We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ritz Edinburgh
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel has recently been renovated and some rooms are still being worked on.

Great place overal the only things missing was the restaurant which I was told will soon reopen. There is no parking on site but there are plenty of parkings around the place and if you go there over the weekend you can get a weekend parking for a £5.

Staff was very friendly especially the barman/receptionist/pretty much everything (Findley).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svetivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is much beyond our expectation. Location is not in the center but not that far, just buy a one day bus ticket and all will be fine. And it's very near to Haymarket station as well, just a walking distance! The place is small but neat, cozy, and well decorated. The staffs are real friendly, he even brought up our luggage to our room w/out being asked and we can drop luggage safely before/after check in/out. The room is real nice with the wallpaper, high ceiling and the curtain. The bathroom is spacious clean and well facilitated. Of course, clean and neat for the overall. Order double bed but they join the single bed together so it's wide and even enough to share for 3 ppl. Nice wardrobe and decoration too, so classy for the overall. It doesn't have elevator but for a boutique hotel, this is more that worth it as with the price given. Will definitely be back when we make a visit to Edinburgh again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeslyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely break to Edinburgh.
BUT I will never ever, and I mean NEVER EVER, again forget to do proper research via Tripadvisor.

"Hotel Ritz"....should have been called "Hotel Blitz". It was tired beyond your imagination!!!

1. One day they didn't even 'freshen the room'...until we asked - got a BS response 'you didn't leave the sign on the door'...we hadn't the day before and the room was freshened then.
2. They left dirty cups! But did make the bed one day.
3. There was no 'sink' soap on arrival....so we bought our own...at least we knew where it came from.
4. Telly had a good picture .
5. They provided tea & coffee, but only plastic cups! When we asked about having some proper cups...the proprietors were surprised we weren't happy with plastic cups!

So, in a nutshell...it is horrible here. Do not go! The cheap cost IS a reflection of the standard....to be honest, buy a tent and camp on the grass in the middle edinburgh. Sometimes it is time to give up, and the proprietors should do that OR invest and make it special (there is potential for a great boutique hotel...but it certainly ain't that at the moment).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 01Clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Friend and I spent a few days in Edinburgh. Receptionist was extremely friendly and knowledgable. Hotel is dated but it's clean and bed was comfortable, room was cosy and plenty hot water for a shower.
Location is ideal, just across from hay market station. Will need a lot of money spent to revamp but for us it was cheap and cheerful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel was very nice with very friendly staff. The room was relatively clean (few grubby marks in the bath which we cleaned up, water stain on ceiling in bathroom). It was a bit chilly in the room but it did warm up quite fast once the heating was turned on. The bed was super comfy and I had 2 excellent nights sleep. The location is useful as well. Overall, the hotel is a bit dated but nice enough and I would stay again if I ever go to edinburgh again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel was truly the worst place I have ever stayed the night at. The room was filthy - curtains had holes in them and were grey with dirt. Bathroom door did not lock and when we complained it was fixed using a screw but still didn't lock. Room filthy, bathroom a disaster - shower hardly had any water coming out. This was fixed but the fix looked very temporary. Carpet should have been thrown out decades ago. No hot food available for breakfast but staff happy to suggest where to go for breakfast. The bed was horrid - 2 single mattresses pushed together. The shelf above the bed meant sitting up in bed was awkward. I just can't describe how bad this was and what a waste of money. Do yourself a favour and sleep on the street.

Room Tip: Choose a good room by sleeping in another hotel. Or on the street. Or in a cardboard box. Just do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwynneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

If you visit the hotel website it tells the story of the woman in the 1950s who made this into one of Edinburgh's most progressive hotels. Since then it has been stuck in something of a time warp until the present owners, her grandchildren, have started to try and turn it into something of a boutique hotel. Well they have a long way to go with that but full marks for trying.

After reading the reviews on here we went with some trepidation, but as it was only for one night, at very short notice, we were persuaded by a remarkable price. Our room was at the very top and others have commented on the absence of a lift, it was arduous to reach it. But it had been pleasantly redecorated with bold floral wallpaper and curtains. The bed as two singles bolted together but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The towels were very good quality and some reasonable toiletries also provided. Pity the refurb did not include a repaint of the 1950's utilitarian furniture, especially the 1950s wooden wardrobe that detracted from the other good work. Bathroom was old and worn but spotlessly clean.

There is no mention of breakfast or dinner on their website so I am bemused by reviews that mention the meals. Especially when none was offered when we booked in. As it happens we were meeting someone for breakfast so didn't need an in-house one, but it would be good to know if there is a facility.

The young people running it seemed friendly enough. We would use it again for the convenient location provided we got a room lower down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSue5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
690 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 151 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#137 of 151 in Edinburgh
679 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Edinburgh

Address: 14-16 Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh EH12 5EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town right in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel 50 years ago.Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ritz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Ritz Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ritz
Ritz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing