Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ritz
Ritz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing