We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile:)”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

What wonderfully friendly and helpful staff! The one and only downside to staying in this hotel is having to leave - oh and navigating the corridors to your room. A huge thank-you to everyone - genuinely missing you already!!! Rm 302

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimrod71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Nimrod,

Thanks for this amazing full mark review!

We’re very proud of The Grassmarket Hotel and I am so pleased that you had such a great time during your stay with us. I will make a point of passing your kind words along to the staff.
We hope to see you again soon :-)

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a central location for exploring the city. Rooms were well maintained and clean. Stayed on a saturday night and didn't have any problems with noise, but we were on the 5th floor so that may have helped.
I would recommend this place to friends and would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Drewhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Hi Drewhd,

It’s great to hear such fantastic feedback about our Hotel, and I am so pleased that you chose to write a review to share your experience with future guests!

I do hope you will come back and see us again soon; please contact us directly to ensure you receive the best returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Plus side: cheery, great neighborhood well connected to city sites, helpful staff, fun art direction of rooms and details.

Minus side: single rooms are view-less, soundproofing spotty. there are stairs on floors even after taking the elevator.

Room Tip: Be prepared for pub/street noise if your room faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curious1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hi Curious,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wee review about your recent stay with us :-)

It’s great to hear such positive feedback about your stay and it sounds like you had a fantastic visit to Edinburgh – I’m glad we played a part in it!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel Duff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed there for one night. On the pros I could refer to nice and modern design, big clean bathroom, nice central audio system with a dock station and a perfect location. On the cons the room was tiny (two persons can barely move in the room), the windows are very thin and you can hear everything from outside plus the fire doors inside the hotel make a lot of noice which you can hear all night long... Moreover, in order to get to our room on 2nd floor we had to get the elevator up one floor, walk, go up with stairs one floor (!) then walk again passing three fire doors in total... Good thing we did not have a heavy suitcase!

Room Tip: Ask for a big room and make sure your window is not opposite to the recycling garbage bit otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Efi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay, we appreciate all comments we receive from our guests.

I would like to apologise that the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay, and I hope this did not impact on your visit to Edinburgh.

We have taken on board all your comments as we are always striving to improve on all aspects of our business. We hope that if you return to Edinburgh you would find that the issues you have highlighted have been resolved.

Thanks,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at the Grassmarket Hotel on Friday 1st November for 2 nights, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The room although very cosy with the bed in a recess was very clean and functional I particulary liked the Gillian Kyle mugs with the Tunnock T Cakes inside them. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in so much so I didnt want to get out of it. There was a large flat screen TV at the bottom of the bed with Freeview channels. The shower room had complimentary shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and soap of excellent quality and a proffessional hairdryer can be found in the only drawer in the room. Our room was round the back of the hotel and was very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast is served in Buddy Mulligans next door which has a connecting door to reception. The hotel is very central for all the major attractions like Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. Their are plenty of excellent bars and restuarants in the Grassmarket and loads more within a 5 minute walk. The staff were all pleasant and very helpfull I would not hesitate to use this hotel on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Choose a room at back of hotel if you want a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillyputlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hi Lillyputlane!

I’m glad you were pleasantly surprised with your visit – we aim to please :-)

I’ll let you in on a little secret – we use the same mattresses as The Balmoral Hotel, so it is great to hear you found them so comfy!!

Please contact us directly if you are returning to Edinburgh and I will ensure you receive the best returner rate – hope to see you again soon.

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a great stay in this quirky hotel, had a good room with a lovely view of the Grassmarket. Excellent location for all the Edinburgh attractions and an excellent room with a lovely big bed, great shower and great free wi-fi and all the other facilities. Will definitely return if I am in Edinburgh again, both loved it!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Victoria621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hi Victoria,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review about your recent stay with us – we really appreciate it :-)

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh with us and it sounds like you made great use of our fantastic city centre location.

Don’t let it be a one night stand, come back and see us again!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

As stated in the title, this was my second stay at the Grassmarket Hotel.

Last time myself and my fiancee stayed we had virtually no complaints besides the room being a little on the small side, but on this visit the room we were given was a good bit bigger than the last. Once again, the room itself was perfect and had everything you would expect it to have.
I know a few people have complained about the size/layout of the bathroom, but ours was fine, we had a massive shower, massive sink and unlike some reviews, the toilet roll was not hidden but sitting at the side of the toilet as you would expect.

We were actually visiting this time as a small 2 night break after our recent engagement and have to say the little extras that the hotel gave us really put a smile on our faces. The staff here really can't do enough to help you.

I know some people have said the hotel is pricey, but when compared with other hotels in the area, there isn't much of a difference in it and i personally think that for the location/atmosphere and all the little comforts makes it worth paying that small bit extra.

We were in a front facing room this time, had a cracking view of the grass market! I do agree that there is a slight noise level from the street below, but its not much worse than anywhere else and it doesn't last all night. Yes you can also here the bins getting emptied in the morning but this also doesn't exactly last long. It certainly didn't bother us!

Theres not much else to really say. I highly rate this place for families and couples alike and think its such a lovely place to stay. Id also like to say, the bed is probably the most comfortable I have every slept in and outshines hotels that are a lot more expensive (the hilton and such)

I would like to make one recommendation though. With the built in sound system for your iPod/iphone and the new smaller dock connecters, it would be worth the hotel perhaps buying in a few adaptor cables so owners of the new apple tech can borrow one for their stay and still take advantage of the sound/charging.

We both look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: Families should pick a back room for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsharkey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi jsharkey4,

Thank you for the fanastic review - it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much that you returned to see us again :-)

Wishing you all the best with your engagement, and looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Rachel & The Grasmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,585 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,682 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel hasguestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing