We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to love the Dandy walpaper!”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I had never heard of this hotel before and was very pleasantly suprised! Great location and the rooms are very trendy. Would love to stay here during the Edinburgh Festival, its right in the thick of the action!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thanks for your amazing review,

Glad you loved the wallpaper;-)

Have to agree. This is the best hotel to stay during the festival. Right in the heart of the city, we are here to help you get the best experience from your visit. The team know all the best places to go and come back to our stylish rooms, stick your iPod into the dock, kick back and relax in the coolest hotel in Edinburgh.

See you soon,

Fraser and the Grassmarket team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,031 - 2,037 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Why have I not heard of this hotel before? Really cool place to stay and the décor is on the money. Would definitely recommend, great location too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thanks for your great review,

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Remember and tell all your friends this is the place to be!

looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Fraser and the Grassmarket team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived with high hopes as this hotel was in a spectacular location. The rooms also looked quite spectacular in the beginning. However this was soon destroyed by a series of events that turned our stay sour. The rooms were being renovated around us, and we were apparently in a room which had just been finished. The dust in our room supported this as it looked in part that a fairly average attempt had been made to clean it prior to our stay. In saying this was a brand new room, the toilet leaked, the shower leaked, the toilet roll holder would not stay up and toilet rolls fell to the floor soaking up the leakage from the toilet. One day we woke to no hot water, another night the air conditioning was fixed at 25 degrees all night and we were unable to open a window. After numerous complaints nothing was done to rectify this. Luckily we stayed over a long weekend, because workers began banging and crashing things around our room at 7am on our last morning. Our booking supposedly included breakfast which we were then charged for after we left. A highly disappointing stay from a hotel which looked so good on the surface.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been finished and is not within the current construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruby_Queen_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you for leaving us your feedback.

I am really sorry that things were not 100% for you during your stay. I was shocked to read your comments as you will see our recent feedback has been fantastic and our guests are really amazed by the hotel since it has been refurbished. Obviously you had to deal with teething issues with the room you were staying in and I will certainly investigate why these were not rectified during your stay. Guest satisfaction is paramount to us and I am really disappointed that we let you down on this occasion. This is most certainly not the normal standard that you will find at the Grassmarket and I will be contacting you directly to resolve this situation. I am really grateful to you for pointing these issues out to me as I have taken steps to ensure this won't happen again. I look forward to your next visit and you can experience the hotel as you should have had the opportunity to do on your first visit.

Best regards,

Fraser and the Grassmarket team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I loved this hotel!
The personal were GREAT! (Especially the American who really tried to help us when we, early in the morning came back to the hotel after been missing our flight home...)
The room were very fresh, and amazingly decorated and furnished! Our favourite part must be the Iphone-music system on the wall that made it possible to play music both in the bathroom and in our room.
The beds were awesome aswell! And the location couldnt be better!

I have only good things to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MustBeAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thanks for the amazing review,

Really glad you loved the hotel! So do we..

I have to agree with your comments about the room and I believe we have the comfiest beds in the city. The team are on hand 24 hours a day to help and I am pleased they looked after you well. The ipod docks are great and are perfectly designed for singing in the shower!

Really looking forward to your next visit.

Fraser and the Grassmarket team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is very well located in the Grassmarket area in Edinburgh. Very close to Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Mile, Princess Street and Waverly Station. My room was very nice and comfy. I was lucky to get a room on the fourth floor and was not disturbed by the noise coming from all the pubs and restaurants in the area. The hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth floor to avoid noise from restaurants and pubs in Grassmarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doffen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thanks for the fantastic review!

Our new hotel is getting some amazing feedback and if you want to kick back and relax or party the night away, then the Grassmarket hotel is definitely the place to be. When you check in we will get you a latte or a cappuccino to refresh you after your journey, then chill out in your cosy, comfy or comfy+ room.

Bet you can't wait to come back, and we will have the coffee ready for you;-)

Fraser and the Grassmarket team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very well located, right at the beginning of Grassmarket, very close to lots of restaurants. Rooms are fully refurbished and very comfy, staff is nice, but mind the noise. it is right on top of a pub full of karaoke lovers. until 2ish 3ish in the morning you wont fall asleep, no matter where you are in the hotel.

Room Tip: bring some earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thanks for your great review!

Glad to read that you found the rooms comfy and the team helpful. The City can be lively at night time and the Bar next door is open till 1am. We have soundproofing in the rooms to ensure that noise levels are kept to a minimum.If you are sensitive to the noise we will happily move you to a room higher up so you can have the best possible sleep if you fancy a quiet night in.

Hope you come back soon and let us look after you!

Fraser and the Grassmarket team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

stayed at this hotel on recommendation due to the great area it is in, fantastic rooms, staff were so helpful and enthusiastic, great location for Edinburgh sites and things to do, would highly recommend to try it out, a real gem

Room Tip: ask staff, they were so good am sure would give good advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thanks for leaving us a great review.

So pleased you had a great time and that the staff looked after you. We are in probably the best location in the city to get the most from Edinburgh. We know all the best places to go and will happily point you in the right direction.

I am pretty sure we have the comfiest beds too!!

See you soon.

Fraser and the Grassmarket team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel hasguestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing