We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Central, excellent trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Central, excellent trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights last weekend-fantastic hotel, staff were brilliant, I emailed the hotel before and they gave me great tips for restaurants. Its all the little touches that make this hotel stand out from the lighting to the tea cakes and teapot in your room. Will definitely stay when i return to this beautiful city. :) :)

Room Tip: My only tip is that this hotel is a little noisy - but its worth it for the central location and buz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel_cakes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hey Angel_Cakes,

Thanks for the great review - sounds like you had a fantastic time in Edinburgh!

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future :-)

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    687
    194
    83
    48
See reviews for
345
712
224
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for two nights earlier this week. Really warm welcome from the girls on reception, clean and quirky room with loads of attention to detail. Tunnocks teacakes and pots of tea! The room was quite small, but the thought into space saving ideas made it absolutely fine. Location is great, we always like to stay in the Grassmarket as its cobbled streets and range of independent shops are the best in Edinburgh. Really good value for money, would recommend highly!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fion2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
fion2412,

It’s great to hear such fantastic feedback about our brand new hotel product, and I am so pleased that you chose to write a review to share your experience with future guests!

I do hope you will come back and see us again soon; please contact us directly to ensure you receive the best returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I like the Dandy, and find Tunnock's Tea Cakes difficult to resist. If you know neither, then some of this hotel's charms will be lost on you.

Great location, as long as you're OK with the hill up to pretty much anywhere - Royal Mile ≤5 mins walk, plenty places to eat and drink.

Rooms small but clean and well-equipped for size - safe, iPod dock playing into bathroom as well as bedroom. Comfortable, but not sumptuous bed. Small bathroom, with good shower.

Breakfast in pub next door - irish themed, so potato farles not potato scones.

Warm, friendly staff - lots of good communication ahead of arrival.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nwfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Nwfs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us – we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests :-)

We hope to welcome you back again next time you are in Edinburgh! Get in touch and we will sort you out with a great returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a great hotel that is fun, informal and a wee bit different. They've put a huge amount of effort into each room and the bathrooms are always excellent - I've stayed in 4-5 rooms. The breakfast is good and the staff are very friendly. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Adam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us – we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests :-)

We hope to welcome you back again next time you are in Edinburgh!

Best Wishes, Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel. Lots of character and great service. Liked the touches in the room. ipod dock, magazines, mugs and chocolates...Would definitely stay there again if going to Edinburgh.

Front desk service very good from all members of the team.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank slatehaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Slatehaa,

Thanks for the great review of your recent stay with us – we really appreciate it :-)

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed all the individual touches that went into the design of the hotel, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks again!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

7th Dec 2013 Just returned from a 2 night stay in the Grassmarket Hotel, it's quirky on the outside and even more so once your inside.
Don't go expecting luxury because that's not what you will get but you will get a very clean bed in the most compact room you will prob ever come across but unbelievable everything you need is in it and god knows how!!!!
The staff in the smallest reception you have ever known are extremely friendly and helpful (we had a problem with our tv in our room and staff were so attentive and sorted it within minutes, nothing seems to be a problem for them).
Food at the hotel comes in the form of the Irish Pub joined onto the hotel, basic but nice and to be honest you are so close to everything your not going to go hungry or thirsty.
The hotel is situated in the area called Grass Market in Edinburgh which is a little walk to Princess Street but lots to see and do on the way, 100's of shops, cafés, restaurants & pubs.
The hotel is nice and warm, clean, friendly, a really weird shape, rooms seem pretty sound proof as other than hearing our neighbours closing their front door we heard no other noise, bed and pillows nice quality.
If your going to Edinburgh to spend a lot of time in your hotel then choose another one but if it's somewhere to put your head after playing out all day you can't go wrong.
Go on ppl give it a go, we did and enjoyed it!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyjmacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Rich & Ju,

Thanks for the review of your recent stay with us – we really appreciate it!

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed all the individual touches that went into the design of the hotel, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks again!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had a nice stay. Our first impression wasn´t good because the shower didn't work. They changed the room twice for 2 bigger ones. The Ipod dock never worked properly.
Anyway the decoration is fun and the bed very comfortable. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Makiako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi Makiako,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us – we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests :-)

I’m sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with your room initially, but I am pleased to hear that the staff managed to resolve them for you during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again next time you are in Edinburgh!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,162 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing