We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best smiling staff ever, Especially Carlos”
Review of Ritz Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ritz Edinburgh
Ranked #143 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best smiling staff ever, Especially Carlos”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to attend a wedding in Edinburgh and stayed at the Ritz, ok it wasn't as good as the name but we weren't expecting anything crazy but the service and staff is what makes this hotel a worth stay any 5 star hotels. Rooms depending on what you choose felt a bit small but have good cost beds , hot and fast showers with a nice views around. Price wise the Hotel wasn't very expensive and quite economical considering the peak season and it's location which is under 5mins by any car/taxi or bus to the city centre. On the top note, they have smiling staff members and want to thank one of the reception staff members; Carlos for his exceptional hard work towards helping us and going that extra mile. Would definitely visit again :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NipunMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    109
    94
    51
    75
See reviews for
50
178
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you are searching for a small, quaint, european hotel room then this might be for you. But the price makes you feel like you were completely ripped off. The Ritz is the Pitz! This definitely is not what Americans think of when they hear the Ritz. You check in at the bar...at all hours, there are no elevators and the stairways are very narrow. This of course makes taking luggage up the stairs so much fun. The shower was a trickle and the floors are tremendously noisy as you walk across from them. I'm not sure which war they salvaged the mattresses from...but they were horrid! The hotel doesn't even have a sign. Fortunately my wife saw the name scrolled in the hand rails leading from the street to the front door. This is an incredibly run down hotel that feels more like a youth hostel. AVOID this property unless you like slummy accommodations!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21. You have to sleep with the windows open to get any breeze in the room. This ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My partner and I spent 4 nights here in June. It is a quaint little place but may be in little need of TLC. In an ideal location (2 minute walk from Haymarket station) and great value for money. The room was average but clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were there to help 24/7 but weren't overly chatty. We stayed in the 4-poster room which was quirky, if a little small. Not sure it is somewhere we would go back, unless we were on a budget, but it was great for a short stay in the city!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff but probably the worst hotel I have stayed in. Had a superior twin room and hate to think what a standard room is like. Website is totally misleading. Stains on walls, carpets and chipped, dated revolting furniture. Avocado suite summed it up.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Went there with my wife for her 30th birthday. We stayed one night, and the rooms and en-suite were massive. Loads of storage for clothing and the such. Staff were helpful but we found them a bit distant. Would we stay again......don't know!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The walls were paper thin (to the point that we could here the neighbors splashing their bathwater) but at least the other guests weren't too rowdy and the street noise wasn't bad. Also, there were stains on the carpet, although the room was otherwise clean. Very poor water pressure in the shower, and hard to control the temperature. The location is pretty good, easy walk to the main sites. Free WiFi is a plus, and was reliable. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Cheap hotel close to Haymarket station. Just because it's cheap the staff make up to be 5 star standard
There is a cheap laundry 5 mins walk 9 pound per 5th load. Free WiFi . If I was to stay in Edinburgh again I would stay here

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank happybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 148 in Edinburgh
256 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
26 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 148 in Edinburgh
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 148 in Edinburgh
630 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 148 in Edinburgh
794 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#96 of 148 in Edinburgh
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Edinburgh

Property: Ritz Edinburgh
Address: 14-16 Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh EH12 5EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town right in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel 50 years ago.Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ritz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Ritz Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ritz
Ritz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing