We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaron Glen has completed my impression of the beauty of Scotland.”
Review of Aaron Glen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron Glen
Ranked #24 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Aaron Glen has completed my impression of the beauty of Scotland.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hospitality of Carolyn as a host was amazing since the first time my husband called her to book a room for both of us. We came from London and it's a very new trip for us to Scotland. Because of it, Carolyn would like to pick us up with her own car when we stopped wrongly in Loanhead bus shelter instead of Nivensknowe, we were just too soon to stop (fyi, from Edinburgh City Centre, you can choose bus 37 to Penicuik and stop exactly in front of Nissan-Alex F Noble & Son, Nivensknowe Road, Aaron Glen is just next to it). Far? Not really, only about 15 minutes in the bus, but you can enjoy many sights at the same time. And it's worth it once you arrived in front of Aaron Glen Guest House. It's so beautiful. It was definitely made with passion. B&B in the name, hotel in the facilities. For sure, i've missed Edinburgh because of it. The bedroom and bathroom are very elegant. Carolyn gave us bonus too to enjoy its modern living room, dining room and kitchen only for us during our 3 nights stay! She said it's because she liked us too since we came ha ha. She spent her time too to accompany us chit chat during our breakfast. Very humble person. The food is wonderfully served and cooked. The price very makes sense. Happy to recommend Aaron Glen here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YRaheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
118
12
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here whilst attending a wedding in the area. From the start Carolyn was the perfect host welcoming us into her lovely home. Rooms are lovely, spotless and very comfortable. Whilst we did not take advantage of the well stocked bar I think the idea of helping yourself then paying later is brilliant and quirky. Do not know where to start with the breakfast. Over the years I have stayed in many 5 Star Hotels but can honestly say Aaron Glen beats them all. Beautiful selection of fresh fru it followed by AMAZING scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. My husband was unable to finish his full Scottish which I think is a first. It is very rare these days to experience such high quality at reasonable prices without any compromise. Pity we were just staying one night but will be back. Sincere thanks to Les and Carolyn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, England
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were only able to stay one night with Les and Carolyn in their excellent B&B just off the A701 - convenient for both Edinburgh and to head southwards. The room was comfortable, modern, and with a luxurious mattress. Carolyn is an excellent host and Les prepares a wonderful breakfast. It has a bar and good off-road parking. All-in-all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Aaron Glen guesthouse is great. We stayed there on 17th April 2014. The parking is very handy and the grounds very neat & tidy. The family room was perfect with sufficient space for 2 adults and 2 children. We had a double bed and bunk beds for the kids. The accommodation was very comfortable. The lounge/bar area was lovely and the drinks very reasonably priced. The whole place is very nicely decorated and furnished. It feels very homely but also luxurious. The breakfast was amazing.....so much to choose from and so fresh! We will definitely stay again. Carolyn and Les made us very welcome and we enjoyed meeting their daughter. Our only regret was we couldn't stay for longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding that was close by. We could of not been happier. Carolyn was lovely and could of not been more helpful and friendly. Would love to come stay again. best b&b we have stayed in. Lyz & Dave

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyzzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend Aaron glen to friends/family, booked last minute and so glad we did, only stayed for one night but was well worth it. Was welcomed by Carolyn who made us feel at home, she is a very lovely lady, room was really nice and the guesthouse itself is lovely. Will definitely stay again, Denise & Philip x

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birsay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have stayed in many B&B's but this is top of the list. It is welcoming, clean, very comfortable rooms and the best breakfast I have ever had. Given the quality of the room and the amazing breakfast the rates are very reasonable. I do hope I am able to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
1.3 mi away
Chapel Cross Guest House
2.3 mi away
Mount Ceres Guest House
Mount Ceres Guest House
#4 of 5 in Lasswade
60 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Original Rosslyn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#2 of 5 in Dalkeith
113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#153 of 392 in Edinburgh
52 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 392 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Glen

Property: Aaron Glen
Address: 7 Nivensknowe Road | Loanhead, Edinburgh EH20 9AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly guest house serving beautiful Scottish breakfasts and providing incredibly comfortable beds. Great access for sightseeing and a large off road car park. Wifi access in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Aaron Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Glen Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing